Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Florida Atlantic University logo

Florida Atlantic University · Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Master of Science with Major in Electrical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science with Major in Electrical Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Master'sMSEE Fully online

Overview

A 30-credit MS in Electrical Engineering with thesis and non-thesis options that can be completed on campus or fully online. Applicants need a 3.0 GPA in the last 60 undergraduate credits; the GRE is not required, and applicants without an EE bachelor's take prerequisite courses first.

Official program name
Master of Science with Major in Electrical Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Science with Major in Electrical Engineering
Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Boca Raton, FLWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Thesis · Non-thesis
Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
30 credits (thesis or non-thesis option)
Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

MS in Electrical Engineering that the department says can be completed fully online.

Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
No required physical attendance (stated by the institution)
Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Thesis

  • Thesis option: 6 credits of orally defended thesis (format of defense not stated).
    Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

  • Specialization areas include telecommunications, digital signal processing, systems and robotics, electromagnetics and RF, alternative energy systems, bioengineering, neural networks, and optics and photonics.
    Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Non-thesis: 30 credits of approved coursework, minimum 18 credits at the 6000 level and 18 credits in EE, plus zero-credit graduate seminar.
    Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum GPA of 3.0 (4.0 scale) in the last 60 credits of undergraduate work
Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Bridge / leveling courses
RequiredApplicants without a bachelor's in electrical engineering choose four prerequisite courses (12 credits), including EEL 3118L and EEL 3502, completed before graduate courses.
Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts from previous institutions
Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredStudents with engineering technology degrees must first satisfy FAU EE undergraduate graduation requirements.
Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 79International students from non-English-speaking countries; 79 internet-based (500 paper, 213 computer).
Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Optional — minimum 6Accepted alternative to TOEFL.
Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Grad - Resident, total per credit hourFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$371.82per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesEstimated tuition$11,154.60 = 30 credits × $371.82 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Grad - Non Resident, total per credit hourFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,125.06per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesEstimated tuition$33,751.80 = 30 credits × $1,125.06 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $33,751.80 (30 credits × $1,125.06 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Grad - Non Resident, total per credit hour, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Distance Learning fee (online course sections)
$30 per creditMandatory
Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Graduate Student Orientation Fee (first semester)
$35Mandatory
Source: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Florida Atlantic University has been approved by the state of Florida and is an active member in the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements. Official pageSource: fau.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. fau.edu/controllers-office/student-services/tuition-breakdown/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. fau.edu/engineering/eecs/graduate/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. fau.edu/engineering/eecs/graduate/ms/electrical/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. fau.edu/engineering/eecs/graduate/ms/electrical/admiss-reqs/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. fau.edu/engineering/eecs/graduate/ms/electrical/degree-reqs/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. fau.edu/engineering/eecs/pdf/ms-in-electrical-engineering-program-sheet-6-2025.pdf — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. fau.edu/online/state-authorization-and-accreditation/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Florida first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Florida logo

University of Florida

Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering (Online, UF EDGE)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Gainesville, FLSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: as little as 24 months (UF EDGE master's degrees generally) · 30 credits
Tuition: $448.73 per credit · Resident (in-state) — EDGE-Florida Residents, tuition per credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $20,700 (30 credits × $690 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of Central Florida

Master of Science in Electrical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Master'sMSEE Fully online
Location: Orlando, FLSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $327.32 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In State Tuition (UCF Online program page) · year not statedEst. total tuition $37,024.50 (30 credits × $1,234.15 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Kansas State University logo

Kansas State University

Electrical and Computer Engineering Master's Degree (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Manhattan, KSSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: campus visit
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $11,142 per academic year · All students — Graduate Online Annual Estimate 2026-2027, Manhattan Online: estimated tuition and mandatory fees for an academic year (calculated at 18 credit hours per year) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Florida Atlantic University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.