Editorial selection · not an official ranking
Best Online Engineering Schools
Universities whose own online engineering programs — not the institution's campus reputation — meet our published criteria. A school is selected when it offers at least two verified online engineering degrees and at least one of them is selected in our bachelor's, master's, PhD or major lists. Listed alphabetically; an editorial assessment, not an official ranking.
Methodology v1.0 · criteria and evidence rules · reviewed October 12, 2026 · 15 schools selected of 55 in the directory
About this selection
- Eligible degrees
- Schools with at least two verified online engineering degrees in this directory. Engineering Technology and hybrid programs do not count toward a school's inclusion.
- Programs considered
- All 55 schools in our directory, evaluated only on their verified online engineering programs. Institutional reputation and other departments are not considered.
- Selection criteria
- At least two verified online engineering programs, and at least one selected in our bachelor's, master's, PhD or major lists. The school analysis below summarizes the evidence across its programs.
- Order
- Alphabetical by school. Not numbered: we do not have comparable outcome data that would justify ordering.
- Sponsorship
- Paid placements never affect inclusion, order or assessment, and are never shown inside this list. Sponsorship disclosure
- Sources
- Official pages of each school, linked fact by fact on each program page; ABET accreditation from ABET's accredited-program database (shown, never scored); institutional accreditation from the U.S. Department of Education (DAPIP). Desk research only — we did not visit or interview programs.
- Evidence limitations
- Outcome figures (completion, licensure-exam pass rates, employment) are not used: programs report them for different periods, cohorts and examinations. Selection says nothing about licensure eligibility in your state.

Kansas State University
Manhattan, KS
Kansas State University: 5 verified online engineering programs across 1 degree level and 6 majors; 0 fully online (stated); 3 selected in our program lists.
Online engineering programs supporting this selection
- Chemical Engineering Master's Degree (Online) — Chemical Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- Civil Engineering Master's Degree (Online) — Civil Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- Electrical and Computer Engineering Master's Degree (Online) — Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- Industrial Engineering Master's Degree (Online) — Industrial Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (distance option) — Mechanical Engineering · online coursework
Strengths in the official information
- Thesis and non-thesis options are both published.
Tradeoffs to check
- Requires in-person attendance: campus visit — plan for travel.
- Tuition is published, but not on a basis that allows a total-cost estimate (fees excluded).
- The GRE is required.

Lamar University
Beaumont, TX
Lamar University: 3 verified online engineering programs across 1 degree level and 3 majors; 0 fully online (stated); 1 selected in our program lists.
Online engineering programs supporting this selection
- B.S. Computer Engineering (2+2 online path) — Computer Engineering · online coursework
- B.S. Electrical Engineering (2+2 online path) — Electrical Engineering · ABET EAC · online coursework
- B.S. Industrial Engineering (2+2 Online) — Industrial Engineering · ABET EAC · online coursework · selected in a program list
Strengths in the official information
- Estimated total tuition $83,186.29 (121 credits × $687.49 per credit; fees excluded).
Tradeoffs to check
- Whether any campus attendance is required is not stated on the pages we checked.
- Only upper-division courses are online; lower-division mathematics and science are completed elsewhere.
- No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.

Liberty University
Lynchburg, VA
Liberty University: 2 verified online engineering programs across 2 degree levels and 2 majors; 1 fully online (stated); 2 selected in our program lists.
Online engineering programs supporting this selection
- Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering (Online) — Civil Engineering · ABET EAC · online coursework · selected in a program list
- Master of Engineering (MEng) Online — General Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
Strengths in the official information
- Estimated total tuition $54,530 (133 credits × $410 per credit; fees excluded).
- Part-time study is offered.
- The school states the degree can be completed with no physical attendance.
- Estimated total tuition $18,000 (30 credits × $600 per credit; fees excluded).
Tradeoffs to check
- Requires in-person attendance: intensive, in-person laboratory — plan for travel.
- No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.

