Affordable Online Engineering Degrees
Comparing what online engineering degrees cost only works within one degree level and on one basis. Bachelor's and master's programs are shown in separate tables; PhD programs are not ranked by cost, because research funding and residency arrangements matter more than the sticker price. Estimates are calculated only from published rates and required credits.
How the estimate is calculated
Estimated total tuition = published per-credit tuition × required credits
- Degree level: bachelor's and master's programs are compared in separate tables, never against each other. PhD costs are not compared: doctoral funding and research arrangements differ too much.
- Student category: the rate for all online students, or — when rates differ by residency — the nonresident (out-of-state) rate. A resident-only rate is never used.
- Tuition basis: per-credit rates are multiplied by the published required credits; a published whole-program figure is used as published. Per-term or per-year figures without a published number of terms are not converted.
- Academic year: shown with every rate; a rate printed without a year is labelled “year not stated”.
- Excluded: mandatory, distance-education, technology and engineering fees; lab kits, equipment and proctoring fees; travel to required lab sessions or residencies; books; transfer-credit reductions (which matter a lot for degree-completion programs); and future rate changes.
Degree completion changes the math
A bachelor's estimate covers the full published credit total. Degree-completion and transfer students usually pay for far fewer credits — but must complete prerequisite mathematics and science elsewhere first. Bachelor's vs degree completion
Online Engineering Bachelor's Degrees by estimated total tuition
22 of 35 verified programs publish a comparable cost.
| School and program | Format | Published rate used | Credits | Estimated total tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stony Brook UniversityElectrical Engineering Online (EEO) - BS | Online | $353 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Online out-of-state rate, undergraduate (Fall 2026/Spring 2027) · 2026-2027 | 120 | $42,360rate × credits |
| St. Cloud State UniversityBachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online) | Fully online (stated) | $385.67 per creditOnline students — B.S. Software Engineering online, current estimated rate · year not stated | 122 | $47,051.74rate × credits |
| University of AlabamaBachelor of Science (BS) in Mechanical Engineering, Primarily Online | Online + required attendance | $399 per creditAll students · year not stated | 130 | $51,870rate × credits |
| Liberty UniversityBachelor of Science in Civil Engineering (Online) | Online + required attendance | $410 per creditAll students — Undergraduate Full Time · 2026-2027 | 133 | $54,530rate × credits |
| Mississippi State UniversityBachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering (Online) | Online | $452 per creditAll students — Online tuition per credit hour (in-state rate for all online students) · year not stated | 128 | $57,856rate × credits |
| Mississippi State UniversityBachelor of Science in Industrial and Systems Engineering (Online) | Online | $452 per creditAll students — Online tuition per credit hour (in-state rate for all online students) · year not stated | 128 | $57,856rate × credits |
| Old Dominion UniversityBachelor of Science in Computer Engineering (Online) | Online | $453 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Out-of-state students (rates effective Fall 2026) · year not stated | 128 | $57,984rate × credits |
| North Dakota State UniversityComputer Engineering Major (B.S.Cpr.E), online option | Online | $473.64 per creditOnline students — Online Programs, Engineering Tuition C (part-time per-credit rate; ND resident rate may be charged to students in dedicated online majors) · year not stated | 126 | $59,678.64rate × credits |
| North Dakota State UniversityElectrical Engineering Major (B.S.E.E.), online option | Online | $473.64 per creditOnline students — Online Programs, Engineering Tuition C (part-time per-credit rate; ND resident rate may be charged to students in dedicated online majors) · year not stated | 126 | $59,678.64rate × credits |
| University of ArizonaBachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Arizona Online) | Online | $525 per creditAll students · year not stated | 120 | $63,000rate × credits |
