Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering

Computer Engineering

Bachelor'sBSCE ABET EACFirst-year entryDegree completion

Overview

Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering offered online through ODUGlobal, 128 credit hours including a minor in computer science, in accelerated 8-week courses. Students can start as freshmen or transfer up to 90 credits.

Official program name
Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Engineering major
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Norfolk, VAWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Not verified
Required credits
128 credit hours total
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

How students enter this degree

  • First-year entry. Freshmen can apply because the program is available completely onlineassociate degree not requiredSource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Degree completion program. Degree completion: transfer up to 90 credits; at least 30 credit hours must be completed at ODU90 prior credits statedSource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Completed elsewhere: Lower division math, science and computer engineering requirements may not be covered by an associate degree. Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Why this program is listed

Online BS in Computer Engineering offered as a full degree or as degree completion through ODUGlobal.

Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Proctored exams Not verified

    Some courses may require a proctored exam, completed through an approved online proctoring service.

    Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Design project
RequiredTeam design projects in the last two semesters
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Academic calendar

Other

  • Accreditation statement on the program's page: Accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET
    Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Final deadline

    January 4 (Spring 1); March 8 (Spring 2) · for Spring 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia residents (rates effective Fall 2026)$443per creditEstimated tuition$56,704 = 128 credits × $443 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Out-of-state students (rates effective Fall 2026)$453per creditEstimated tuition$57,984 = 128 credits × $453 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $57,984 (128 credits × $453 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Out-of-state students (rates effective Fall 2026), academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • ABET (Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology) (ABET)Status: Accredited · Commission: EAC · Program: Computer Engineering · Degree: BSnext review 2028–2029 (next comprehensive review) · ABET lists: Main Campus · distance delivery per ABET: All contentABET's record lists the online pathway.Source: amspub.abet.org · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • ODU participates in NC-SARA, which allows online delivery of distance education to other member states. Official pageSource: odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. ABET accredited program search (data downloaded 2026-10-12) — Accreditor directory, verified October 12, 2026
  2. online.odu.edu/academics/programs/computer-engineering-bachelor-degree — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. online.odu.edu/admissions/application-dates-deadlines — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. online.odu.edu/online-experience/coursework-and-exams — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  6. odu.edu/assessment/state-regulatory-authorizations-licensure-disclosures — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Virginia first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Lamar University logo

Lamar University

B.S. Computer Engineering (2+2 online path)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science, Major: Computer Engineering

Computer Engineering

Bachelor'sB.S.ABET: not matchedDegree completion
Location: Beaumont, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Upper division online only · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online upper-division courses; lower division completed elsewhere; physical attendance not verifiedRemote / kit / virtual labs published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: $259.49 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Undergraduate, Resident, total tuition for 1 semester credit hour (Fall 2026 and Spring 2027) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $82,498.80 (120 credits × $687.49 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Bachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering (Arizona Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC
Location: Tucson, AZSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 128 credits
Tuition: $525 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $67,200 (128 credits × $525 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
National University logo

National University

Bachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC Fully onlineFirst-year entry
Location: San Diego, CASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)Remote / kit / virtual labs published
Duration: Finish in 60 months average completion time (average completion time) · 120 credits
Tuition: $640 per credit · All students — Base per credit/unit rate · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Old Dominion University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.