Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net

Online Environmental Engineering Degrees and Programs

Environmental engineering protects public health and the environment through water and wastewater treatment, air quality, hazardous waste, remediation and sustainability engineering.

Rule: Included when the program's official title names environmental engineering, or when a broad engineering degree has a formally named environmental engineering concentration (labelled as a concentration). Online coursework is required; Engineering Technology degrees are listed separately. This page updates from the directory's verified facts.

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking. What we list

17

verified online programs

5

fully online (stated)

1

are concentrations of a broad degree

0

matched to a current ABET accreditation

Columbia University logo

Columbia University

MS in Earth and Environmental Engineering (Online, CVN)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Earth and Environmental Engineering

Environmental Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: New York, NYSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: anywhere from one-and-a-half years to five years, depending on how many courses you take each semester (depends on course load) · 30 credits
Tuition: $2,822 per credit · All students — CVN Credit Tuition · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Johns Hopkins University logo

Johns Hopkins University

Master of Environmental Engineering (Online, Part-Time)

Awarded degree: Master of Environmental Engineering

Environmental Engineering

Master'sMaster's
Location: Baltimore, MDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: within five years (maximum time to complete the ten courses)
Tuition: $5,620 per course · All students — Engineering for Professionals graduate (600-level and higher) course, after Dean's support · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Johns Hopkins University logo

Johns Hopkins University

Master of Science in Environmental Engineering and Science (Online, Part-Time)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Environmental Engineering and Science

Environmental Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Baltimore, MDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: within five years (maximum time to complete the ten courses)
Tuition: $5,620 per course · All students — Engineering for Professionals graduate (600-level and higher) course, after Dean's support · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Missouri University of Science and Technology logo

Missouri University of Science and Technology

Master of Science in Environmental Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Environmental Engineering

Environmental Engineering

Master'sMSEnvE
Location: Rolla, MOSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: $1,200 per credit · All students — Graduate Online Programs (unless otherwise noted) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

Master of Environmental Engineering (Online, Distance Track)

Awarded degree: Master of Environmental Engineering

Environmental Engineering

Master'sMENE
Location: Raleigh, NCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: proctored exams
Duration: within six years (maximum time limit) · 30 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate - Engineering Online, Engineering Education, Residents of North Carolina, 1 credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $54,123.30 (30 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Science in Engineering (Online) - Aerospace, Electrical and Computer, or Environmental Engineering concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Environmental Engineering

Master'sMSConcentration
Location: Norfolk, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $672 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia residents (rates effective Fall 2026) · year not statedEst. total tuition $19,860 (30 credits × $662 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
South Dakota School of Mines and Technology logo

South Dakota School of Mines and Technology

Master of Science in Civil & Environmental Engineering — Sustainable Engineering Specialization (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Civil & Environmental Engineering

Civil Engineering · Environmental Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Rapid City, SDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $519 per credit · Nonresident (out-of-state) — Distance courses (SD nonresident), tuition per credit · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $15,570 (30 credits × $519 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of Central Florida

Master of Science in Environmental Engineering, MSEnvE (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Environmental Engineering

Environmental Engineering

Master'sMSEnvE Fully online
Location: Orlando, FLSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $327.32 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In State Tuition (UCF Online program page) · year not statedEst. total tuition $37,024.50 (30 credits × $1,234.15 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of Central Florida

Master of Science, Environmental Engineering MS (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Environmental Engineering (MS)

Environmental Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Orlando, FLSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $327.32 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In State Tuition (UCF Online program page) · year not statedEst. total tuition $37,024.50 (30 credits × $1,234.15 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Florida logo

University of Florida

Master of Science / Master of Engineering in Environmental Engineering Sciences (Online, UF EDGE)

Awarded degree: Master of Science or Master of Engineering in Environmental Engineering Sciences

Environmental Engineering

Master'sMS/ME
Location: Gainesville, FLSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: as little as 24 months (UF EDGE master's degrees generally) · 30 credits
Tuition: $448.73 per credit · Resident (in-state) — EDGE-Florida Residents, tuition per credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $20,700 (30 credits × $690 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Science in Environmental Engineering in Civil Engineering (Online, non-thesis)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Environmental Engineering in Civil Engineering

Environmental Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Champaign, ILSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: one to five years · 36 credits
Tuition: $1,195 per credit · All students — Online students, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027 · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $43,020 (36 credits × $1,195 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of North Dakota

Master of Engineering in Environmental Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Environmental Engineering

Environmental Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Partly on campus · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: campus visit
Duration: 18 months · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of North Dakota

Master of Science in Environmental Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Environmental Engineering

Environmental Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Partly on campus · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: campus visit
Duration: 18 months · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of North Dakota

PhD in Environmental Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Environmental Engineering

Environmental Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Partly on campus · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: campus visit, dissertation defense
Duration: Up to 7 years · 90 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Tennessee, Knoxville logo

University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Online Master of Science in Environmental Engineering

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Environmental Engineering

Environmental Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Knoxville, TNSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Est. 24 months (depends on academic history and transfer credits) · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,071 per credit · Nonresident (out-of-state) · year not statedEst. total tuition $32,130 (30 credits × $1,071 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Wisconsin–Madison logo

University of Wisconsin–Madison

Master of Engineering in Civil and Environmental Engineering: Environmental Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Civil & Environmental Engineering

Environmental Engineering · Civil Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online
Location: Madison, WISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 2–3 years · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,100 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $33,000 (30 credits × $1,100 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 15, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Worcester Polytechnic Institute logo

Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Master of Science in Environmental Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Environmental Engineering

Environmental Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Worcester, MASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 33 credits
Tuition: $1,775 per credit · All students — Graduate Tuition and Fees: Per Credit Tuition (2026-2027, general graduate rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $58,575 (33 credits × $1,775 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program

Attendance and labs

Graduate programs are frequently offered online as coursework; undergraduate programs include water-quality and environmental laboratories.

Accreditation and licensure

Every school listed holds institutional accreditation from a recognized agency. ABET accredits programs, mostly bachelor's degrees; graduate programs are rarely ABET-accredited and that is not a mark against them. Professional Engineer licensure is decided by each state board. Licensure and online degrees

Admissions: what these programs publish

  • Prior degree requirements — usually a bachelor's in engineering or a closely related field for graduate programs.
  • Minimum GPA, as published on the program or graduate school page.
  • Mathematics and science prerequisites (calculus, differential equations, physics).
  • Bridge or leveling courses for applicants without the expected background.
  • GRE policy, references, statement and English-language requirements are shown per program; unpublished items stay “not verified”.

Related