Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign · The Grainger College of Engineering

Master of Engineering in Engineering (online concentrations)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Chemical Engineering Leadership, Aerospace Systems Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration

Overview

The Master of Engineering in Engineering is a professionally oriented, non-doctoral-track degree in which students choose a concentration at application. Concentrations offered online include Chemical Engineering Leadership (34 hours), Aerospace Systems Engineering (32 hours), Digital Agriculture and Energy Systems. The Chemical Engineering Leadership curriculum includes two-day in-person workshops.

Official program name
Master of Engineering in Engineering (online concentrations)
Awarded degree
Master of Engineering in Engineering
Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Concentration within a broad engineering degreeThe degree awarded is the broad engineering degree shown above; the concentration is a formally named option within it, not a separately awarded discipline degree.
Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Champaign, ILWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Formal concentrations
Chemical Engineering Leadership · Aerospace Systems Engineering · Digital Agriculture · Energy Systems
Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Thesis / non-thesis
Not verified
Required credits
Not verified
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Broad MEng in Engineering whose concentrations are chosen at application; the Chemical Engineering Leadership and Aerospace Systems Engineering concentrations map to directory majors and are offered online.

Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Online scope not verified
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Intensive Not verified

    Chemical Engineering Leadership concentration: two special-topic courses include two-day in-person workshops (Fall and Spring). The pages do not say whether online students are exempt.

    Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Proctored exams Required

    Online students submit proposed proctor information each semester.

    Source: grainger.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Capstone
RequiredAerospace Systems Engineering concentration: capstone project instead of a thesis.
Source: aerospace.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Chemical Engineering Leadership: 34 credit hours for students with a Chemical Engineering BS; others take three additional 400-level core courses (11 hours).
    Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Aerospace Systems Engineering concentration: 32 total hours.
    Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's or master's degree in engineering or related sciences
Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — 3.00 (A = 4.00) for the last two years of undergraduate study
Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Programming background
RequiredDigital Agriculture concentration: prerequisite coursework or experience in object-oriented programming, data structures, algorithms, linear algebra and statistics/probability, or a proctored Data Structures Proficiency exam.
Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Chemical Engineering Leadership concentration: 3 letters of recommendation
Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
OptionalStated for the Chemical Engineering Leadership concentration; the Digital Agriculture concentration states GRE scores are not required.
Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Online students, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027From the university's online tuition table$1,195per credit · 2026-2027Source: grainger.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other published fees

Online Service Fee
$4 per creditMandatory
Source: grainger.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Illinois.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. aerospace.illinois.edu/academics/graduate/ms-degree-program/meng-degree — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.illinois.edu/graduate/engineering/chemical-engineering-leadership-meng/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. catalog.illinois.edu/graduate/engineering/engineering-meng/aerospace-systems/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  4. catalog.illinois.edu/graduate/engineering/engineering-meng/digital-agriculture/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  5. catalog.illinois.edu/graduate/engineering/engineering-meng/energy-systems/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  6. catalog.illinois.edu/graduate/meng-engineering/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  7. grainger.illinois.edu/academics/online/how-it-works — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. grainger.illinois.edu/academics/online/tuition-funding — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Illinois first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Engineering (Interdisciplinary) (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online
Location: Auburn, ALSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: as little as two years or as long as six years (depending on the course load taken) · 30 credits
Tuition: $949 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,470 (30 credits × $949 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Liberty University logo

Liberty University

Master of Engineering (MEng) Online

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering (MEng)

General Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online
Location: Lynchburg, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $600 per credit · All students — Graduate Full Time · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $18,000 (30 credits × $600 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Mississippi State University logo

Mississippi State University

Master of Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentration: General Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration
Location: Mississippi State, MSSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $602.50 per credit · All students — Online tuition per credit hour (in-state rate for all online students) · year not statedEst. total tuition $18,075 (30 credits × $602.50 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.