Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign · Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering

Master of Engineering in Electrical & Computer Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Electrical & Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online

Overview

The online MEng in Electrical & Computer Engineering is a 32-credit, non-thesis professional degree delivered asynchronously. The department states all requirements can be completed entirely online; optional campus visit days are offered.

Official program name
Master of Engineering in Electrical & Computer Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Engineering in Electrical & Computer Engineering
Source: ece.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: ece.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: ece.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: ece.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Champaign, ILWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Non-thesis
Source: catalog.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
32 credit hours
Source: ece.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
many students complete the program in 18-24 months; part-time students can take up to 5 years (typical completion)
Source: ece.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Spring, Fall
Source: ece.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

MEng in Electrical & Computer Engineering offered 100% online.

Source: ece.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: ece.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: ece.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
No required physical attendance (stated by the institution)
Source: ece.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: ece.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Part-time
Source: ece.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • Campus visit Optional

    Optional Campus Connection Days for online students.

    Source: ece.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Proctored exams Required

    Online students submit proposed proctor information each semester.

    Source: grainger.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • 18 hours of required ECE coursework, 4 hours of professional development coursework and 10 hours of electives.
    Source: ece.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree in ECE or a related field
Source: ece.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum 3.0 GPA (4.0 scale)
Source: ece.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
OptionalNot required, but preferred.
Source: ece.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredInternational students only; IELTS also accepted.
Source: ece.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    November 1 · for Spring 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ece.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    August 1 · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ece.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Online students, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027From the university's online tuition table$1,195per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$38,240 = 32 credits × $1,195 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: grainger.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $38,240 (32 credits × $1,195 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Online students, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Online Service Fee
$4 per creditMandatory
Source: grainger.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

  • Self-funded program Other fundingStated for all eligible studentsNot open to distance students (stated)

    Eligibility: Students are not eligible for tuition-waiver-generating assistantships.

    Source: ece.illinois.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Illinois.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.illinois.edu/graduate/engineering/electrical-computer-engineering-meng/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. ece.illinois.edu/academics/grad/meng-online — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. ece.illinois.edu/admissions/graduate/meng-degree — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. grainger.illinois.edu/academics/online/how-it-works — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. grainger.illinois.edu/academics/online/tuition-funding — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Illinois first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Kansas State University logo

Kansas State University

Electrical and Computer Engineering Master's Degree (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Manhattan, KSSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: campus visit
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $11,142 per academic year · All students — Graduate Online Annual Estimate 2026-2027, Manhattan Online: estimated tuition and mandatory fees for an academic year (calculated at 18 credit hours per year) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Iowa State University logo

Iowa State University

Electrical Engineering - Master's (Online Master of Engineering)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Electrical Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Master'sM.Engr. Fully online
Location: Ames, IASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 1.5 years+ · 30 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $27,000 (30 credits × $900 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Oklahoma State University

Electrical Engineering, MEN - Online

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Electrical Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Master'sMEngEE
Location: Stillwater, OKSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 33 credits
Tuition: $512 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate in-state online (tuition and fees) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $18,315 (33 credits × $555 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.