Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net

Editorial selection · not an official ranking

Best Online Engineering PhD Programs

Doctor of Philosophy programs in engineering with a distance pathway that document their research requirements — research location, advisor, residency, exams or dissertation — along with attendance and admission requirements. Listed alphabetically; an editorial assessment, not an official ranking.

Methodology v1.0 · criteria and evidence rules · reviewed October 12, 2026 · 12 selected of 25 eligible programs considered

About this selection

Eligible degrees
PhD programs in one of the 22 directory majors that the institution offers through a distance pathway. Professional doctorates (DEng) are not eligible.
Programs considered
25 published programs in our directory that match the eligibility above (phd level), online coursework only. Coverage is partial: programs not yet in the directory could not be considered.
Selection criteria
  • Verified discipline and structure. The program's official title (or a formally named concentration) places it in an engineering major, and its required credits or documented curriculum, thesis options or concentrations are published. A broad degree with a concentration is assessed as a concentration.
  • Clear physical-attendance model. The school either states that no physical attendance is required, or documents each required campus visit, lab session, residency, proctored exam or in-person research requirement.
  • Documented research requirements (PhD). For PhD programs: the school publishes at least one of research location, advisor, residency, qualifying exam or dissertation requirements for distance students.
  • Admissions clarity. The GRE policy is stated (required, optional, waivable or not required) and at least one further admission requirement is published (for example prior degree, GPA, mathematics prerequisites, references).
  • Source quality and freshness. Eligibility evidence and the facts above come from the school's own pages and were verified within the last 12 months.
Order
Alphabetical by school. Not numbered: we do not have comparable outcome data that would justify ordering.
Sponsorship
Paid placements never affect inclusion, order or assessment, and are never shown inside this list. Sponsorship disclosure
Sources
Official pages of each school, linked fact by fact on each program page; ABET accreditation from ABET's accredited-program database (shown, never scored); institutional accreditation from the U.S. Department of Education (DAPIP). Desk research only — we did not visit or interview programs.
Evidence limitations
Outcome figures (completion, licensure-exam pass rates, employment) are not used: programs report them for different periods, cohorts and examinations. Selection says nothing about licensure eligibility in your state.
  1. Michigan Technological University logo

    Michigan Technological University

    Online PhD in Civil Engineering

    Doctor of Philosophy in Civil Engineering · Civil Engineering · Houghton, MI · Online coursework

    PhDFunding not verifiedFor a coursework-focused professional degreeFor engineers pursuing doctoral research

    Michigan Technological University offers the Online PhD in Civil Engineering (Doctor of Philosophy in Civil Engineering): online coursework; in person: dissertation defense. Major: Civil Engineering (dedicated degree). Published options: dissertation. Required credits: MS-PhD minimum 30 credits; BS-PhD minimum 60 credits. Estimated total tuition on our comparable basis is $43,440 (fees excluded).

    Tuition: $1,448 per credit · All students — 2026–27 Estimated Graduate Expenses, graduate tuition · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $43,440 (30 credits × $1,448 per credit; fees excluded)

    Practical training: Online coursework; required in person: dissertation defense

    Why it was selected / strengths

    • Estimated total tuition $43,440 (30 credits × $1,448 per credit; fees excluded).
    • The GRE is not required (stated).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Requires in-person attendance: dissertation defense — plan for travel.
    • Funding for distance students is not stated.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
    Evidence for each criterion
    Documented research requirements (PhD)
    5 documented research or residency requirement(s).
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    Required in person: dissertation defense.
    Tuition transparency
    Tuition published with its academic year (2026-2027; 2 verified rates).
    Admissions clarity
    3 published requirements; GRE not required.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Civil Engineering (dedicated degree); MS-PhD minimum 30 credits; BS-PhD minimum 60 credits.

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program
  2. Michigan Technological University logo

    Michigan Technological University

    Online PhD in Electrical and Computer Engineering

    Doctor of Philosophy in Electrical and Computer Engineering · Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering · Houghton, MI · Online coursework

    PhDFunding not verifiedFor a coursework-focused professional degreeFor engineers pursuing doctoral research

    Michigan Technological University offers the Online PhD in Electrical and Computer Engineering (Doctor of Philosophy in Electrical and Computer Engineering): online coursework; in person: dissertation defense. Major: Electrical Engineering, Computer Engineering (dedicated degree). Published options: dissertation. Required credits: 30-credit, post-master's program. Estimated total tuition on our comparable basis is $43,440 (fees excluded).

