Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
University of Houston logo

University of Houston · Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Online Master of Computer and Systems Engineering (UH Extend)

Awarded degree: Master of Computer and Systems Engineering

Computer Engineering

Master'sMCSE

Overview

A 30-hour online Master of Computer and Systems Engineering administered by the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, with a thesis option and full- or part-time study.

Official program name
Online Master of Computer and Systems Engineering (UH Extend)
Awarded degree
Master of Computer and Systems Engineering
Source: onlinelearning.egr.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: onlinelearning.egr.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: onlinelearning.egr.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: onlinelearning.egr.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Houston, TXWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Thesis · Non-thesis
Source: onlinelearning.egr.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
30 total hours
Source: uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online graduate degree in Computer and Systems Engineering, which the department says provides specialization in Computer Engineering; mapped to computer.

Source: onlinelearning.egr.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Online scope not verified
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: onlinelearning.egr.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: onlinelearning.egr.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026

The pages we checked do not say whether campus visits, lab sessions, proctored exams at a center or other in-person requirements apply. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredB.S. in electrical engineering, computer engineering, computer science, or any engineering or quantitative science field.
Source: onlinelearning.egr.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Graduate GPA 3.0 minimum.
Source: uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Bridge / leveling courses
OptionalPrerequisites or leveling courses may be required depending on background.
Source: onlinelearning.egr.uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
RequiredUH Online listing; the ECE UH Extend page lists GRE as optional for the MSEE
Source: uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All studentsFrom the university's online tuition table$745per creditIncludes feesEstimated tuition$22,350 = 30 credits × $745 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $22,350 (30 credits × $745 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. onlinelearning.egr.uh.edu/about — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. onlinelearning.egr.uh.edu/programs/masters-degrees/computer-and-systems-engineering — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. uh.edu/online/about/state-authorization.php — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. uh.edu/online/online-programs/graduate/computer-and-systems-engineering-ms.php — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. uh.edu/uh-extend/cost/index.php — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. uh.edu/uh-extend/programs/engineering/online-graduate-degrees-and-certificates/index.php — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Texas first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University

Master of Engineering in Computer Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Computer Engineering

Computer Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: College Station, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University

Master of Science in Computer Engineering (Online, Thesis and Non-Thesis)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Computer Engineering

Computer Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: College Station, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Iowa State University logo

Iowa State University

Computer Engineering - Master's (Online Master of Engineering)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Computer Engineering

Computer Engineering

Master'sM.Engr. Fully online
Location: Ames, IASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 1 year+ · 30 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $27,000 (30 credits × $900 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Houston. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.