Michigan Technological University
Houghton, MI
Michigan Technological University: 7 verified online engineering programs across 2 degree levels and 6 majors; 1 fully online (stated); 3 selected in our program lists.
Online engineering programs supporting this selection
- Online Master of Engineering — General Engineering · online coursework
- Online Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering — Mechanical Engineering · online coursework
- Online MS in Civil Engineering — Civil Engineering · online coursework
- Online MS in Electrical and Computer Engineering — Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering · online coursework
- Online PhD in Civil Engineering — Civil Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- Online PhD in Electrical and Computer Engineering — Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- Online PhD in Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics — Mechanical Engineering · Engineering Science · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
Strengths in the official information
- Estimated total tuition $43,440 (30 credits × $1,448 per credit; fees excluded).
- The GRE is not required (stated).
- The school states the degree can be completed with no physical attendance.
Tradeoffs to check
- Whether any campus attendance is required is not stated on the pages we checked.
- Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
- No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
Missouri University of Science and Technology: 6 verified online engineering programs across 1 degree level and 6 majors; 3 fully online (stated); 2 selected in our program lists.
Online engineering programs supporting this selection
- Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering (Online) — Aerospace Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
- Master of Science in Civil Engineering (Online) — Civil Engineering · fully online (stated)
- Master of Science in Computer Engineering (Online) — Computer Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Science in Electrical Engineering (Online) — Electrical Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Science in Environmental Engineering (Online) — Environmental Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online) — Mechanical Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
Strengths in the official information
- The school states the degree can be completed with no physical attendance.
- Thesis and non-thesis options are both published.
- Estimated total tuition $28,500 (30 credits × $950 per credit; fees excluded).
- Part-time study is offered.
Tradeoffs to check
- The GRE is required.
- No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
- Whether any campus attendance is required is not stated on the pages we checked.

North Carolina State University
Raleigh, NC
North Carolina State University: 10 verified online engineering programs across 1 degree level and 11 majors; 0 fully online (stated); 4 selected in our program lists.
Online engineering programs supporting this selection
- Master of Biological and Agricultural Engineering (Online) — Agricultural Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Civil Engineering (Online) — Civil Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- Master of Engineering (Online) — General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Nuclear Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Environmental Engineering (Online, Distance Track) — Environmental Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- Master of Industrial Engineering (Online, Distance Track) — Industrial Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- Master of Materials Science and Engineering (Online) — Materials Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- Master of Nuclear Engineering (Online) — Nuclear Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering (Online) — Aerospace Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Science in Chemical Engineering (Online) — Chemical Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- Master of Science in Computer Engineering (Online) — Computer Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Science in Electrical Engineering (Online) — Electrical Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online) — Mechanical Engineering · online coursework
Strengths in the official information
- Estimated total tuition $54,123.30 (30 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded).
- The GRE is not required (stated).
- Estimated total tuition $55,927.41 (31 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded).
Tradeoffs to check
- Whether any campus attendance is required is not stated on the pages we checked.
- Tuition for this program is not published on the pages we checked.
- The GRE is required.

Penn State World Campus
University Park, PA
Penn State World Campus: 7 verified online engineering programs across 2 degree levels and 6 majors; 6 fully online (stated); 6 selected in our program lists.
Online engineering programs supporting this selection
- Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online) — Software Engineering · ABET EAC · fully online (stated)
- Master of Engineering in Civil Engineering (Online) — Civil Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
- Master of Engineering in Electrical Engineering (Online) — Electrical Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
- Master of Engineering in Industrial Engineering (Online) — Industrial Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
- Master of Engineering in Nuclear Engineering (Online) — Nuclear Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online) — Mechanical Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
- Master of Software Engineering (Online) — Software Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
Strengths in the official information
- The school states the degree can be completed with no physical attendance.
- Estimated total tuition $31,440 (30 credits × $1,048 per credit; fees excluded).
- The GRE is not required (stated).
- Part-time study is offered.
Tradeoffs to check
- Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
- No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
- Requires in-person attendance: on-campus lab session, in-person laboratory — plan for travel.

South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
Rapid City, SD
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology: 3 verified online engineering programs across 1 degree level and 3 majors; 1 fully online (stated); 1 selected in our program lists.
Online engineering programs supporting this selection
- Master of Science in Civil & Environmental Engineering — Sustainable Engineering Specialization (Online) — Civil Engineering · Environmental Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Science in Construction Engineering & Management (Online) — Civil Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
- Master of Science in Mining Engineering & Management (Online) — Mining Engineering · online coursework
Strengths in the official information
- The school states the degree can be completed with no physical attendance.
- Estimated total tuition $15,570 (30 credits × $519 per credit; fees excluded).
- The GRE is not required (stated).
Tradeoffs to check
- Whether any campus attendance is required is not stated on the pages we checked.
- No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
- Full-time / part-time options are not stated.

