Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net

Online Software Engineering Degrees and Programs

Software engineering applies engineering methods to the specification, design, construction, testing and maintenance of software systems. Only degrees officially titled software engineering are listed — not general computer science degrees.

Rule: Included when the program's official title names software engineering, or when a broad engineering degree has a formally named software engineering concentration (labelled as a concentration). Online coursework is required; Engineering Technology degrees are listed separately. This page updates from the directory's verified facts.

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking. What we list

19

verified online programs

6

fully online (stated)

0

are concentrations of a broad degree

5

matched to a current ABET accreditation

Arizona State University logo

Arizona State University

Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EACFirst-year entryTransfer entry
Location: Scottsdale, AZSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: $580 per credit · Online students — ASU Online undergraduate rate for most programs, plus program fees · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $69,600 (120 credits × $580 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Arizona State University logo

Arizona State University

Master of Science in Engineering in Engineering Science (Software Engineering) (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Engineering in Engineering Science (Software Engineering)

Engineering Science · Software Engineering

Master'sMSE
Location: Scottsdale, AZSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $605 per credit · Online students — ASU Online graduate rate for most programs, plus program fees · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $18,150 (30 credits × $605 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Worldwide logo

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Worldwide

Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Worldwide & Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC · online not listed Fully online
Location: Daytona Beach, FLSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 20 terms, or approximately four years (full-time enrollment and continuous progress) · 121 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Kennesaw State University

Master of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Master'sMSSWE
Location: Kennesaw, GASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: 1-2 Years · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Dakota State University logo

North Dakota State University

Software Engineering Major (B.S.), online option

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBSABET: not matched
Location: Fargo, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Dakota State University logo

North Dakota State University

Master of Software Engineering (M.S.E.), online option

Awarded degree: Master of Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Master'sMSE
Location: Fargo, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Penn State World Campus logo

Penn State World Campus

Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC · online not listed Fully onlineFirst-year entryTransfer entry
Location: University Park, PASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 126 credits
Tuition: $644 per credit · All students — 2026-27, 11 or fewer credits per semester, 59 or fewer total credits · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $81,144 (126 credits × $644 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: June 30, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
Penn State World Campus logo

Penn State World Campus

Master of Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Master'sMSE Fully online
Location: University Park, PASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: two years (cohort schedule with courses in fall, spring and summer) · 36 credits
Tuition: $1,048 per credit · All students — 2026-27, 11 or fewer credits per semester · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $37,728 (36 credits × $1,048 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: July 20, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
Purdue University logo

Purdue University

Master of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Master'sMSSWE Fully online
Location: West Lafayette, INSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $950 per credit · Online students — Online students · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,500 (30 credits × $950 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
St. Cloud State University logo

St. Cloud State University

Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBSE ABET EAC Fully onlineFirst-year entryTransfer entryDegree completion
Location: Saint Cloud, MNSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 122 credits
Tuition: $385.67 per credit · Online students — B.S. Software Engineering online, current estimated rate · year not statedEst. total tuition $47,051.74 (122 credits × $385.67 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 28, 2026 · Spring A 2027
View Program
St. Cloud State University logo

St. Cloud State University

Professional Science Master's in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Professional Science Master's in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Master'sPSM
Location: Saint Cloud, MNSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 33 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Stevens Institute of Technology logo

Stevens Institute of Technology

Master of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Hoboken, NJSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $2,152 per credit · All students — Graduate part-time (less than 9 credits), Fall 2026 & Spring 2027 · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $64,560 (30 credits × $2,152 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Arizona Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC
Location: Tucson, AZSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: $525 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $63,000 (120 credits × $525 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Master of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Tucson, AZSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,000 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $30,000 (30 credits × $1,000 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Doctor of Philosophy in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Tucson, AZSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 63 credits
Tuition: $1,000 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $63,000 (63 credits × $1,000 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Maryland logo

University of Maryland

Master of Engineering in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: College Park, MDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,567 per credit · Online students — MAGE online courses, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027 · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $47,010 (30 credits × $1,567 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 15, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Michigan–Dearborn logo

University of Michigan–Dearborn

Master of Science in Software Engineering (Online option)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Dearborn, MISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: all work expected within five years of first enrollment (time limit) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Western Governors University logo

Western Governors University

Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBSABET: not matchedFirst-year entryTransfer entry
Location: Salt Lake City, UTSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: As quickly as you can master the material, typically less than 3 years (competency-based pace) · 120 credits
Tuition: $4,125 per term · All students — Tuition per six-month term · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Western Governors University logo

Western Governors University

Master of Science in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science, Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Salt Lake City, UTSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: As quickly as you can master the material, can finish programs in under 2 years (competency-based pace) · 30 credits
Tuition: $4,385 per term · All students — Tuition per six-month term · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Attendance and labs

Software engineering is well suited to online delivery; team projects and capstones are usually completed online.

Accreditation and licensure

Every school listed holds institutional accreditation from a recognized agency. ABET accredits programs, mostly bachelor's degrees; graduate programs are rarely ABET-accredited and that is not a mark against them. Professional Engineer licensure is decided by each state board. Licensure and online degrees

Admissions: what these programs publish

  • Prior degree requirements — usually a bachelor's in engineering or a closely related field for graduate programs.
  • Minimum GPA, as published on the program or graduate school page.
  • Mathematics and science prerequisites (calculus, differential equations, physics).
  • Bridge or leveling courses for applicants without the expected background.
  • GRE policy, references, statement and English-language requirements are shown per program; unpublished items stay “not verified”.

Related