Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Mississippi State University logo

Mississippi State University

Bachelor of Science in Industrial and Systems Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Industrial and Systems Engineering

Industrial Engineering

Bachelor'sBSABET: not matchedTransfer entryFirst-year entry

Overview

A 128-hour Bachelor of Science in Industrial and Systems Engineering offered through MS State Online. Chemistry I and II, Physics I and II and Engineering Mechanics I are not available online through MSU and must be taken as transferable equivalents elsewhere.

Official program name
Bachelor of Science in Industrial and Systems Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Industrial and Systems Engineering
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Engineering major
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Mississippi State, MSWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Not verified
Required credits
128 credit hours
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

How students enter this degree

  • Transfer entry. Up to 64 hours from an accredited community college; minimum 32 junior/senior-level hours at MSU.64 prior credits stated · associate degree not requiredSource: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • First-year entry. New admissions complete the undergraduate application and send ACT or SAT scores and high school transcript.associate degree not requiredSource: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Completed elsewhere: Courses marked with an asterisk (Chemistry I and II with lab, Physics I and II, Engineering Mechanics I) are not available online through MSU; transferable equivalents must be taken at another institution. Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Why this program is listed

Online BS in Industrial and Systems Engineering; chemistry, physics and Engineering Mechanics I are not available online at MSU and must be taken elsewhere.

Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Part of the degree requires on-campus study
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether campus visits, lab sessions, proctored exams at a center or other in-person requirements apply. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Design project
RequiredIE 4914 Industrial Systems Design
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Other requirement
RequiredIdentity verification through Stripe Identity
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    August 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    December 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    May 1 · for Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Online tuition per credit hour (in-state rate for all online students)$452per creditEstimated tuition$57,856 = 128 credits × $452 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $57,856 (128 credits × $452 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Online tuition per credit hour (in-state rate for all online students), academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Instructional Support Fee per credit hour
$25 per credit
Source: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. Many state licensing boards look for EAC-accredited engineering degrees; check the school's statement and your state board. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • MSU participates in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (SARA); approved by the Mississippi Commission on College Accreditation on July 27, 2016. Official pageSource: online.msstate.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. online.msstate.edu/bsie — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. online.msstate.edu/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Mississippi first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Lamar University logo

Lamar University

B.S. Industrial Engineering (2+2 Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science, Major: Industrial Engineering

Industrial Engineering

Bachelor'sB.S. ABET EAC · online not listedDegree completion
Location: Beaumont, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Upper division online only · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online upper-division courses; lower division completed elsewhere; required in person: on-campus lab session, in-person laboratory
Duration: Length not published · 121 credits
Tuition: $259.49 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Undergraduate, Resident, total tuition for 1 semester credit hour (Fall 2026 and Spring 2027) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $83,186.29 (121 credits × $687.49 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Mississippi State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.