Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
University of Houston logo

University of Houston · Department of Biomedical Engineering

Online MS in Biomedical Engineering (UH Extend)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online

Overview

A 30-hour online MS in Biomedical Engineering through UH Extend, with graduate research areas in neural, cognitive and rehabilitation engineering, biomedical imaging and bionanoscience; the department states UH Extend programs have no on-campus components.

Official program name
Online MS in Biomedical Engineering (UH Extend)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering
Source: bme.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: bme.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: bme.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: onlinelearning.egr.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Houston, TXWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Published specializations
Neural, cognitive and rehabilitation engineering; biomedical imaging; bionanoscience (graduate research areas)
Source: uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Thesis / non-thesis
Not verified
Required credits
30 total hours
Source: uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: bme.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Completely online MS in Biomedical Engineering through UH Extend.

Source: bme.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: bme.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: bme.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
No required physical attendance (stated by the institution)
Source: bme.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: onlinelearning.egr.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

  • Neural, cognitive and rehabilitation engineering; biomedical imaging; bionanoscience (graduate research areas)
    Source: uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree or equivalent in a STEM field from an accredited institution (most programs).
Source: bme.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Graduate GPA 3.0 minimum.
Source: uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Mathematics prerequisites
RequiredThree semesters of calculus, differential equations and linear algebra (most programs).
Source: bme.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Science prerequisites
RequiredCollege-level chemistry and physics (most programs).
Source: bme.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Bridge / leveling courses
OptionalApplicants from broader STEM fields may receive provisional admission with leveling courses.
Source: bme.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Work experience
RequiredSummary of professional and relevant experience.
Source: bme.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose.
Source: bme.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Optional1 letters — One letter of recommendation (optional).
Source: bme.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume/CV.
Source: bme.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredTranscripts of all prior college education.
Source: bme.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
OptionalOptional; recommended Q-159, V-150
Source: bme.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredInternational students only; IELTS or Duolingo also accepted
Source: bme.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Final deadline

    July 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: bme.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Final deadline

    December 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: bme.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Final deadline

    April 1 · for Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: bme.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All studentsFrom the university's online tuition table$745per creditIncludes feesEstimated tuition$22,350 = 30 credits × $745 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $22,350 (30 credits × $745 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. onlinelearning.egr.uh.edu/about — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. onlinelearning.egr.uh.edu/programs/masters-degrees/biomedical-engineering — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. bme.uh.edu/graduate — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. bme.uh.edu/graduate/uh-extend-biomedical-online-masters-program — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. uh.edu/online/about/state-authorization.php — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. uh.edu/online/online-programs/graduate/biomedical-engineering-ms.php — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. uh.edu/uh-extend/cost/index.php — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Texas first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

North Dakota State University logo

North Dakota State University

Biomedical Engineering Master's (M.S.), online option

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Fargo, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $521.06 per credit · Online students — Online Masters, Graduate Certificates per-credit rate, Engineering Tuition C · year not statedEst. total tuition $15,631.80 (30 credits × $521.06 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Engineering in Bioengineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Bioengineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: Champaign, ILSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: as little as one year, or one course at a time · 32 credits
Tuition: $1,195 per credit · All students — Online students, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027 · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $38,240 (32 credits × $1,195 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University of Maryland logo

University of Maryland

Master of Engineering in Bioengineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Bioengineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: College Park, MDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,567 per credit · Online students — MAGE online courses, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027 · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $47,010 (30 credits × $1,567 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 15, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Houston. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.