Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net

Online Engineering PhD Programs

Doctor of Philosophy programs in engineering that the institution offers through a distance pathway. A distance PhD is a research degree: each listing shows the published residency, research-location, advisor, qualifying-exam and dissertation-defense requirements, and whether funding is stated for distance students. Professional doctorates (such as the DEng) are not listed as PhDs.

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking. What we list

25

verified online PhD programs

3

fully online (stated, no attendance)

11

require some physical attendance

11

attendance not verified

Capitol Technology University

PhD in Architectural Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Architectural Engineering

Architectural Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Laurel, MDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $980 per credit · All students — Doctoral Students, Fall 2026–Summer 2027 (doctoral admissions page) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $58,800 (60 credits × $980 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Capitol Technology University

PhD in Astronautical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Astronautical Engineering

Aerospace Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Laurel, MDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $980 per credit · All students — Doctoral Students, Fall 2026–Summer 2027 · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $58,800 (60 credits × $980 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Michigan Technological University logo

Michigan Technological University

Online PhD in Civil Engineering

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Houghton, MISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: dissertation defense
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,448 per credit · All students — 2026–27 Estimated Graduate Expenses, graduate tuition · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $43,440 (30 credits × $1,448 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Michigan Technological University logo

Michigan Technological University

Online PhD in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Houghton, MISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: dissertation defense
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,448 per credit · All students — 2026–27 Estimated Graduate Expenses, graduate tuition · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $43,440 (30 credits × $1,448 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Michigan Technological University logo

Michigan Technological University

Online PhD in Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Mechanical Engineering-Engineering Mechanics

Mechanical Engineering · Engineering Science

PhD Fully onlineFunding not verified
Location: Houghton, MISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,448 per credit · All students — 2026–27 Estimated Graduate Expenses, graduate tuition · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $43,440 (30 credits × $1,448 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University

Doctor of Philosophy in Computer Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Computer Engineering

Computer Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: College Station, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: qualifying exam, dissertation defense
Duration: Length not published · 64 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University

Doctor of Philosophy in Electrical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Electrical Engineering

Electrical Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: College Station, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: qualifying exam, dissertation defense
Duration: Length not published · 64 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University

Doctor of Philosophy in Interdisciplinary Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Interdisciplinary Engineering

General Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: College Station, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: campus visit
Duration: Length not published · 64 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University

Doctor of Philosophy in Petroleum Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Petroleum Engineering

Petroleum Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: College Station, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: dissertation defense
Duration: within 10 years (maximum time limit) · 64 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Alabama logo

University of Alabama

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, Primarily Online

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics

Aerospace Engineering · Engineering Science

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Tuscaloosa, ALSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Partly on campus · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: dissertation defense, proctored exams, campus visit
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $480 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,800 (60 credits × $480 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Alabama logo

University of Alabama

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Mechanical Engineering Online

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Tuscaloosa, ALSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: proctored exams, qualifying exam
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $480 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,800 (60 credits × $480 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Doctor of Philosophy in Software Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Tucson, AZSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 63 credits
Tuition: $1,000 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $63,000 (63 credits × $1,000 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Doctor of Philosophy in Systems & Industrial Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Systems & Industrial Engineering

Industrial Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Tucson, AZSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 68 credits
Tuition: $1,000 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $68,000 (68 credits × $1,000 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Florida logo

University of Florida

Doctor of Philosophy in Aerospace Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Aerospace Engineering

Aerospace Engineering

PhD Fully onlineFunding not verified
Location: Gainesville, FLSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 90 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Florida logo

University of Florida

Doctor of Philosophy in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

PhD Fully onlineFunding not verified
Location: Gainesville, FLSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 90 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of North Dakota

PhD in Biomedical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Partly on campus · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: in-person research
Duration: 3+ years · 90 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of North Dakota

PhD in Chemical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Chemical Engineering

Chemical Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Partly on campus · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: in-person research
Duration: 4-5 years · 90 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of North Dakota

PhD in Civil Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Partly on campus · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: in-person research
Duration: 4 - 5 years · 90 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of North Dakota

PhD in Electrical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Electrical Engineering

Electrical Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Partly on campus · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: campus visit, dissertation defense
Duration: 4+ years
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of North Dakota

PhD in Environmental Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Environmental Engineering

Environmental Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Partly on campus · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: campus visit, dissertation defense
Duration: Up to 7 years · 90 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Looking for an editorial selection rather than the full directory? See Best Online Engineering Schools and Programs.

What a distance PhD still requires

A PhD is a research degree. Coursework can be online, but dissertation research is supervised by an advisor and examined, and many programs require some time on campus. We never infer that an online PhD has no residency or campus research requirement — each listing shows what the school publishes, and unknowns stay unknown.

Research location

14 programs publish where research may take place — on campus, at an approved workplace, or remotely.

Residency

8 programs publish a residency requirement. Qualifying exams and the dissertation defense may also be in person.

Advisor and funding

19 programs publish advisor requirements; 0 state that funding is open to distance students. Campus assistantships are not assumed to apply to distance students.

Online engineering PhD: common questions

Can a PhD in engineering be completed entirely online?
Rarely. Some programs allow research at an approved workplace or remote supervision, but most still require residency, exams or a defense on campus. We label a PhD “fully online” only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Is a Doctor of Engineering (DEng) the same as a PhD?
No. A DEng or other professional doctorate is a different award, usually practice-oriented; it is never listed here as a PhD.
Are distance PhD students funded?
Do not assume so. Assistantships and stipends at many universities are tied to on-campus work. Listings show funding only as published, with whether the school says it applies to distance students.

Related guides and pages