Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net

Online Biomedical Engineering Degrees and Programs

Biomedical engineering (bioengineering) applies engineering to medicine and biology — biomechanics, biomaterials, medical devices and imaging, physiological modeling and tissue engineering.

Rule: Included when the program's official title names biomedical engineering, or when a broad engineering degree has a formally named biomedical engineering concentration (labelled as a concentration). Online coursework is required; Engineering Technology degrees are listed separately. This page updates from the directory's verified facts.

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking. What we list

15

verified online programs

2

fully online (stated)

2

are concentrations of a broad degree

2

matched to a current ABET accreditation

Arizona State University logo

Arizona State University

Bachelor of Science in Engineering in Biomedical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Engineering in Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Bachelor'sBSE ABET EACFirst-year entryTransfer entry
Location: Scottsdale, AZSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: $580 per credit · Online students — ASU Online undergraduate rate for most programs, plus program fees · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $69,600 (120 credits × $580 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Colorado State University logo

Colorado State University

Master of Engineering, Plan C (Online specializations)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Biomedical Engineering, Aerospace Engineering, Civil and Environmental Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Computer Engineering

Master'sMEConcentration
Location: Fort Collins, COSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: can be completed in 2 years · 30 credits
Tuition: $747 per credit · Online students — Electrical and Computer Engineering specializations · year not statedEst. total tuition $29,760 (30 credits × $992 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Columbia University logo

Columbia University

MS in Biomedical Engineering (Online, CVN)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: New York, NYSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: anywhere from one-and-a-half years to five years, depending on how many courses you take each semester (depends on course load) · 30 credits
Tuition: $2,822 per credit · All students — CVN Credit Tuition · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Johns Hopkins University logo

Johns Hopkins University

Master of Science in Applied Biomedical Engineering (Online, Part-Time)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Applied Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Baltimore, MDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: within five years (maximum time to complete the ten courses)
Tuition: $5,620 per course · All students — Engineering for Professionals graduate (600-level and higher) course, after Dean's support · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
North Dakota State University logo

North Dakota State University

Biomedical Engineering Master's (M.S.), online option

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Fargo, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $521.06 per credit · Online students — Online Masters, Graduate Certificates per-credit rate, Engineering Tuition C · year not statedEst. total tuition $15,631.80 (30 credits × $521.06 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Purdue University logo

Purdue University

Master of Science / Master of Science in Engineering in Interdisciplinary Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (MS) or Master of Science in Engineering (MSE), major Interdisciplinary Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aeronautics and Astronautics, Biomedical Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Materials Engineering, Nuclear Engineering

Master'sMS/MSEConcentration
Location: West Lafayette, INSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,139 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident of Indiana · year not statedEst. total tuition $43,770 (30 credits × $1,459 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Purdue University logo

Purdue University

Master's in Biomedical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master's in Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMSBME
Location: West Lafayette, INSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: within 12 to 18 months (full-time (at least 8 credit hours every term)) · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,139 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident of Indiana · year not statedEst. total tuition $43,770 (30 credits × $1,459 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Houston logo

University of Houston

Online MS in Biomedical Engineering (UH Extend)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Houston, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $745 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $22,350 (30 credits × $745 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Engineering in Bioengineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Bioengineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: Champaign, ILSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: as little as one year, or one course at a time · 32 credits
Tuition: $1,195 per credit · All students — Online students, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027 · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $38,240 (32 credits × $1,195 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University of Maryland logo

University of Maryland

Master of Engineering in Bioengineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Bioengineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: College Park, MDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,567 per credit · Online students — MAGE online courses, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027 · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $47,010 (30 credits × $1,567 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 15, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program

University of North Dakota

Bachelor of Science in Biomedical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Partly on campus · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; in-person labs required
Duration: 4 years · 128 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of North Dakota

Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verifiedRemote / kit / virtual labs published
Duration: 2 years · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program

University of North Dakota

PhD in Biomedical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Partly on campus · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: in-person research
Duration: 3+ years · 90 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Southern California logo

University of Southern California

Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering (DEN@Viterbi online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Los Angeles, CASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 1 1⁄2 – 2 years (full-time); 2 1⁄2 – 3 years (part-time) (full-time enrollment) · 28 credits
Tuition: $2,742 per credit · All students — Viterbi graduate tuition per unit (same for on-campus and online) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $76,776 (28 credits × $2,742 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Wayne State University logo

Wayne State University

Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering: Injury Biomechanics (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Detroit, MISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,005.13 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate School Tuition, Masters and Doctoral - per credit hour, James and Patricia Anderson College of Engineering, In-state · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $60,447 (30 credits × $2,014.90 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Attendance and labs

Wet-lab and device laboratories are hard to deliver at a distance; read each program's laboratory and residency statements.

Accreditation and licensure

Every school listed holds institutional accreditation from a recognized agency. ABET accredits programs, mostly bachelor's degrees; graduate programs are rarely ABET-accredited and that is not a mark against them. Professional Engineer licensure is decided by each state board. Licensure and online degrees

Admissions: what these programs publish

  • Prior degree requirements — usually a bachelor's in engineering or a closely related field for graduate programs.
  • Minimum GPA, as published on the program or graduate school page.
  • Mathematics and science prerequisites (calculus, differential equations, physics).
  • Bridge or leveling courses for applicants without the expected background.
  • GRE policy, references, statement and English-language requirements are shown per program; unpublished items stay “not verified”.

Related