Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net

Editorial selection · not an official ranking

Best Online Electrical Engineering Master's Programs

Online master's programs in electrical (and electrical and computer) engineering that meet our master's criteria. Listed alphabetically; not an official ranking.

Methodology v1.0 · criteria and evidence rules · reviewed October 12, 2026 · 5 selected of 38 eligible programs considered

About this selection

Eligible degrees
Online master's degrees in one of the 22 directory majors (MS, MSE, MEng and discipline awards are treated as one degree level; each entry shows its exact award). Engineering Technology, hybrid programs, certificates, engineering management and systems engineering degrees are not eligible. Major: electrical engineering.
Programs considered
38 published programs in our directory that match the eligibility above (master's level), electrical engineering, online coursework only. Coverage is partial: programs not yet in the directory could not be considered.
Selection criteria
  • Verified discipline and structure. The program's official title (or a formally named concentration) places it in an engineering major, and its required credits or documented curriculum, thesis options or concentrations are published. A broad degree with a concentration is assessed as a concentration.
  • Clear physical-attendance model. The school either states that no physical attendance is required, or documents each required campus visit, lab session, residency, proctored exam or in-person research requirement.
  • Tuition transparency. Tuition is published on an official page with its basis (per credit, per term, per year or whole program) and the academic year it applies to, so the figure can be checked for currency.
  • Admissions clarity. The GRE policy is stated (required, optional, waivable or not required) and at least one further admission requirement is published (for example prior degree, GPA, mathematics prerequisites, references).
  • Source quality and freshness. Eligibility evidence and the facts above come from the school's own pages and were verified within the last 12 months.
Order
Alphabetical by school. Not numbered: we do not have comparable outcome data that would justify ordering.
Sponsorship
Paid placements never affect inclusion, order or assessment, and are never shown inside this list. Sponsorship disclosure
Sources
Official pages of each school, linked fact by fact on each program page; ABET accreditation from ABET's accredited-program database (shown, never scored); institutional accreditation from the U.S. Department of Education (DAPIP). Desk research only — we did not visit or interview programs.
Evidence limitations
Outcome figures (completion, licensure-exam pass rates, employment) are not used: programs report them for different periods, cohorts and examinations. Selection says nothing about licensure eligibility in your state.
  1. Florida Atlantic University logo

    Florida Atlantic University

    Master of Science with Major in Electrical Engineering (Online)

    Master of Science with Major in Electrical Engineering · Electrical Engineering · Boca Raton, FL · Fully online (stated)

    Master's Fully onlineFor applicants who cannot travel to campusFor applicants from other STEM backgrounds (bridge courses published)For applicants who want a research option

    Florida Atlantic University offers the Master of Science with Major in Electrical Engineering (Online) (Master of Science with Major in Electrical Engineering): fully online (stated). Major: Electrical Engineering (dedicated degree). Published options: thesis, non-thesis. Required credits: 30 credits (thesis or non-thesis option). Estimated total tuition on our comparable basis is $33,751.80 (fees excluded).

    Tuition: $371.82 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Grad - Resident, total per credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $33,751.80 (30 credits × $1,125.06 per credit; fees excluded)

    Practical training: Fully online (stated)

    Why it was selected / strengths

    • The school states the degree can be completed with no physical attendance.
    • Thesis and non-thesis options are both published.
    • Estimated total tuition $33,751.80 (30 credits × $1,125.06 per credit; fees excluded).
    • The GRE is not required (stated).

    Tradeoffs to check

    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
    Evidence for each criterion
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    The school states no physical attendance is required.
    Tuition transparency
    Tuition published with its academic year (2026-2027; 2 verified rates).
    Admissions clarity
    4 published requirements; GRE not required.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Electrical Engineering (dedicated degree); 30 credits (thesis or non-thesis option).

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program
  2. Kansas State University logo

    Kansas State University

    Electrical and Computer Engineering Master's Degree (Online)

    Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering · Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering · Manhattan, KS · Online coursework

    Master's

    Kansas State University offers the Electrical and Computer Engineering Master's Degree (Online) (Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering): online coursework; in person: campus visit. Major: Electrical Engineering, Computer Engineering (dedicated degree). Required credits: 30 total hours required.

    Tuition: $11,142 per academic year · All students — Graduate Online Annual Estimate 2026-2027, Manhattan Online: estimated tuition and mandatory fees for an academic year (calculated at 18 credit hours per year) · 2026-2027

    Practical training: Online coursework; required in person: campus visit

    Why it was selected / strengths

    Tradeoffs to check

    • Requires in-person attendance: campus visit — plan for travel.
    • Tuition is published, but not on a basis that allows a total-cost estimate (fees excluded).
    • The GRE is required.
    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    • Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
    Evidence for each criterion
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    Required in person: campus visit.
    Tuition transparency
    Tuition published with its academic year (2026-2027; 1 verified rate).
    Admissions clarity
    6 published requirements; GRE required.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Electrical Engineering, Computer Engineering (dedicated degree); 30 total hours required.