    Tuition: $1,448 per credit · All students — 2026–27 Estimated Graduate Expenses, graduate tuition · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $43,440 (30 credits × $1,448 per credit; fees excluded)

    Practical training: Online coursework; required in person: dissertation defense

    Why it was selected / strengths

    • Estimated total tuition $43,440 (30 credits × $1,448 per credit; fees excluded).
    • The GRE is not required (stated).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Requires in-person attendance: dissertation defense — plan for travel.
    • Funding for distance students is not stated.
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
    Evidence for each criterion
    Documented research requirements (PhD)
    6 documented research or residency requirement(s).
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    Required in person: dissertation defense.
    Tuition transparency
    Tuition published with its academic year (2026-2027; 2 verified rates).
    Admissions clarity
    4 published requirements; GRE not required.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Electrical Engineering, Computer Engineering (dedicated degree); 30-credit, post-master's program.

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program
  3. Michigan Technological University logo

    Michigan Technological University

    Online PhD in Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics

    Doctor of Philosophy in Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics · Mechanical Engineering · Engineering Science · Houghton, MI · Fully online (stated)

    PhD Fully onlineFunding not verifiedFor applicants who cannot travel to campusFor engineers pursuing doctoral research

    Michigan Technological University offers the Online PhD in Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics (Doctor of Philosophy in Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics): fully online (stated). Major: Mechanical Engineering, Engineering Science (dedicated degree). Required credits: 30 credits. Estimated total tuition on our comparable basis is $43,440 (fees excluded).

    Tuition: $1,448 per credit · All students — 2026–27 Estimated Graduate Expenses, graduate tuition · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $43,440 (30 credits × $1,448 per credit; fees excluded)

    Practical training: Fully online (stated)

    Why it was selected / strengths

    • The school states the degree can be completed with no physical attendance.
    • Estimated total tuition $43,440 (30 credits × $1,448 per credit; fees excluded).
    • The GRE is not required (stated).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Funding for distance students is not stated.
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
    Evidence for each criterion
    Documented research requirements (PhD)
    1 documented research or residency requirement(s).
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    The school states no physical attendance is required.
    Tuition transparency
    Tuition published with its academic year (2026-2027; 2 verified rates).
    Admissions clarity
    4 published requirements; GRE not required.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Mechanical Engineering, Engineering Science (dedicated degree); 30 credits.

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program
  4. Texas A&M University logo

    Texas A&M University

    Doctor of Philosophy in Computer Engineering (Online)

    Doctor of Philosophy in Computer Engineering · Computer Engineering · College Station, TX · Online coursework

    PhDFunding not verifiedFor a coursework-focused professional degreeFor engineers pursuing doctoral research

    Texas A&M University offers the Doctor of Philosophy in Computer Engineering (Online) (Doctor of Philosophy in Computer Engineering): online coursework; in person: qualifying exam, dissertation defense. Major: Computer Engineering (dedicated degree). Published options: dissertation. Required credits: 64 hours (with master's) or 96 hours (direct PhD).

    Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified

    Practical training: Online coursework; required in person: qualifying exam, dissertation defense

    Why it was selected / strengths

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Requires in-person attendance: qualifying exam, dissertation defense — plan for travel.
    • Tuition for this program is not published on the pages we checked.
    • Funding for distance students is not stated.
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
    Evidence for each criterion
    Documented research requirements (PhD)
    8 documented research or residency requirement(s).
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Published funding or student support
    1 named award.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    Required in person: qualifying exam, dissertation defense.
    Admissions clarity
    3 published requirements; GRE optional.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Computer Engineering (dedicated degree); 64 hours (with master's) or 96 hours (direct PhD).

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program
  5. Texas A&M University logo

    Texas A&M University

    Doctor of Philosophy in Petroleum Engineering (Online)

    Doctor of Philosophy in Petroleum Engineering · Petroleum Engineering · College Station, TX · Online coursework

    PhDFunding not verifiedFor a coursework-focused professional degreeFor engineers pursuing doctoral research

    Texas A&M University offers the Doctor of Philosophy in Petroleum Engineering (Online) (Doctor of Philosophy in Petroleum Engineering): online coursework; in person: dissertation defense, within 10 years (maximum time limit). Major: Petroleum Engineering (dedicated degree). Published options: dissertation. Required credits: 64-credit hour.

    Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified

    Practical training: Online coursework; required in person: dissertation defense

    Why it was selected / strengths

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Requires in-person attendance: dissertation defense — plan for travel.
    • Tuition for this program is not published on the pages we checked.
    • The GRE is required.
    • Funding for distance students is not stated.
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
    Evidence for each criterion
    Documented research requirements (PhD)
    5 documented research or residency requirement(s).
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    Required in person: dissertation defense.
    Admissions clarity
    2 published requirements; GRE required.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Petroleum Engineering (dedicated degree); 64-credit hour.

