Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net

Editorial selection · not an official ranking

Best Online Mechanical Engineering Master's Programs

Online master's programs in mechanical engineering (including broad engineering degrees with a formally named mechanical concentration, labelled as such) that meet our master's criteria. Listed alphabetically; not an official ranking.

Methodology v1.0 · criteria and evidence rules · reviewed October 12, 2026 · 6 selected of 39 eligible programs considered

About this selection

Eligible degrees
Online master's degrees in one of the 22 directory majors (MS, MSE, MEng and discipline awards are treated as one degree level; each entry shows its exact award). Engineering Technology, hybrid programs, certificates, engineering management and systems engineering degrees are not eligible. Major: mechanical engineering.
Programs considered
39 published programs in our directory that match the eligibility above (master's level), mechanical engineering, online coursework only. Coverage is partial: programs not yet in the directory could not be considered.
Selection criteria
  • Verified discipline and structure. The program's official title (or a formally named concentration) places it in an engineering major, and its required credits or documented curriculum, thesis options or concentrations are published. A broad degree with a concentration is assessed as a concentration.
  • Clear physical-attendance model. The school either states that no physical attendance is required, or documents each required campus visit, lab session, residency, proctored exam or in-person research requirement.
  • Tuition transparency. Tuition is published on an official page with its basis (per credit, per term, per year or whole program) and the academic year it applies to, so the figure can be checked for currency.
  • Admissions clarity. The GRE policy is stated (required, optional, waivable or not required) and at least one further admission requirement is published (for example prior degree, GPA, mathematics prerequisites, references).
  • Source quality and freshness. Eligibility evidence and the facts above come from the school's own pages and were verified within the last 12 months.
Order
Alphabetical by school. Not numbered: we do not have comparable outcome data that would justify ordering.
Sponsorship
Paid placements never affect inclusion, order or assessment, and are never shown inside this list. Sponsorship disclosure
Sources
Official pages of each school, linked fact by fact on each program page; ABET accreditation from ABET's accredited-program database (shown, never scored); institutional accreditation from the U.S. Department of Education (DAPIP). Desk research only — we did not visit or interview programs.
Evidence limitations
Outcome figures (completion, licensure-exam pass rates, employment) are not used: programs report them for different periods, cohorts and examinations. Selection says nothing about licensure eligibility in your state.
  1. Missouri University of Science and Technology logo

    Missouri University of Science and Technology

    Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

    Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering · Mechanical Engineering · Rolla, MO · Fully online (stated)

    Master's Fully onlineFor working engineersFor applicants who cannot travel to campusFor applicants who want a research option

    Missouri University of Science and Technology offers the Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online) (Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering): fully online (stated), about three years (typical, taking 1-2 courses a semester). Major: Mechanical Engineering (dedicated degree). Published options: thesis, non-thesis. Required credits: 30 credit hours (non-thesis track). Estimated total tuition on our comparable basis is $28,500 (fees excluded).

    Tuition: $950 per credit · All students — Mechanical Engineering and Aerospace Engineering online programs · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $28,500 (30 credits × $950 per credit; fees excluded)

    Practical training: Fully online (stated)

    Why it was selected / strengths

    • The school states the degree can be completed with no physical attendance.
    • Thesis and non-thesis options are both published.
    • Estimated total tuition $28,500 (30 credits × $950 per credit; fees excluded).
    • Part-time study is offered.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • The GRE is required.
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    Evidence for each criterion
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    The school states no physical attendance is required.
    Tuition transparency
    Tuition published with its academic year (2026-2027; 2 verified rates).
    Admissions clarity
    7 published requirements; GRE required.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Mechanical Engineering (dedicated degree); 30 credit hours (non-thesis track).

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program
  2. Penn State World Campus logo

    Penn State World Campus

    Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

    Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering · Mechanical Engineering · University Park, PA · Fully online (stated)

    Master's Fully onlineFor applicants who cannot travel to campusFor a coursework-focused professional degree

    Penn State World Campus offers the Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online) (Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering): fully online (stated). Major: Mechanical Engineering (dedicated degree). Published options: non-thesis, project. Required credits: 32-credit. Estimated total tuition on our comparable basis is $37,344 (fees excluded).

    Tuition: $1,167 per credit · All students — 2026-27, 11 or fewer credits per semester · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $37,344 (32 credits × $1,167 per credit; fees excluded)

    Practical training: Fully online (stated)

    Why it was selected / strengths

    • The school states the degree can be completed with no physical attendance.
    • Estimated total tuition $37,344 (32 credits × $1,167 per credit; fees excluded).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
    Evidence for each criterion
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    The school states no physical attendance is required.
    Tuition transparency
    Tuition published with its academic year (2026-2027, 2027-2028; 2 verified rates).
    Admissions clarity
    4 published requirements; GRE optional.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Mechanical Engineering (dedicated degree); 32-credit.

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program
  3. University of Idaho logo

    University of Idaho

    Mechanical Engineering, M.Engr. (online through Engineering Outreach)

    Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering · Mechanical Engineering · Moscow, ID · Online coursework

    Master'sFor a coursework-focused professional degree

    University of Idaho offers the Mechanical Engineering, M.Engr. (online through Engineering Outreach) (Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering): online coursework; in person: proctored exams. Major: Mechanical Engineering (dedicated degree). Published options: project. Required credits: 30-credit non-thesis program. Estimated total tuition on our comparable basis is $19,650 (fees excluded).