| University of ArizonaBachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering (Arizona Online) | Online | $525 per creditAll students · year not stated | 128 | $67,200rate × credits |
| National UniversityBachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering (Online) | Fully online (stated) | $69,000 entire programAll students — Total estimated cost of program · year not stated | 120 | $69,000published total |
| Arizona State UniversityBachelor of Science in Engineering in Biomedical Engineering (Online) | Online | $580 per creditOnline students — ASU Online undergraduate rate for most programs, plus program fees · 2026-2027 | 120 | $69,600rate × credits |
| Arizona State UniversityBachelor of Science in Engineering in Electrical Engineering (Online) | Online | $580 per creditOnline students — ASU Online undergraduate rate for most programs, plus program fees · 2026-2027 | 120 | $69,600rate × credits |
| Arizona State UniversityBachelor of Science in Engineering in Mechanical Engineering (Online) | Online | $580 per creditOnline students — ASU Online undergraduate rate for most programs, plus program fees · 2026-2027 | 120 | $69,600rate × credits |
| Arizona State UniversityBachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online) | Online | $580 per creditOnline students — ASU Online undergraduate rate for most programs, plus program fees · 2026-2027 | 120 | $69,600rate × credits |
| Penn State World CampusBachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online) | Fully online (stated) | $644 per creditAll students — 2026-27, 11 or fewer credits per semester, 59 or fewer total credits · 2026-2027 | 126 | $81,144rate × credits |
| Lamar UniversityB.S. Computer Engineering (2+2 online path) | Online | $687.49 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Undergraduate, Non-Resident, total tuition for 1 semester credit hour (Fall 2026 and Spring 2027) · 2026-2027 | 120 | $82,498.80rate × credits |
| Lamar UniversityB.S. Electrical Engineering (2+2 online path) | Online | $687.49 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Undergraduate, Non-Resident, total tuition for 1 semester credit hour (Fall 2026 and Spring 2027) · 2026-2027 | 120 | $82,498.80rate × credits |
| Lamar UniversityB.S. Industrial Engineering (2+2 Online) | Online + required attendance | $687.49 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Undergraduate, Non-Resident, total tuition for 1 semester credit hour (Fall 2026 and Spring 2027) · 2026-2027 | 121 | $83,186.29rate × credits |
| Florida International UniversityOnline B.S. in Computer Engineering | Fully online (stated) | $758.38 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) · year not stated | 128 | $97,072.64rate × credits |
| Florida International UniversityOnline Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering | Fully online (stated) | $758.38 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) · year not stated | 128 | $97,072.64rate × credits |
Programs without a comparable published cost (13)
- Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Worldwide — Bachelor of Science in Engineering (Worldwide & Online) (tuition not published)
- Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Worldwide — Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Worldwide & Online) (tuition not published)
- Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Worldwide — Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Worldwide & Online) (tuition not published)
- North Dakota State University — Software Engineering Major (B.S.), online option (tuition not published)
- University of North Dakota — Bachelor of Science in Aerospace Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- University of North Dakota — Bachelor of Science in Biomedical Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- University of North Dakota — Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- University of North Dakota — Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- University of North Dakota — Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- University of North Dakota — Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- University of North Dakota — Bachelor of Science in Petroleum Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- West Texas A&M University — Online Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering (tuition not published)
- Western Governors University — Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering (Online) (tuition published on another basis)
Online Engineering Master's Degrees by estimated total tuition
185 of 260 verified programs publish a comparable cost.