Texas A&M University
College Station, TX
Texas A&M University: 18 verified online engineering programs across 2 degree levels and 10 majors; 4 fully online (stated); 2 selected in our program lists.
Online engineering programs supporting this selection
- Doctor of Philosophy in Computer Engineering (Online) — Computer Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- Doctor of Philosophy in Electrical Engineering (Online) — Electrical Engineering · online coursework
- Doctor of Philosophy in Interdisciplinary Engineering (Online) — General Engineering · online coursework
- Doctor of Philosophy in Petroleum Engineering (Online) — Petroleum Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- Master of Engineering in Aerospace Engineering (Online) — Aerospace Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Engineering in Biological and Agricultural Engineering (Online, Food Engineering emphasis) — Agricultural Engineering · fully online (stated)
- Master of Engineering in Computer Engineering (Online) — Computer Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Engineering in Engineering (Online; Interdisciplinary or Subsea Engineering specialization) — General engineering · concentration: Interdisciplinary Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Engineering in Industrial Engineering (Online) — Industrial Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering (Online) — Mechanical Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Engineering in Nuclear Engineering (Online) — Nuclear Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Engineering in Ocean Engineering (Online) — Ocean Engineering · fully online (stated)
- Master of Engineering in Petroleum Engineering (Online) — Petroleum Engineering · fully online (stated)
- Master of Science in Computer Engineering (Online, Thesis and Non-Thesis) — Computer Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Science in Electrical Engineering (Online, Thesis and Non-Thesis) — Electrical Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Science in Nuclear Engineering (Online) — Nuclear Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Science in Ocean Engineering (Online) — Ocean Engineering · fully online (stated)
- Master of Science in Petroleum Engineering (Online) — Petroleum Engineering · online coursework
Strengths in the official information
Tradeoffs to check
- Requires in-person attendance: qualifying exam, dissertation defense — plan for travel.
- Tuition for this program is not published on the pages we checked.
- Funding for distance students is not stated.

University of Alabama
Tuscaloosa, AL
University of Alabama: 5 verified online engineering programs across 3 degree levels and 3 majors; 0 fully online (stated); 2 selected in our program lists.
Online engineering programs supporting this selection
- Bachelor of Science (BS) in Mechanical Engineering, Primarily Online — Mechanical Engineering · ABET EAC · online coursework
- Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, Primarily Online — Aerospace Engineering · Engineering Science · online coursework · selected in a program list
- Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Mechanical Engineering Online — Mechanical Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- Master of Science (MS) in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics Online — Aerospace Engineering · Engineering Science · online coursework
- Master of Science (MS) in Mechanical Engineering Online — Mechanical Engineering · online coursework
Strengths in the official information
- Estimated total tuition $28,800 (60 credits × $480 per credit; fees excluded).
- Part-time study is offered.
- The GRE is not required (stated).
Tradeoffs to check
- Requires in-person attendance: on-campus lab session, proctored exams, in-person laboratory — plan for travel.
- No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
- Full-time / part-time options are not stated.

University of Idaho
Moscow, ID
University of Idaho: 3 verified online engineering programs across 1 degree level and 3 majors; 0 fully online (stated); 3 selected in our program lists.
Online engineering programs supporting this selection
- Civil Engineering, M.Engr. (online through Engineering Outreach) — Civil Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- Computer Engineering, M.S. (online through Engineering Outreach) — Computer Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- Mechanical Engineering, M.Engr. (online through Engineering Outreach) — Mechanical Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
Strengths in the official information
- Estimated total tuition $19,650 (30 credits × $655 per credit; fees excluded).
- The GRE is not required (stated).
- Part-time study is offered.
Tradeoffs to check
- Requires in-person attendance: proctored exams — plan for travel.
- No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
- Full-time / part-time options are not stated.