    Tuition: $655 per credit · Online students — Graduate, registered for all online courses only, part-time (1-8 credits), Idaho residents and out-of-state · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $19,650 (30 credits × $655 per credit; fees excluded)

    Practical training: Online coursework; required in person: proctored exams

    Why it was selected / strengths

    • Estimated total tuition $19,650 (30 credits × $655 per credit; fees excluded).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Requires in-person attendance: proctored exams — plan for travel.
    • The GRE is required.
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
    Evidence for each criterion
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    Required in person: proctored exams.
    Tuition transparency
    Tuition published with its academic year (2026-2027; 2 verified rates).
    Admissions clarity
    6 published requirements; GRE required.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Mechanical Engineering (dedicated degree); 30-credit non-thesis program.

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program
  4. University of Southern California logo

    University of Southern California

    Master of Science in Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering (Dynamics and Control) (DEN@Viterbi online)

    Master of Science in Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering (Dynamics and Control) · Aerospace Engineering · Mechanical Engineering · Los Angeles, CA · Fully online (stated)

    Master's Fully onlineFor working engineersFor applicants who cannot travel to campusFor applicants who want a research option

    University of Southern California offers the Master of Science in Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering (Dynamics and Control) (DEN@Viterbi online) (Master of Science in Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering (Dynamics and Control)): fully online (stated), 1 1⁄2 – 2 years (full-time); 2 1⁄2 – 3 years (part-time) (full-time enrollment). Major: Aerospace Engineering, Mechanical Engineering (dedicated degree). Published options: non-thesis, thesis. Required credits: 27 units of coursework. Estimated total tuition on our comparable basis is $74,034 (fees excluded).

    Tuition: $2,742 per credit · All students — Viterbi graduate tuition per unit (same for on-campus and online) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $74,034 (27 credits × $2,742 per credit; fees excluded)

    Practical training: Fully online (stated)

    Why it was selected / strengths

    • The school states the degree can be completed with no physical attendance.
    • Thesis and non-thesis options are both published.
    • Estimated total tuition $74,034 (27 credits × $2,742 per credit; fees excluded).
    • The GRE is not required (stated).
    • Part-time study is offered.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    Evidence for each criterion
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    The school states no physical attendance is required.
    Tuition transparency
    Tuition published with its academic year (2026-2027; 1 verified rate).
    Admissions clarity
    6 published requirements; GRE not required.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Aerospace Engineering, Mechanical Engineering (dedicated degree); 27 units of coursework.

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program
  5. University of Southern California logo

    University of Southern California

    Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (DEN@Viterbi online)

    Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering · Mechanical Engineering · Los Angeles, CA · Fully online (stated)

    Master's Fully onlineFor working engineersFor applicants who cannot travel to campusFor applicants who want a research option

    University of Southern California offers the Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering (DEN@Viterbi online) (Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering): fully online (stated), 1 1⁄2 – 2 years (full-time); 2 1⁄2 – 3 years (part-time) (full-time enrollment). Major: Mechanical Engineering (dedicated degree). Published options: non-thesis, thesis. Required credits: 27 units. Estimated total tuition on our comparable basis is $74,034 (fees excluded).

    Tuition: $2,742 per credit · All students — Viterbi graduate tuition per unit (same for on-campus and online) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $74,034 (27 credits × $2,742 per credit; fees excluded)

    Practical training: Fully online (stated)

    Why it was selected / strengths

    • The school states the degree can be completed with no physical attendance.
    • Thesis and non-thesis options are both published.
    • Estimated total tuition $74,034 (27 credits × $2,742 per credit; fees excluded).
    • The GRE is not required (stated).
    • Part-time study is offered.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    Evidence for each criterion
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    The school states no physical attendance is required.
    Tuition transparency
    Tuition published with its academic year (2026-2027; 1 verified rate).
    Admissions clarity
    4 published requirements; GRE not required.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Mechanical Engineering (dedicated degree); 27 units.

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program
  6. Virginia Tech logo

    Virginia Tech

    Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

    Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering · Mechanical Engineering · Blacksburg, VA · Online coursework

    Master'sFor working engineersFor a coursework-focused professional degree

    Virginia Tech offers the Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering (Online) (Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering): online coursework; in person: orientation. Major: Mechanical Engineering (dedicated degree). Published options: coursework only. Required credits: minimum of 30 credit hours. Estimated total tuition on our comparable basis is $59,902.50 (fees excluded).

    Tuition: $1,027 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Extended or Virtual Campus, Tuition - Virginia Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $59,902.50 (30 credits × $1,996.75 per credit; fees excluded)

    Practical training: Online coursework; required in person: orientation

    Why it was selected / strengths

    • Estimated total tuition $59,902.50 (30 credits × $1,996.75 per credit; fees excluded).
    • Part-time study is offered.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Requires in-person attendance: orientation — plan for travel.
    Evidence for each criterion
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    Required in person: orientation.
    Tuition transparency
    Tuition published with its academic year (2026-2027; 2 verified rates).
    Admissions clarity
    4 published requirements; GRE optional.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Mechanical Engineering (dedicated degree); minimum of 30 credit hours.

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program

Programs considered but not selected

33 eligible programs were considered and not selected because at least one criterion lacked verified evidence. The most common gaps: tuition transparency (20), clear physical-attendance model (18), admissions clarity (11). Not selected does not mean worse: it can mean the school publishes less information, that its attendance requirements are not published, or that we have not verified it yet. See every program in the directory.

Schools can send official sources through the correction form. Evidence is re-checked; inclusion cannot be bought.