Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net

Online Chemical Engineering Degrees and Programs

Chemical engineering applies chemistry, physics, biology and mathematics to the design and operation of processes that transform materials and energy — reaction engineering, transport phenomena, thermodynamics and process control.

Rule: Included when the program's official title names chemical engineering, or when a broad engineering degree has a formally named chemical engineering concentration (labelled as a concentration). Online coursework is required; Engineering Technology degrees are listed separately. This page updates from the directory's verified facts.

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking. What we list

14

verified online programs

3

fully online (stated)

2

are concentrations of a broad degree

1

matched to a current ABET accreditation

Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Science in Chemical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Chemical Engineering

Chemical Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Auburn, ALSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: as little as two years or as long as six years (depending on the course load taken) · 30 credits
Tuition: $949 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,470 (30 credits × $949 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Columbia University logo

Columbia University

MS in Chemical Engineering (Online, CVN)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Chemical Engineering

Chemical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: New York, NYSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: anywhere from one-and-a-half years to five years, depending on how many courses you take each semester (depends on course load) · 30 credits
Tuition: $2,822 per credit · All students — CVN Credit Tuition · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Johns Hopkins University logo

Johns Hopkins University

Master of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (Online, Part-Time)

Awarded degree: Master of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Chemical Engineering

Master'sMaster's
Location: Baltimore, MDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: within five years (maximum time to complete the ten courses)
Tuition: $5,620 per course · All students — Engineering for Professionals graduate (600-level and higher) course, after Dean's support · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Kansas State University logo

Kansas State University

Chemical Engineering Master's Degree (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Chemical Engineering

Chemical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Manhattan, KSSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: campus visit
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $11,142 per academic year · All students — Graduate Online Annual Estimate 2026-2027, Manhattan Online: estimated tuition and mandatory fees for an academic year (calculated at 18 credit hours per year) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Mississippi State University logo

Mississippi State University

Master of Science in Chemical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Chemical Engineering

Chemical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Mississippi State, MSSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 31 credits
Tuition: $602.50 per credit · All students — Online tuition per credit hour (in-state rate for all online students) · year not statedEst. total tuition $18,677.50 (31 credits × $602.50 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

Master of Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Nuclear Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration
Location: Raleigh, NCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: must be completed within six years (maximum time limit) · 30 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate - Engineering Online, Engineering Education, Residents of North Carolina, 1 credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $54,123.30 (30 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

Master of Science in Chemical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Chemical Engineering

Chemical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Raleigh, NCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: proctored exams
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate Engineering Online - Chemical Engineering, Residents of North Carolina, 1 credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $54,123.30 (30 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas Tech University logo

Texas Tech University

Online Master of Science in Chemical Engineering

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Chemical Engineering

Chemical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Lubbock, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: some students finish in four terms taking two or three courses each semester, including summer (two or three courses per semester including summer) · 30 credits
Tuition: $2,500 per course · All students — Estimate per three-credit online graduate engineering course · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Houston logo

University of Houston

Online Master of Chemical Engineering (UH Extend)

Awarded degree: Master of Chemical Engineering

Chemical Engineering

Master'sMChE Fully online
Location: Houston, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $745 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $22,350 (30 credits × $745 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Engineering in Engineering (online concentrations)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Chemical Engineering Leadership, Aerospace Systems Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration
Location: Champaign, ILSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: $1,195 per credit · All students — Online students, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027 · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of North Dakota

Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering

Chemical Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC · online not listedTransfer entry
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Partly on campus · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: summer lab session
Duration: can be completed in four years (transfer credits or part-time study may change the time) · 130 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of North Dakota

Master of Science or Master of Engineering in Chemical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Chemical Engineering / Master of Engineering in Chemical Engineering

Chemical Engineering

Master'sMS/MEng
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: 1-2 years · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of North Dakota

PhD in Chemical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Chemical Engineering

Chemical Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Partly on campus · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: in-person research
Duration: 4-5 years · 90 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Southern California logo

University of Southern California

Master of Science in Chemical Engineering (DEN@Viterbi online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Chemical Engineering

Chemical Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Los Angeles, CASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 1 1⁄2 – 2 years (full-time); 2 1⁄2 – 3 years (part-time) (full-time enrollment) · 28 credits
Tuition: $2,742 per credit · All students — Viterbi graduate tuition per unit (same for on-campus and online) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $76,776 (28 credits × $2,742 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Attendance and labs

Unit-operations laboratories are a standard part of undergraduate chemical engineering, which is one reason fully online chemical engineering bachelor's degrees are rare; online graduate study is more common.

Accreditation and licensure

Every school listed holds institutional accreditation from a recognized agency. ABET accredits programs, mostly bachelor's degrees; graduate programs are rarely ABET-accredited and that is not a mark against them. Professional Engineer licensure is decided by each state board. Licensure and online degrees

Admissions: what these programs publish

  • Prior degree requirements — usually a bachelor's in engineering or a closely related field for graduate programs.
  • Minimum GPA, as published on the program or graduate school page.
  • Mathematics and science prerequisites (calculus, differential equations, physics).
  • Bridge or leveling courses for applicants without the expected background.
  • GRE policy, references, statement and English-language requirements are shown per program; unpublished items stay “not verified”.

Related