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Champaign, IL
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign: 8 verified online engineering programs across 1 degree level and 10 majors; 4 fully online (stated); 4 selected in our program lists.
Online engineering programs supporting this selection
- Master of Engineering in Bioengineering (Online) — Biomedical Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Engineering in Electrical & Computer Engineering (Online) — Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
- Master of Engineering in Engineering (online concentrations) — General engineering · concentrations: Chemical Engineering Leadership, Aerospace Systems Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering (Online) — Mechanical Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering (Online, non-thesis) — Aerospace Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
- Master of Science in Civil Engineering (Online, non-thesis) — Civil Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
- Master of Science in Environmental Engineering in Civil Engineering (Online, non-thesis) — Environmental Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
- Master of Science in Industrial Engineering (Online, non-thesis) — Industrial Engineering · online coursework
Strengths in the official information
- The school states the degree can be completed with no physical attendance.
- Estimated total tuition $38,240 (32 credits × $1,195 per credit; fees excluded).
- Part-time study is offered.
- Estimated total tuition $43,020 (36 credits × $1,195 per credit; fees excluded).
Tradeoffs to check
- Whether any campus attendance is required is not stated on the pages we checked.
- Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
- No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
University of North Dakota
Grand Forks, ND
University of North Dakota: 24 verified online engineering programs across 3 degree levels and 8 majors; 7 fully online (stated); 5 selected in our program lists.
Online engineering programs supporting this selection
- Bachelor of Science in Aerospace Engineering (Online) — Aerospace Engineering · online coursework
- Bachelor of Science in Biomedical Engineering (Online) — Biomedical Engineering · ABET EAC · online coursework
- Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering (Online) — Chemical Engineering · ABET EAC · online coursework
- Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering (Online) — Civil Engineering · ABET EAC · online coursework
- Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering (Online) — Electrical Engineering · ABET EAC · fully online (stated)
- Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online) — Mechanical Engineering · ABET EAC · online coursework
- Bachelor of Science in Petroleum Engineering (Online) — Petroleum Engineering · ABET EAC · online coursework
- Master of Engineering in Civil Engineering (Online) — Civil Engineering · fully online (stated)
- Master of Engineering in Electrical Engineering (Online) — Electrical Engineering · fully online (stated)
- Master of Engineering in Environmental Engineering (Online) — Environmental Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering (Online) — Mechanical Engineering · fully online (stated)
- Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering (Online) — Biomedical Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Science in Civil Engineering (Online) — Civil Engineering · fully online (stated)
- Master of Science in Electrical Engineering (Online) — Electrical Engineering · fully online (stated)
- Master of Science in Environmental Engineering (Online) — Environmental Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online) — Mechanical Engineering · fully online (stated)
- Master of Science or Master of Engineering in Chemical Engineering (Online) — Chemical Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Science or Master of Engineering in Petroleum Engineering (Online) — Petroleum Engineering · online coursework
- PhD in Biomedical Engineering (Online) — Biomedical Engineering · online coursework
- PhD in Chemical Engineering (Online) — Chemical Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- PhD in Civil Engineering (Online) — Civil Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- PhD in Electrical Engineering (Online) — Electrical Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- PhD in Environmental Engineering (Online) — Environmental Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- PhD in Petroleum Engineering (Online) — Petroleum Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
Strengths in the official information
Tradeoffs to check
- Requires in-person attendance: summer lab session — plan for travel.
- Tuition for this program is not published on the pages we checked.
- No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.

University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA
University of Southern California: 11 verified online engineering programs across 1 degree level and 9 majors; 11 fully online (stated); 10 selected in our program lists.
Online engineering programs supporting this selection
- Master of Science in Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering (Dynamics and Control) (DEN@Viterbi online) — Aerospace Engineering · Mechanical Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
- Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering (DEN@Viterbi online) — Aerospace Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
- Master of Science in Astronautical Engineering (DEN@Viterbi online) — Aerospace Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
- Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering (DEN@Viterbi online) — Biomedical Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
- Master of Science in Chemical Engineering (DEN@Viterbi online) — Chemical Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
- Master of Science in Civil Engineering (Structural Engineering) (DEN@Viterbi online) — Civil Engineering · fully online (stated)
- Master of Science in Computer Engineering (DEN@Viterbi online) — Computer Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
- Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering (DEN@Viterbi online) — Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
- Master of Science in Industrial and Systems Engineering (DEN@Viterbi online) — Industrial Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
- Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering (DEN@Viterbi online) — Materials Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
- Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (DEN@Viterbi online) — Mechanical Engineering · fully online (stated) · selected in a program list
Strengths in the official information
- The school states the degree can be completed with no physical attendance.
- Thesis and non-thesis options are both published.
- Estimated total tuition $74,034 (27 credits × $2,742 per credit; fees excluded).
- The GRE is not required (stated).
Tradeoffs to check
- No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
- Tuition is published, but not on a basis that allows a total-cost estimate (fees excluded).

Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, VA
Virginia Tech: 6 verified online engineering programs across 1 degree level and 4 majors; 0 fully online (stated); 4 selected in our program lists.
Online engineering programs supporting this selection
- Master of Engineering in Aerospace Engineering (Online) — Aerospace Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering (Online) — Mechanical Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- Master of Engineering in Nuclear Engineering (Online) — Nuclear Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering (Online) — Aerospace Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
- Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering, non-thesis (Online) — Mechanical Engineering · online coursework
- Master of Science in Ocean Engineering (Online) — Ocean Engineering · online coursework · selected in a program list
Strengths in the official information
- Estimated total tuition $59,902.50 (30 credits × $1,996.75 per credit; fees excluded).
- Part-time study is offered.
- Thesis and non-thesis options are both published.
- The GRE is not required (stated).
Tradeoffs to check
- Requires in-person attendance: other in-person requirement — plan for travel.
- No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
- Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
Schools can send official sources through the correction form. Evidence is re-checked; inclusion cannot be bought.