Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net

Online Mechanical Engineering Master's Degrees

Mechanical engineering covers the design and analysis of machines, thermal and fluid systems, structures and controls — from solid mechanics and dynamics to heat transfer, manufacturing and mechanical design.

Undergraduate mechanical engineering includes laboratory work in materials, fluids, heat transfer and measurements; online bachelor's pathways handle it with remote or kit-based labs, short on-campus lab sessions, or by limiting the online option to graduate study. Graduate coursework is usually analytical and simulation-based.

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking. What we list

Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Auburn, ALSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: as little as two years or as long as six years (depending on the course load taken) · 30 credits
Tuition: $949 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,470 (30 credits × $949 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Colorado State University logo

Colorado State University

Master of Engineering, Plan C (Online specializations)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Biomedical Engineering, Aerospace Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Computer Engineering

Master'sMEConcentration
Location: Fort Collins, COSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: can be completed in 2 years · 30 credits
Tuition: $747 per credit · Online students — Electrical and Computer Engineering specializations · year not statedEst. total tuition $29,760 (30 credits × $992 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Columbia University logo

Columbia University

MS in Mechanical Engineering (Online, CVN)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: New York, NYSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: anywhere from one-and-a-half years to five years, depending on how many courses you take each semester (depends on course load) · 30 credits
Tuition: $2,822 per credit · All students — CVN Credit Tuition · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Georgia Institute of Technology logo

Georgia Institute of Technology

Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering, Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMSME
Location: Atlanta, GASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: 6 years to complete degree (maximum time to complete) · 30 credits
Tuition: $3,415 per semester · All students — 3 credit hours per semester (tuition) · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Iowa State University logo

Iowa State University

Mechanical Engineering - Master's (Online Master of Engineering)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sM.Engr. Fully online
Location: Ames, IASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 2 years+ · 30 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $27,000 (30 credits × $900 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Johns Hopkins University logo

Johns Hopkins University

Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online, Part-Time)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Baltimore, MDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: within five years (maximum time to complete the ten courses) · 30 credits
Tuition: $5,620 per course · All students — Engineering for Professionals graduate (600-level and higher) course, after Dean's support · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Kansas State University logo

Kansas State University

Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (distance option)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Manhattan, KSSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $11,142 per academic year · All students — Graduate Online Annual Estimate 2026-2027, Manhattan Online: estimated tuition and mandatory fees for an academic year (calculated at 18 credit hours per year) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Kennesaw State University

Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMSME
Location: Kennesaw, GASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Two-Year Program · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Michigan Technological University logo

Michigan Technological University

Online Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Houghton, MISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,448 per credit · All students — 2026–27 Estimated Graduate Expenses, graduate tuition · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $43,440 (30 credits × $1,448 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Mississippi State University logo

Mississippi State University

Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Mississippi State, MSSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 31 credits
Tuition: $602.50 per credit · All students — Online tuition per credit hour (in-state rate for all online students) · year not statedEst. total tuition $18,677.50 (31 credits × $602.50 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Missouri University of Science and Technology logo

Missouri University of Science and Technology

Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Rolla, MOSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: about three years (typical, taking 1-2 courses a semester) · 30 credits
Tuition: $950 per credit · All students — Mechanical Engineering and Aerospace Engineering online programs · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $28,500 (30 credits × $950 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

Master of Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Nuclear Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration
Location: Raleigh, NCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: must be completed within six years (maximum time limit) · 30 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate - Engineering Online, Engineering Education, Residents of North Carolina, 1 credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $54,123.30 (30 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Raleigh, NCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate - Mechanical Engineering and Aerospace Engineering, Residents of North Carolina, 1 credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $54,123.30 (30 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Dakota State University logo

North Dakota State University

Online Professional Master's in Mechanical Engineering (Master of Engineering)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering (Mechanical Engineering)

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online
Location: Fargo, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $521.06 per credit · Online students — Online Masters, Graduate Certificates per-credit rate, Engineering Tuition C · year not statedEst. total tuition $15,631.80 (30 credits × $521.06 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Engineering (Online) - Aerospace or Mechanical Engineering concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMEConcentration
Location: Norfolk, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $672 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia residents (rates effective Fall 2026) · year not statedEst. total tuition $19,860 (30 credits × $662 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Penn State World Campus logo

Penn State World Campus

Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: University Park, PASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 32 credits
Tuition: $1,167 per credit · All students — 2026-27, 11 or fewer credits per semester · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $37,344 (32 credits × $1,167 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: July 15, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
Purdue University logo

Purdue University

Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMSME Fully online
Location: West Lafayette, INSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: within 12 to 18 months (full-time) · 30 credits
Tuition: $950 per credit · All students — Indiana residents and out-of-state residents (flat rate) · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,500 (30 credits × $950 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University

Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: College Station, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas Tech University logo

Texas Tech University

Online Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Lubbock, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: approximately 2 years · 30 credits
Tuition: $2,500 per course · All students — Estimate per three-credit online graduate engineering course · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Alabama logo

University of Alabama

Master of Science (MS) in Mechanical Engineering Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMSME
Location: Tuscaloosa, ALSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: proctored exams
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $480 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $14,400 (30 credits × $480 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Labs and attendance in mechanical engineering

Undergraduate mechanical engineering includes laboratory work in materials, fluids, heat transfer and measurements; online bachelor's pathways handle it with remote or kit-based labs, short on-campus lab sessions, or by limiting the online option to graduate study. Graduate coursework is usually analytical and simulation-based.

Accreditation

Every school listed holds institutional accreditation from a recognized agency. ABET accredits individual programs, mostly at the bachelor's level; a listing shows ABET only when ABET's database matches that program. About ABET accreditation

More mechanical engineering

Deadlines and tuition are shown with their intake and academic year. Past dates are marked passed, never rolled forward.