Nuclear engineering covers reactor physics and design, radiation detection and protection, nuclear materials, thermal hydraulics and nuclear fuel cycles.
Rule: Included when the program's official title names nuclear engineering, or when a broad engineering degree has a formally named nuclear engineering concentration (labelled as a concentration). Online coursework is required; Engineering Technology degrees are listed separately. This page updates from the directory's verified facts.
General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Nuclear Engineering
Master'sMEngConcentration
Location: Raleigh, NCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: must be completed within six years (maximum time limit) · 30 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate - Engineering Online, Engineering Education, Residents of North Carolina, 1 credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $54,123.30 (30 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Location: Raleigh, NCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: proctored exams
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate - Engineering Online, Engineering Education, Residents of North Carolina, 1 credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $54,123.30 (30 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Nuclear Engineering
Nuclear Engineering
Master'sMEng
Location: University Park, PASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Duration: One to Two Years (3-4 courses each semester) to Three to Four Years (1 course each semester) (depends on courses per semester) · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,167 per credit · All students — 2026-27, 11 or fewer credits per semester · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $35,010 (30 credits × $1,167 per credit; fees excluded)
Location: West Lafayette, INSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,139 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident of Indiana · year not statedEst. total tuition $43,770 (30 credits × $1,459 per credit; fees excluded)
Awarded degree: Master of Science (MS) or Master of Science in Engineering (MSE), major Interdisciplinary Engineering
General engineering · concentrations: Aeronautics and Astronautics, Biomedical Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Materials Engineering, Nuclear Engineering
Master'sMS/MSEConcentration
Location: West Lafayette, INSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,139 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident of Indiana · year not statedEst. total tuition $43,770 (30 credits × $1,459 per credit; fees excluded)
Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Nuclear Engineering
Nuclear Engineering
Master'sMEng
Location: College Station, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Awarded degree: Master of Science in Nuclear Engineering
Nuclear Engineering
Master'sMS
Location: College Station, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Nuclear Engineering
Nuclear Engineering
Master'sM.E.
Location: Columbia, SCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $572.25 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Resident (part-time, per credit hour) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $37,200 (30 credits × $1,240 per credit; fees excluded)
Awarded degree: Master of Science in Nuclear Engineering
Nuclear Engineering
Master'sM.S.
Location: Columbia, SCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $572.25 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Resident (part-time, per credit hour) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $37,200 (30 credits × $1,240 per credit; fees excluded)
Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Nuclear Engineering
Nuclear Engineering
PhDFunding not verified
Location: Columbia, SCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $572.25 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Resident (part-time, per credit hour) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $74,400 (60 credits × $1,240 per credit; fees excluded)
Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Nuclear Engineering
Nuclear Engineering
Master'sMEng
Location: Blacksburg, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,027 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Extended or Virtual Campus, Tuition - Virginia Resident · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $59,902.50 (30 credits × $1,996.75 per credit; fees excluded)
Reactor and radiation laboratories limit online undergraduate options; online graduate study is available at several universities.
Accreditation and licensure
Every school listed holds institutional accreditation from a recognized agency. ABET accredits programs, mostly bachelor's degrees; graduate programs are rarely ABET-accredited and that is not a mark against them. Professional Engineer licensure is decided by each state board. Licensure and online degrees
Admissions: what these programs publish
Prior degree requirements — usually a bachelor's in engineering or a closely related field for graduate programs.
Minimum GPA, as published on the program or graduate school page.
Mathematics and science prerequisites (calculus, differential equations, physics).
GRE policy, references, statement and English-language requirements are shown per program; unpublished items stay “not verified”.