
Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology - Electrical Engineering Technology (Online)
Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology (Electrical Engineering Technology major)
Electrical Engineering
Overview
Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology with a major in electrical engineering technology, offered online through ODUGlobal as a degree-completion program: ODU offers the upper-division courses, in accelerated 8-week terms.
- Official program name
- Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology - Electrical Engineering Technology (Online)
- Awarded degree
- Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology (Electrical Engineering Technology major)Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Degree level
- Bachelor's
- Engineering major
- Electrical EngineeringEngineering Technology degrees are listed separately and never counted as Engineering degrees. They emphasize applied design, implementation and operations; their ABET accreditation (where it exists) comes from a different commission (ETAC), and state licensing boards treat them differently from engineering degrees.Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Program type
- Dedicated degreeSource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- School
- Location
- Norfolk, VAWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
- Published specializations
- Communications Systems Technology · Embedded Systems Technology · Mechatronics Engineering Technology · Power Systems TechnologySource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Thesis / non-thesis
- Not verified
- Required credits
- 128-134 credit hoursSource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Duration
- Not verified
- Teaching language
- English (not separately stated)
How students enter this degree
- Degree completion program. Degree completion for students with some college credits; transfer up to 90 credits90 prior credits statedSource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Completed elsewhere: ODU offers the upper division (300 and 400 level) courses online; a qualifying associate degree may satisfy lower level general education requirements. Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Only upper-division courses are offered online. Lower-division mathematics, science and introductory engineering courses must be completed before or elsewhere.
This is a degree-completion route: it is not a standard first-year admission option.
Why this program is listed
Online degree-completion BSET with a major in Electrical Engineering Technology; engineering technology record.
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules
Format and physical attendance
- Coursework delivery
- Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Online scope
- Only upper-division courses are offered online — lower-division courses are completed elsewhereSource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Physical attendance
- Physical attendance requirements not verified
- Class schedule
- AsynchronousSource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Study intensity
- Not published
In-person requirements as published
Proctored exams Not verified
Some courses may require a proctored exam, completed through an approved online proctoring service.
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Labs, projects and practical training
Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Curriculum
Academic calendar
- Accelerated 8-week coursesSource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other
- Accreditation statement on the program's page: The electrical engineering technology program is accredited by the Engineering Technology Accreditation Commission of ABETSource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Specializations, concentrations and tracks
- Communications Systems TechnologySource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Embedded Systems TechnologySource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Mechatronics Engineering TechnologySource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
- Power Systems TechnologySource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Admissions
Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Tests
Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
- Year not printed
Final deadline
January 4 (Spring 1); March 8 (Spring 2) · for Spring 2027
The university does not print a year with this date.
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia residents (rates effective Fall 2026) | $443 | per creditEstimated tuition$56,704 = 128 credits × $443 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026 |
| Nonresident (out-of-state) — Out-of-state students (rates effective Fall 2026) | $453 | per creditEstimated tuition$57,984 = 128 credits × $453 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026 |
Estimated total tuition: $57,984 (128 credits × $453 per credit)
Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Out-of-state students (rates effective Fall 2026), academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate
Funding
Funding classification: Funding not verified
We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.
Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Accreditation and enrollment restrictions
Institutional accreditation
- Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Programmatic accreditation
- ABET (Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology) (ABET)Status: Accredited · Commission: ETAC · Program: Electrical Engineering Technology · Degree: BSETnext review 2030–2031 (next comprehensive review) · ABET lists: Main Campus · distance delivery per ABET: Less than half of contentABET's record does not list the online pathway — ask the school whether the online version is covered.Source: amspub.abet.org · verified October 12, 2026
Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)
- ODU participates in NC-SARA, which allows online delivery of distance education to other member states. Official pageSource: odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
Not verified for this program.
Licensure and professional disclosures
- LicensureThis program is designed to prepare you for the Fundamentals of Engineering exam, the first step to licensure as a professional engineer in several states. Official disclosureSource: online.odu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology
Sources and verification
- ABET accredited program search (data downloaded 2026-10-12) — Accreditor directory, verified October 12, 2026
- online.odu.edu/academics/programs/electrical-engineering-technology — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
- online.odu.edu/admissions/application-dates-deadlines — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
- online.odu.edu/online-experience/coursework-and-exams — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
- DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
- odu.edu/assessment/state-regulatory-authorizations-licensure-disclosures — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile
OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Old Dominion University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.