Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Mississippi State University logo

Mississippi State University

Master of Science in Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Engineering

General engineering · concentration: Engineering

Master'sMSConcentration

Overview

A 30-33 credit Master of Science in Engineering offered online with an Engineering or Computational Engineering concentration and thesis or non-thesis tracks, studied full-time or part-time. All online students pay in-state tuition and no GRE is required.

Official program name
Master of Science in Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Engineering
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Concentration within a broad engineering degreeThe degree awarded is the broad engineering degree shown above; the concentration is a formally named option within it, not a separately awarded discipline degree.
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Mississippi State, MSWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Formal concentrations
Engineering · Computational Engineering
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Thesis / non-thesis
Thesis · Non-thesis
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
30~33 Hours
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Spring, Fall, Summer
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Fully online MS in Engineering (no single discipline) with Engineering or Computational Engineering concentrations; maps to general.

Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verifiedRequired in person: orientation
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

In-person requirements as published

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Accelerated options

  • Qualified MSU engineering undergraduates may earn up to 9 graduate credit hours in their senior year.
    Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a fully accredited four-year institution
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum 3.00/4.00 GPA on the last four semesters of undergraduate work
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Programming background
RecommendedComputational Engineering applicants should have at least two semesters of programming including OOP, data structures, computing theory and math/statistics for CS.
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose and three references
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three references submit letters of recommendation
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$60 — $60 domestic, $80 international
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredGRE or GMAT not required
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    June 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    November 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    May 1 · for Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Online tuition per credit hour (in-state rate for all online students)$602.50per creditEstimated tuition$18,075 = 30 credits × $602.50 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $18,075 (30 credits × $602.50 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Online tuition per credit hour (in-state rate for all online students), academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Instructional Support Fee per credit hour
$25 per credit
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • MSU participates in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA); approved by the Mississippi Commission on College Accreditation on July 27, 2016. Official pageSource: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. online.msstate.edu/mseng — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. online.msstate.edu/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Mississippi first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Engineering (Interdisciplinary) (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online
Location: Auburn, ALSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: as little as two years or as long as six years (depending on the course load taken) · 30 credits
Tuition: $949 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,470 (30 credits × $949 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Liberty University logo

Liberty University

Master of Engineering (MEng) Online

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering (MEng)

General Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online
Location: Lynchburg, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $600 per credit · All students — Graduate Full Time · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $18,000 (30 credits × $600 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

Master of Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Nuclear Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration
Location: Raleigh, NCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: must be completed within six years (maximum time limit) · 30 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate - Engineering Online, Engineering Education, Residents of North Carolina, 1 credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $54,123.30 (30 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Mississippi State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.