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program
  3. Penn State World Campus logo

    Penn State World Campus

    Master of Engineering in Electrical Engineering (Online)

    Master of Engineering in Electrical Engineering · Electrical Engineering · University Park, PA · Fully online (stated)

    Master's Fully onlineFor working engineersFor applicants who cannot travel to campusFor applicants from other STEM backgrounds (bridge courses published)For a coursework-focused professional degree

    Penn State World Campus offers the Master of Engineering in Electrical Engineering (Online) (Master of Engineering in Electrical Engineering): fully online (stated), within two years (part-time, two courses a semester). Major: Electrical Engineering (dedicated degree). Published options: non-thesis, project. Required credits: 30 Credits. Estimated total tuition on our comparable basis is $31,440 (fees excluded).

    Tuition: $1,048 per credit · All students — 2026-27, 11 or fewer credits per semester · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $31,440 (30 credits × $1,048 per credit; fees excluded)

    Practical training: Fully online (stated)

    Why it was selected / strengths

    • The school states the degree can be completed with no physical attendance.
    • Estimated total tuition $31,440 (30 credits × $1,048 per credit; fees excluded).
    • Part-time study is offered.

    Tradeoffs to check

    None identified in the official information we checked.

    Evidence for each criterion
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    The school states no physical attendance is required.
    Tuition transparency
    Tuition published with its academic year (2026-2027, 2027-2028; 3 verified rates).
    Admissions clarity
    5 published requirements; GRE optional.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Electrical Engineering (dedicated degree); 30 Credits.

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program
  4. University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

    University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

    Master of Engineering in Electrical & Computer Engineering (Online)

    Master of Engineering in Electrical & Computer Engineering · Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering · Champaign, IL · Fully online (stated)

    Master's Fully onlineFor working engineersFor applicants who cannot travel to campusFor a coursework-focused professional degree

    University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign offers the Master of Engineering in Electrical & Computer Engineering (Online) (Master of Engineering in Electrical & Computer Engineering): fully online (stated), many students complete the program in 18-24 months; part-time students can take up to 5 years (typical completion). Major: Electrical Engineering, Computer Engineering (dedicated degree). Published options: non-thesis. Required credits: 32 credit hours. Estimated total tuition on our comparable basis is $38,240 (fees excluded).

    Tuition: $1,195 per credit · All students — Online students, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027 · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $38,240 (32 credits × $1,195 per credit; fees excluded)

    Practical training: Fully online (stated)

    Why it was selected / strengths

    • The school states the degree can be completed with no physical attendance.
    • Estimated total tuition $38,240 (32 credits × $1,195 per credit; fees excluded).
    • Part-time study is offered.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    Evidence for each criterion
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Published funding or student support
    1 named award.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    The school states no physical attendance is required.
    Tuition transparency
    Tuition published with its academic year (2026-2027; 1 verified rate).
    Admissions clarity
    2 published requirements; GRE optional.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Electrical Engineering, Computer Engineering (dedicated degree); 32 credit hours.

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program
  5. University of Southern California logo

    University of Southern California

    Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering (DEN@Viterbi online)

    Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering · Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering · Los Angeles, CA · Fully online (stated)

    Master's Fully onlineFor working engineersFor applicants who cannot travel to campusFor applicants who want a research option

    University of Southern California offers the Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering (DEN@Viterbi online) (Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering): fully online (stated), 1 1⁄2 – 2 years (full-time); 2 1⁄2 – 3 years (part-time) (full-time enrollment). Major: Electrical Engineering, Computer Engineering (dedicated degree). Published options: non-thesis, thesis. Required credits: 28 units. Estimated total tuition on our comparable basis is $76,776 (fees excluded).

    Tuition: $2,742 per credit · All students — Viterbi graduate tuition per unit (same for on-campus and online) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $76,776 (28 credits × $2,742 per credit; fees excluded)

    Practical training: Fully online (stated)

    Why it was selected / strengths

    • The school states the degree can be completed with no physical attendance.
    • Thesis and non-thesis options are both published.
    • Estimated total tuition $76,776 (28 credits × $2,742 per credit; fees excluded).
    • The GRE is not required (stated).
    • Part-time study is offered.

    Tradeoffs to check

    • No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
    Evidence for each criterion
    Source quality and freshness
    Eligibility and facts verified on official pages; last verified 2026-10-12.
    Clear physical-attendance model
    The school states no physical attendance is required.
    Tuition transparency
    Tuition published with its academic year (2026-2027; 1 verified rate).
    Admissions clarity
    4 published requirements; GRE not required.
    Verified discipline and structure
    Electrical Engineering, Computer Engineering (dedicated degree); 28 units.

    Each fact links to its official source on the program page. Reviewed October 12, 2026.

    View Program

Programs considered but not selected

33 eligible programs were considered and not selected because at least one criterion lacked verified evidence. The most common gaps: clear physical-attendance model (21), tuition transparency (19), admissions clarity (9). Not selected does not mean worse: it can mean the school publishes less information, that its attendance requirements are not published, or that we have not verified it yet. See every program in the directory.

Schools can send official sources through the correction form. Evidence is re-checked; inclusion cannot be bought.