| School and program | Format | Published rate used | Credits | Estimated total tuition |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of AlabamaMaster of Science (MS) in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics Online | Online + required attendance | $480 per creditAll students · year not stated | 30 | $14,400rate × credits |
| University of AlabamaMaster of Science (MS) in Mechanical Engineering Online | Online + required attendance | $480 per creditAll students · year not stated | 30 | $14,400rate × credits |
| South Dakota School of Mines and TechnologyMaster of Science in Civil & Environmental Engineering — Sustainable Engineering Specialization (Online) | Online | $519 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Distance courses (SD nonresident), tuition per credit · 2026-2027 | 30 | $15,570rate × credits |
| South Dakota School of Mines and TechnologyMaster of Science in Construction Engineering & Management (Online) | Fully online (stated) | $519 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Distance courses (SD nonresident), tuition per credit · 2026-2027 | 30 | $15,570rate × credits |
| North Dakota State UniversityBiomedical Engineering Master's (M.S.), online option | Online | $521.06 per creditOnline students — Online Masters, Graduate Certificates per-credit rate, Engineering Tuition C · year not stated | 30 | $15,631.80rate × credits |
| North Dakota State UniversityOnline Professional Master's in Mechanical Engineering (Master of Engineering) | Fully online (stated) | $521.06 per creditOnline students — Online Masters, Graduate Certificates per-credit rate, Engineering Tuition C · year not stated | 30 | $15,631.80rate × credits |
| Oklahoma State UniversityElectrical Engineering, MS - Online | Online | $555 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate out-of-state online (tuition and fees) · 2026-2027 | 30 | $16,650rate × credits |
| Oklahoma State UniversityIndustrial Engineering and Management, MS - Online | Online | $555 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate out-of-state online (tuition and fees) · 2026-2027 | 30 | $16,650rate × credits |
| South Dakota School of Mines and TechnologyMaster of Science in Mining Engineering & Management (Online) | Online | $519 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Distance courses (SD nonresident), tuition per credit · 2026-2027 | 33 | $17,127rate × credits |
| Liberty UniversityMaster of Engineering (MEng) Online | Fully online (stated) | $600 per creditAll students — Graduate Full Time · 2026-2027 | 30 | $18,000rate × credits |
| Mississippi State UniversityMaster of Engineering (Online) | Online | $602.50 per creditAll students — Online tuition per credit hour (in-state rate for all online students) · year not stated | 30 | $18,075rate × credits |
| Mississippi State UniversityMaster of Science in Aerospace Engineering (Online) | Online | $602.50 per creditAll students — Online tuition per credit hour (in-state rate for all online students) · year not stated | 30 | $18,075rate × credits |
| Mississippi State UniversityMaster of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering (Online) | Online | $602.50 per creditAll students — Online tuition per credit hour (in-state rate for all online students) · year not stated | 30 | $18,075rate × credits |
| Mississippi State UniversityMaster of Science in Engineering (Online) | Online | $602.50 per creditAll students — Online tuition per credit hour (in-state rate for all online students) · year not stated | 30 | $18,075rate × credits |
| Mississippi State UniversityMaster of Science in Industrial and Systems Engineering (Online) | Online | $602.50 per creditAll students — Online tuition per credit hour (in-state rate for all online students) · year not stated | 30 | $18,075rate × credits |
Programs without a comparable published cost (75)
- Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Worldwide — Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering (Worldwide & Online) (tuition not published)
- Florida International University — Online Master of Science in Computer Engineering: Emerging Technologies (tuition published on another basis)
- Georgia Institute of Technology — Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering, Online (tuition published on another basis)
- Georgia Institute of Technology — Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering, Online (tuition published on another basis)
- Georgia Institute of Technology — Master of Science in Industrial Engineering, Online (tuition published on another basis)
- Georgia Institute of Technology — Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering, Online (tuition published on another basis)
- Johns Hopkins University — Master of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (Online, Part-Time) (tuition published on another basis)
- Johns Hopkins University — Master of Civil Engineering (Online, Part-Time) (tuition published on another basis)
- Johns Hopkins University — Master of Environmental Engineering (Online, Part-Time) (tuition published on another basis)
- Johns Hopkins University — Master of Science in Applied Biomedical Engineering (Online, Part-Time) (tuition published on another basis)
- Johns Hopkins University — Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering (Online, Part-Time) (tuition published on another basis)
- Johns Hopkins University — Master of Science in Environmental Engineering and Science (Online, Part-Time) (tuition published on another basis)
- Johns Hopkins University — Master of Science in Industrial and Operations Engineering (Online, Part-Time) (tuition published on another basis)
- Johns Hopkins University — Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering (Online, Part-Time) (tuition published on another basis)
- Johns Hopkins University — Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online, Part-Time) (tuition published on another basis)
- Kansas State University — Chemical Engineering Master's Degree (Online) (tuition published on another basis)
- Kansas State University — Civil Engineering Master's Degree (Online) (tuition published on another basis)
- Kansas State University — Electrical and Computer Engineering Master's Degree (Online) (tuition published on another basis)
- Kansas State University — Industrial Engineering Master's Degree (Online) (tuition published on another basis)
- Kansas State University — Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (distance option) (tuition published on another basis)