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program
  6. University of Alabama logo

    University of Alabama

    Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, Primarily Online

    Doctor of Philosophy in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics · Aerospace Engineering · Engineering Science · Tuscaloosa, AL · Online coursework

    PhDFunding not verifiedFor working engineersFor a coursework-focused professional degreeFor engineers pursuing doctoral research

    University of Alabama offers the Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, Primarily Online (Doctor of Philosophy in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics): online coursework; in person: dissertation defense, proctored exams, campus visit. Major: Aerospace Engineering, Engineering Science (dedicated degree). Published options: dissertation. Required credits: 60 Credit Hours. Estimated total tuition on our comparable basis is $28,800 (fees excluded).

    Tuition: $480 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,800 (60 credits × $480 per credit; fees excluded)

    Practical training: Online coursework; required in person: dissertation defense, proctored exams, campus visit

    Why it was selected / strengths

    • Estimated total tuition $28,800 (60 credits × $480 per credit; fees excluded).
    • Part-time study is offered.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Requires in-person attendance: dissertation defense, proctored exams, campus visit — plan for travel.
    • Funding for distance students is not stated.
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    Evidence for each criterion
    Documented research requirements (PhD)
    3 documented research or residency requirement(s).
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    Required in person: dissertation defense, proctored exams, campus visit.
    Admissions clarity
    5 published requirements; GRE optional.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Aerospace Engineering, Engineering Science (dedicated degree); 60 Credit Hours.

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program
  7. University of Alabama logo

    University of Alabama

    Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Mechanical Engineering Online

    Doctor of Philosophy in Mechanical Engineering · Mechanical Engineering · Tuscaloosa, AL · Online coursework

    PhDFunding not verifiedFor working engineersFor a coursework-focused professional degreeFor engineers pursuing doctoral research

    University of Alabama offers the Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Mechanical Engineering Online (Doctor of Philosophy in Mechanical Engineering): online coursework; in person: proctored exams, qualifying exam. Major: Mechanical Engineering (dedicated degree). Published options: dissertation. Required credits: 60 Credit Hours (42 coursework past the bachelor's + 18 dissertation research). Estimated total tuition on our comparable basis is $28,800 (fees excluded).

    Tuition: $480 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,800 (60 credits × $480 per credit; fees excluded)

    Practical training: Online coursework; required in person: proctored exams, qualifying exam

    Why it was selected / strengths

    • Estimated total tuition $28,800 (60 credits × $480 per credit; fees excluded).
    • The GRE is not required (stated).
    • Part-time study is offered.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Requires in-person attendance: proctored exams, qualifying exam — plan for travel.
    • Funding for distance students is not stated.
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    Evidence for each criterion
    Documented research requirements (PhD)
    4 documented research or residency requirement(s).
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    Required in person: proctored exams, qualifying exam.
    Admissions clarity
    3 published requirements; GRE waived.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Mechanical Engineering (dedicated degree); 60 Credit Hours (42 coursework past the bachelor's + 18 dissertation research).

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program
  8. University of North Dakota

    PhD in Chemical Engineering (Online)

    Doctor of Philosophy in Chemical Engineering · Chemical Engineering · Grand Forks, ND · Online coursework

    PhDFunding not verifiedFor working engineersFor a coursework-focused professional degreeFor engineers pursuing doctoral research

    University of North Dakota offers the PhD in Chemical Engineering (Online) (Doctor of Philosophy in Chemical Engineering): online coursework; in person: in-person research, 4-5 years. Major: Chemical Engineering (dedicated degree). Published options: dissertation. Required credits: A minimum of 90 semester credits, including acceptable master’s degree work and credits granted for the dissertation.

    Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified

    Practical training: Online coursework; required in person: in-person research

    Why it was selected / strengths

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Requires in-person attendance: in-person research — plan for travel.
    • Tuition for this program is not published on the pages we checked.
    • Funding for distance students is not stated.
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
    Evidence for each criterion
    Documented research requirements (PhD)
    5 documented research or residency requirement(s).
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    Required in person: in-person research.
    Admissions clarity
    1 published requirement; GRE optional.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Chemical Engineering (dedicated degree); A minimum of 90 semester credits, including acceptable master’s degree work and credits granted for the dissertation.

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program
  9. University of North Dakota

    PhD in Civil Engineering (Online)

    Doctor of Philosophy in Civil Engineering · Civil Engineering · Grand Forks, ND · Online coursework

    PhDFunding not verifiedFor working engineersFor a coursework-focused professional degreeFor engineers pursuing doctoral research

    University of North Dakota offers the PhD in Civil Engineering (Online) (Doctor of Philosophy in Civil Engineering): online coursework; in person: in-person research, 4 - 5 years. Major: Civil Engineering (dedicated degree). Published options: dissertation. Required credits: 90 credits beyond the baccalaureate.

    Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified

    Practical training: Online coursework; required in person: in-person research

    Why it was selected / strengths

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Requires in-person attendance: in-person research — plan for travel.
    • Tuition for this program is not published on the pages we checked.
    • Funding for distance students is not stated.
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
    Evidence for each criterion
    Documented research requirements (PhD)
    6 documented research or residency requirement(s).
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Published funding or student support
    1 named award.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    Required in person: in-person research.
    Admissions clarity
    1 published requirement; GRE optional.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Civil Engineering (dedicated degree); 90 credits beyond the baccalaureate.

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program
  10. University of North Dakota

    PhD in Electrical Engineering (Online)

    Doctor of Philosophy in Electrical Engineering · Electrical Engineering · Grand Forks, ND · Online coursework

    PhDFunding not verifiedFor working engineersFor a coursework-focused professional degreeFor engineers pursuing doctoral research

    University of North Dakota offers the PhD in Electrical Engineering (Online) (Doctor of Philosophy in Electrical Engineering): online coursework; in person: campus visit, dissertation defense, 4+ years. Major: Electrical Engineering (dedicated degree). Published options: dissertation.

    Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified

    Practical training: Online coursework; required in person: campus visit, dissertation defense

    Why it was selected / strengths

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Requires in-person attendance: campus visit, dissertation defense — plan for travel.
    • Tuition for this program is not published on the pages we checked.
    • The GRE is required.
    • Funding for distance students is not stated.
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
    Evidence for each criterion
    Documented research requirements (PhD)
    5 documented research or residency requirement(s).
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    Required in person: campus visit, dissertation defense.
    Admissions clarity
    1 published requirement; GRE required.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Electrical Engineering (dedicated degree); Dissertation.

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program
  11. University of North Dakota

    PhD in Environmental Engineering (Online)

    Doctor of Philosophy in Environmental Engineering · Environmental Engineering · Grand Forks, ND · Online coursework

    PhDFunding not verifiedFor working engineersFor a coursework-focused professional degreeFor engineers pursuing doctoral research

    University of North Dakota offers the PhD in Environmental Engineering (Online) (Doctor of Philosophy in Environmental Engineering): online coursework; in person: campus visit, dissertation defense, Up to 7 years. Major: Environmental Engineering (dedicated degree). Published options: dissertation. Required credits: minimum 90 semester credits.

    Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified

    Practical training: Online coursework; required in person: campus visit, dissertation defense

    Why it was selected / strengths

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Requires in-person attendance: campus visit, dissertation defense — plan for travel.
    • Tuition for this program is not published on the pages we checked.
    • Funding for distance students is not stated.
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
    Evidence for each criterion
    Documented research requirements (PhD)
    8 documented research or residency requirement(s).
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    Required in person: campus visit, dissertation defense.
    Admissions clarity
    1 published requirement; GRE optional.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Environmental Engineering (dedicated degree); minimum 90 semester credits.

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program
  12. University of North Dakota

    PhD in Petroleum Engineering (Online)

    Doctor of Philosophy in Petroleum Engineering · Petroleum Engineering · Grand Forks, ND · Online coursework

    PhDFunding not verifiedFor working engineersFor a coursework-focused professional degreeFor engineers pursuing doctoral research

    University of North Dakota offers the PhD in Petroleum Engineering (Online) (Doctor of Philosophy in Petroleum Engineering): online coursework; in person: campus visit, residency, dissertation defense, 4 years. Major: Petroleum Engineering (dedicated degree). Published options: dissertation. Required credits: A minimum of 90 semester credits, including acceptable master’s degree work and credits granted for the dissertation.

    Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified

    Practical training: Online coursework; required in person: campus visit, residency, dissertation defense

    Why it was selected / strengths

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Requires in-person attendance: campus visit, residency, dissertation defense — plan for travel.
    • Tuition for this program is not published on the pages we checked.
    • The GRE is required.
    • Funding for distance students is not stated.
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
    Evidence for each criterion
    Documented research requirements (PhD)
    6 documented research or residency requirement(s).
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    Required in person: campus visit, residency, dissertation defense.
    Admissions clarity
    2 published requirements; GRE required.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Petroleum Engineering (dedicated degree); A minimum of 90 semester credits, including acceptable master’s degree work and credits granted for the dissertation.

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program

Programs considered but not selected

13 eligible programs were considered and not selected because at least one criterion lacked verified evidence. The most common gaps: clear physical-attendance model (8), admissions clarity (8). Not selected does not mean worse: it can mean the school publishes less information, that its attendance requirements are not published, or that we have not verified it yet. See every program in the directory.

Schools can send official sources through the correction form. Evidence is re-checked; inclusion cannot be bought.