Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net

Capitol Technology University

PhD in Architectural Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Architectural Engineering

Architectural Engineering

PhDFunding not verified

Overview

A research-intensive PhD in Architectural Engineering, beginning Fall 2026, offered 100% online and requiring a minimum of 60 credit hours plus a doctoral dissertation that is presented and defended. Applicants need a relevant master's degree and 3-5 years of related work experience; 2026-2027 doctoral tuition is $980 per credit.

Official program name
PhD in Architectural Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Doctor of Philosophy in Architectural Engineering
Source: captechu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
PhD — doctor of philosophy (phd)
Engineering major
Source: captechu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: captechu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Laurel, MDWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Dissertation
Source: captechu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
minimum of 60 credit hours (may require more for dissertation research)
Source: captechu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall
Source: captechu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Research PhD in Architectural Engineering listed among Capitol's online doctoral degrees; the program page states its PhD programs are offered 100% online.

Source: captechu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: captechu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: captechu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether campus visits, lab sessions, proctored exams at a center or other in-person requirements apply. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Research, labs and practical requirements

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Research areas
Sustainable building systems, structural performance, construction technologies, energy efficiency, human-centered design.
Source: captechu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Advisor
Progression points and review stages with an academic supervisor.
Source: captechu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other research requirement
Oral presentation of the thesis assessed by an external expert (location not stated).
Source: captechu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering PhD attendance requirements

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredMaster's degree in a relevant field.
Source: captechu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Work experience
RequiredResume showing 3-5 years of directly related work experience.
Source: captechu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two completed recommendation forms.
Source: captechu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume.
Source: captechu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$100 — $100 application fee (waived for Capitol Tech master's graduates).
Source: captechu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Doctoral Students, Fall 2026–Summer 2027 (doctoral admissions page)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$980per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$58,800 = 60 credits × $980 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: captechu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $58,800 (60 credits × $980 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Doctoral Students, Fall 2026–Summer 2027 (doctoral admissions page), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Registration & Academic Services Technology Fee
$55 per credit
Source: captechu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Maryland.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. captechu.edu/admissions-and-financial-aid/doctoral — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. captechu.edu/degrees-and-programs/doctoral-degrees/architectural-engineering-phd/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. captechu.edu/degrees-and-programs/doctoral-degrees/astronautical-engineering-phd/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Capitol Technology University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.