- Kennesaw State University — Master of Science in Civil Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- Kennesaw State University — Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- Kennesaw State University — Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- Kennesaw State University — Master of Science in Software Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- Mississippi State University — Master of Science in Civil Engineering (Online) (tuition published on another basis)
- Missouri University of Science and Technology — Master of Science in Environmental Engineering (Online) (tuition published on another basis)
- North Carolina State University — Master of Biological and Agricultural Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- North Dakota State University — Master of Software Engineering (M.S.E.), online option (tuition not published)
- St. Cloud State University — Professional Science Master's in Software Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- Stevens Institute of Technology — Master of Engineering in Robotics (Online) (tuition published on another basis)
- Stevens Institute of Technology — Master of Science in Construction Engineering and Management (Online) (tuition published on another basis)
- Texas A&M University — Master of Engineering in Aerospace Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- Texas A&M University — Master of Engineering in Biological and Agricultural Engineering (Online, Food Engineering emphasis) (tuition not published)
- Texas A&M University — Master of Engineering in Computer Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- Texas A&M University — Master of Engineering in Engineering (Online; Interdisciplinary or Subsea Engineering specialization) (tuition not published)
- Texas A&M University — Master of Engineering in Industrial Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- Texas A&M University — Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- Texas A&M University — Master of Engineering in Nuclear Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- Texas A&M University — Master of Engineering in Ocean Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- Texas A&M University — Master of Engineering in Petroleum Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- Texas A&M University — Master of Science in Computer Engineering (Online, Thesis and Non-Thesis) (tuition not published)
- Texas A&M University — Master of Science in Electrical Engineering (Online, Thesis and Non-Thesis) (tuition not published)
- Texas A&M University — Master of Science in Nuclear Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- Texas A&M University — Master of Science in Ocean Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- Texas A&M University — Master of Science in Petroleum Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- Texas Tech University — Online CE Master's Degree (MS in Civil Engineering) (tuition published on another basis)
- Texas Tech University — Online Master of Engineering (tuition published on another basis)
- Texas Tech University — Online Master of Science in Chemical Engineering (tuition published on another basis)
- Texas Tech University — Online Master of Science in Industrial Engineering (tuition published on another basis)
- Texas Tech University — Online Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (tuition published on another basis)
- Texas Tech University — Online Master of Science in Petroleum Engineering (non-thesis) (tuition published on another basis)
- University of Colorado Boulder — Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering - Professional Master's (online option) (tuition published on another basis)
- University of Colorado Boulder — Professional Master of Science in Electrical & Computer Engineering (online subplans) (tuition published on another basis)
- University of Florida — Master of Science in Agricultural and Biological Engineering (Online, Non-Thesis) (tuition published on another basis)
- University of Houston — Online Master's Degree Program in Industrial Engineering (MIE) (tuition not published)
- University of Houston — Online MS in Civil Engineering (UH Extend) (tuition published on another basis)
- University of Houston — Online MS in Electrical Engineering (UH Extend) (tuition published on another basis)
- University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign — Master of Engineering in Engineering (online concentrations) (tuition published on another basis)
- University of Michigan–Dearborn — Master of Science in Engineering - Materials Science and Engineering (Online option) (tuition not published)
- University of Michigan–Dearborn — Master of Science in Engineering (Robotics Engineering) (Online option) (tuition not published)
- University of Michigan–Dearborn — Master of Science in Software Engineering (Online option) (tuition not published)
- University of North Dakota — Master of Engineering in Civil Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- University of North Dakota — Master of Engineering in Electrical Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- University of North Dakota — Master of Engineering in Environmental Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- University of North Dakota — Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- University of North Dakota — Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- University of North Dakota — Master of Science in Civil Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- University of North Dakota — Master of Science in Electrical Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- University of North Dakota — Master of Science in Environmental Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- University of North Dakota — Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- University of North Dakota — Master of Science or Master of Engineering in Chemical Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- University of North Dakota — Master of Science or Master of Engineering in Petroleum Engineering (Online) (tuition not published)
- University of Southern California — Master of Science in Civil Engineering (Structural Engineering) (DEN@Viterbi online) (tuition published on another basis)
- West Texas A&M University — Master of Science in Engineering (online non-thesis option) (tuition not published)
- Western Governors University — Master of Science in Software Engineering (Online) (tuition published on another basis)