Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net

Online Materials Engineering Master's Degrees

Materials engineering (materials science and engineering, metallurgical engineering) relates the structure of metals, ceramics, polymers, semiconductors and composites to their processing, properties and performance.

Characterization and processing laboratories are central at the bachelor's level; online master's programs are typically coursework or project based.

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking. What we list

Arizona State University logo

Arizona State University

Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering

Materials Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Scottsdale, AZSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $605 per credit · Online students — ASU Online graduate rate for most programs, plus program fees · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $18,150 (30 credits × $605 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Science in Materials Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Materials Engineering

Materials Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Auburn, ALSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: as little as two years or as long as six years (depending on the course load taken) · 30 credits
Tuition: $949 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,470 (30 credits × $949 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Science in Polymer and Fiber Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Polymer and Fiber Engineering

Materials Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Auburn, ALSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: as little as two years or as long as six years (depending on the course load taken) · 36 credits
Tuition: $949 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $34,164 (36 credits × $949 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Colorado State University logo

Colorado State University

Master of Materials Engineering, Plan C (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Materials Engineering

Materials Engineering

Master'sMME
Location: Fort Collins, COSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verifiedRemote / kit / virtual labs published
Duration: 18 months or more · 30 credits
Tuition: $760 per credit · Online students — Program Details box · year not statedEst. total tuition $22,800 (30 credits × $760 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Columbia University logo

Columbia University

MS in Materials Science and Engineering (Online, CVN)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering

Materials Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: New York, NYSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: anywhere from one-and-a-half years to five years, depending on how many courses you take each semester (depends on course load) · 30 credits
Tuition: $2,822 per credit · All students — CVN Credit Tuition · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Johns Hopkins University logo

Johns Hopkins University

Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering (Online, Part-Time)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering

Materials Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Baltimore, MDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: within five years (maximum time to complete the ten courses)
Tuition: $5,620 per course · All students — Engineering for Professionals graduate (600-level and higher) course, after Dean's support · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

Master of Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Nuclear Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration
Location: Raleigh, NCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: must be completed within six years (maximum time limit) · 30 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate - Engineering Online, Engineering Education, Residents of North Carolina, 1 credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $54,123.30 (30 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

Master of Materials Science and Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Materials Science and Engineering

Materials Engineering

Master'sMMSE
Location: Raleigh, NCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: proctored exams
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate - Engineering Online, Engineering Education, Residents of North Carolina, 1 credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $54,123.30 (30 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Purdue University logo

Purdue University

Master of Science / Master of Science in Engineering in Interdisciplinary Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (MS) or Master of Science in Engineering (MSE), major Interdisciplinary Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aeronautics and Astronautics, Biomedical Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Materials Engineering, Nuclear Engineering

Master'sMS/MSEConcentration
Location: West Lafayette, INSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,139 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident of Indiana · year not statedEst. total tuition $43,770 (30 credits × $1,459 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering

Materials Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Tucson, AZSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $950 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,500 (30 credits × $950 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of Central Florida

Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering

Materials Engineering

Master'sMSMSE Fully online
Location: Orlando, FLSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $327.32 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In State Tuition (UCF Online program page) · year not statedEst. total tuition $37,024.50 (30 credits × $1,234.15 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Florida logo

University of Florida

Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering (Online, Non-Thesis, UF EDGE)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering

Materials Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Gainesville, FLSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: as short as 18 months (students with an undergraduate engineering degree working full-time) · 30 credits
Tuition: $448.73 per credit · Resident (in-state) — EDGE-Florida Residents, tuition per credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $20,700 (30 credits × $690 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Michigan–Dearborn logo

University of Michigan–Dearborn

Master of Science in Engineering - Materials Science and Engineering (Online option)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Engineering (Materials Science and Engineering)

Materials Engineering

Master'sMSE Fully online
Location: Dearborn, MISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Southern California logo

University of Southern California

Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering (DEN@Viterbi online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering

Materials Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Los Angeles, CASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 1 1⁄2 – 2 years (full-time); 2 1⁄2 – 3 years (part-time) (full-time enrollment) · 28 credits
Tuition: $2,742 per credit · All students — Viterbi graduate tuition per unit (same for on-campus and online) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $76,776 (28 credits × $2,742 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Wisconsin–Madison logo

University of Wisconsin–Madison

Master of Engineering in Engineering (Online; named options incl. Polymer Engineering)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Engineering

General engineering · concentration: Polymer Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration Fully online
Location: Madison, WISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 2-4 years · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,100 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $33,000 (30 credits × $1,100 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Worcester Polytechnic Institute logo

Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Master of Science in Materials Science & Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Materials Science & Engineering

Materials Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Worcester, MASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: only two years · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,775 per credit · All students — Graduate Tuition and Fees: Per Credit Tuition (2026-2027, general graduate rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $53,250 (30 credits × $1,775 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program

Labs and attendance in materials engineering

Characterization and processing laboratories are central at the bachelor's level; online master's programs are typically coursework or project based.

Accreditation

Every school listed holds institutional accreditation from a recognized agency. ABET accredits individual programs, mostly at the bachelor's level; a listing shows ABET only when ABET's database matches that program. About ABET accreditation

More materials engineering

Deadlines and tuition are shown with their intake and academic year. Past dates are marked passed, never rolled forward.