Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net

Online General Engineering Degrees and Programs

General engineering degrees (BS in Engineering, MS in Engineering, Master of Engineering without a named discipline) span several disciplines. Where a broad degree has a formally named concentration, the listing labels it as a concentration of the broad award.

Rule: Included when the program's official title names general engineering, or when a broad engineering degree has a formally named general engineering concentration (labelled as a concentration). Online coursework is required; Engineering Technology degrees are listed separately. This page updates from the directory's verified facts.

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking. What we list

18

verified online programs

4

fully online (stated)

11

are concentrations of a broad degree

1

matched to a current ABET accreditation

Also: 1 online Engineering Technology program in a related discipline, listed separately — Engineering Technology (related). They are not counted as general engineering degrees.

Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Engineering (Interdisciplinary) (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online
Location: Auburn, ALSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: as little as two years or as long as six years (depending on the course load taken) · 30 credits
Tuition: $949 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,470 (30 credits × $949 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Colorado State University logo

Colorado State University

Master of Engineering, Plan C (Online specializations)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Biomedical Engineering, Aerospace Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Computer Engineering

Master'sMEConcentration
Location: Fort Collins, COSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: can be completed in 2 years · 30 credits
Tuition: $747 per credit · Online students — Electrical and Computer Engineering specializations · year not statedEst. total tuition $29,760 (30 credits × $992 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Worldwide logo

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Worldwide

Bachelor of Science in Engineering (Worldwide & Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Engineering

General Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC
Location: Daytona Beach, FLSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: 20 terms, or approximately four years (full-time enrollment and continuous progress) · 123 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Liberty University logo

Liberty University

Master of Engineering (MEng) Online

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering (MEng)

General Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online
Location: Lynchburg, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $600 per credit · All students — Graduate Full Time · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $18,000 (30 credits × $600 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Michigan Technological University logo

Michigan Technological University

Online Master of Engineering

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: Houghton, MISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,448 per credit · All students — 2026–27 Estimated Graduate Expenses, graduate tuition · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $43,440 (30 credits × $1,448 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Mississippi State University logo

Mississippi State University

Master of Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentration: General Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration
Location: Mississippi State, MSSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $602.50 per credit · All students — Online tuition per credit hour (in-state rate for all online students) · year not statedEst. total tuition $18,075 (30 credits × $602.50 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Mississippi State University logo

Mississippi State University

Master of Science in Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Engineering

General engineering · concentration: Engineering

Master'sMSConcentration
Location: Mississippi State, MSSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: orientation
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $602.50 per credit · All students — Online tuition per credit hour (in-state rate for all online students) · year not statedEst. total tuition $18,075 (30 credits × $602.50 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

Master of Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Nuclear Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration
Location: Raleigh, NCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: must be completed within six years (maximum time limit) · 30 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate - Engineering Online, Engineering Education, Residents of North Carolina, 1 credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $54,123.30 (30 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Engineering (Online) - Aerospace or Mechanical Engineering concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMEConcentration
Location: Norfolk, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $672 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia residents (rates effective Fall 2026) · year not statedEst. total tuition $19,860 (30 credits × $662 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Science in Engineering (Online) - Aerospace, Electrical and Computer, or Environmental Engineering concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Environmental Engineering

Master'sMSConcentration
Location: Norfolk, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $672 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia residents (rates effective Fall 2026) · year not statedEst. total tuition $19,860 (30 credits × $662 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Purdue University logo

Purdue University

Master of Science / Master of Science in Engineering in Interdisciplinary Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (MS) or Master of Science in Engineering (MSE), major Interdisciplinary Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aeronautics and Astronautics, Biomedical Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Materials Engineering, Nuclear Engineering

Master'sMS/MSEConcentration
Location: West Lafayette, INSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,139 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident of Indiana · year not statedEst. total tuition $43,770 (30 credits × $1,459 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University

Master of Engineering in Engineering (Online; Interdisciplinary or Subsea Engineering specialization)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Engineering

General engineering · concentration: Interdisciplinary Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration
Location: College Station, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University

Doctor of Philosophy in Interdisciplinary Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Interdisciplinary Engineering

General Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: College Station, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: campus visit
Duration: Length not published · 64 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas Tech University logo

Texas Tech University

Online Master of Engineering

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: Lubbock, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: some students finish in four terms taking two or three courses each semester, including summer (two or three courses per semester including summer) · 30 credits
Tuition: $2,500 per course · All students — Estimate per three-credit online graduate engineering course · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Engineering in Engineering (online concentrations)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Chemical Engineering Leadership, Aerospace Systems Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration
Location: Champaign, ILSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: $1,195 per credit · All students — Online students, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027 · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Wisconsin–Madison logo

University of Wisconsin–Madison

Master of Engineering in Engineering (Online; named options incl. Polymer Engineering)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Engineering

General engineering · concentration: Polymer Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration Fully online
Location: Madison, WISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 2-4 years · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,100 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $33,000 (30 credits × $1,100 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Wisconsin–Platteville logo

University of Wisconsin–Platteville

Master of Science in Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Engineering

General engineering (broad degree)

Master'sMSENGRConcentration Fully online
Location: Platteville, WISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: as little as 18 months · 31 credits
Tuition: $804.06 per credit · Online students — Online delivery, Master of Science in Engineering · year not statedEst. total tuition $24,925.86 (31 credits × $804.06 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

West Texas A&M University

Master of Science in Engineering (online non-thesis option)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Engineering

General Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Canyon, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Attendance and labs

Lab and design requirements depend on the concentration; read each listing.

Accreditation and licensure

Every school listed holds institutional accreditation from a recognized agency. ABET accredits programs, mostly bachelor's degrees; graduate programs are rarely ABET-accredited and that is not a mark against them. Professional Engineer licensure is decided by each state board. Licensure and online degrees

Admissions: what these programs publish

  • Prior degree requirements — usually a bachelor's in engineering or a closely related field for graduate programs.
  • Minimum GPA, as published on the program or graduate school page.
  • Mathematics and science prerequisites (calculus, differential equations, physics).
  • Bridge or leveling courses for applicants without the expected background.
  • GRE policy, references, statement and English-language requirements are shown per program; unpublished items stay “not verified”.

Related