Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona · Department of Systems & Industrial Engineering

Doctor of Philosophy in Systems & Industrial Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Systems & Industrial Engineering

Industrial Engineering

PhDFunding not verified

Overview

A 68-credit PhD in Systems & Industrial Engineering that Arizona Online describes as offered fully online for working professionals. Coursework covers core focus areas in probability and statistics, optimization and systems engineering. Residency, research-location and funding rules for online doctoral students were not found on the pages reviewed.

Official program name
Doctor of Philosophy in Systems & Industrial Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Doctor of Philosophy in Systems & Industrial Engineering
Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
PhD — doctor of philosophy (phd)
Engineering major
Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: sie.engineering.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Tucson, AZWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Not verified
Required credits
Credits Required: 68
Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online PhD whose official title names Industrial Engineering (Systems & Industrial Engineering → industrial).

Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Online scope not verified
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether campus visits, lab sessions, proctored exams at a center or other in-person requirements apply. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Research, labs and practical requirements

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Research areas
Core focus areas: Probability & Statistics, Optimization, Systems Engineering.
Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering PhD attendance requirements

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's in Systems Engineering, Industrial Engineering, or a related field.
Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$1,000per creditEstimated tuition$68,000 = 68 credits × $1,000 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $68,000 (68 credits × $1,000 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Graduate application fee (degree and certificate programs)
$90Mandatory
Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • The University of Arizona can enroll out-of-state and international students depending on the program; some programs are not available in certain U.S. territories. Official pageSource: online.arizona.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. online.arizona.edu/about/eligibility-state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. online.arizona.edu/admissions/graduate-students — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. online.arizona.edu/programs/graduate/online-doctor-philosophy-systems-industrial-engineering-phd — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — WSCUC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  5. sie.engineering.arizona.edu/grad-programs/online-degrees — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Arizona first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Tennessee, Knoxville logo

University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Online Doctor of Philosophy in Industrial Engineering

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Industrial Engineering

Industrial Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Knoxville, TNSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 48 credits
Tuition: $1,071 per credit · Nonresident (out-of-state) · year not statedEst. total tuition $51,408 (48 credits × $1,071 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Arizona. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.