Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
University of Tennessee, Knoxville campus — Ayres Hall, The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN.
Ayres Hall, The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN.. Campus photograph of University of Tennessee, Knoxville. · Photo: Nightryder84 · CC BY-SA 3.0 · source
University of Tennessee, Knoxville logo

University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Knoxville, TNPublic SACSCOCOfficial website

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville's Tickle College of Engineering offers online engineering degrees through Vols Online, including MS degrees in civil, environmental, industrial and mechanical engineering and an online PhD in industrial engineering. Tuition is published per credit hour with a separate out-of-state rate.

Online engineering programs at University of Tennessee, Knoxville

5 eligible programs verified (4 master's, 1 phd); formats: online coursework. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Online Engineering Master's Degrees

University of Tennessee, Knoxville logo

University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Online Master of Science in Civil Engineering

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Knoxville, TNSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Est. 24 months (depends on academic history and transfer credits) · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,071 per credit · Nonresident (out-of-state) · year not statedEst. total tuition $32,130 (30 credits × $1,071 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Tennessee, Knoxville logo

University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Online Master of Science in Environmental Engineering

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Environmental Engineering

Environmental Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Knoxville, TNSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Est. 24 months (depends on academic history and transfer credits) · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,071 per credit · Nonresident (out-of-state) · year not statedEst. total tuition $32,130 (30 credits × $1,071 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Tennessee, Knoxville logo

University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Online Master of Science in Industrial Engineering

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Industrial Engineering

Industrial Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Knoxville, TNSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Est. 24 months (depends on academic history and transfer credits) · 32 credits
Tuition: $1,071 per credit · Nonresident (out-of-state) · year not statedEst. total tuition $34,272 (32 credits × $1,071 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Tennessee, Knoxville logo

University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Online Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMSME
Location: Knoxville, TNSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Est. 24 months (depends on academic history and transfer credits) · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,071 per credit · Nonresident (out-of-state) · year not statedEst. total tuition $32,130 (30 credits × $1,071 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Online Engineering PhD Programs

University of Tennessee, Knoxville logo

University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Online Doctor of Philosophy in Industrial Engineering

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Industrial Engineering

Industrial Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Knoxville, TNSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 48 credits
Tuition: $1,071 per credit · Nonresident (out-of-state) · year not statedEst. total tuition $51,408 (48 credits × $1,071 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since January 1, 2000 · next review 06/01/2031

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Published enrollment restrictions

State authorization rules decide whether the university can enroll you in an online program from your state. The university's location never decides it.

State authorization

  • UTK operates under the terms and conditions of the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA).
    Source: volsonline.utk.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists online engineering bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 majors. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (campus-only degrees, certificates, engineering management or systems engineering, professional doctorates…). Not listing a campus degree says nothing about its quality.
  • Online MS in Engineering Management (Master of Science)discipline outside the 22 directory majorsSource: tickle.utk.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Online MS in Reliability and Maintainability Engineering (concentrations named by discipline) (Master of Science)discipline outside the 22 directory majorsSource: tickle.utk.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Online MS in Computer Science (Master of Science)generic computer science degreeSource: tickle.utk.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Online Doctor of Engineering in Industrial Engineering (Doctor of Engineering)professional doctorate or out-of-scope doctorate, outside the PhD directorySource: tickle.utk.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Online graduate certificates (Advanced Manufacturing, Hypersonics, Fire Protection Engineering, etc.)graduate certificatesSource: tickle.utk.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Control
Public
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
800 Andy Holt Tower, Knoxville, TN 37996
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Engineering degrees awarded, all formats (IPEDS CIP 14 engineering codes, first major)
601 bachelor's, 239 master's, 116 doctoral (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), engineering CIP codes (14.xx) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. tickle.utk.edu/academics/online-programs/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. tickle.utk.edu/ise/academics/grad/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. volsonline.utk.edu/about-state-authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. volsonline.utk.edu/program/masters/civil-engineering-ms/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. volsonline.utk.edu/program/masters/environmental-engineering-ms/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. volsonline.utk.edu/program/masters/mechanical-engineering-msme/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile

University of Tennessee, Knoxville Online Engineering Degrees (Master's, PhD)