Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University

Doctor of Philosophy in Petroleum Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Petroleum Engineering

Petroleum Engineering

PhDFunding not verified

Overview

A 64-credit online PhD in Petroleum Engineering for students who already hold a thesis MS. Students complete a qualifying exam in the first year (which may have to be taken on campus), a preliminary exam, proposal and dissertation; applicants may be interviewed by the Director of Distance Learning.

Official program name
Doctor of Philosophy in Petroleum Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Doctor of Philosophy in Petroleum Engineering
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
PhD — doctor of philosophy (phd)
Engineering major
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
College Station, TXWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Dissertation
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
64-credit hour
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
within 10 years (maximum time limit)
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online PhD in Petroleum Engineering listed by Engineering Online.

Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Online scope not verified
Physical attendance
Other physical attendance requiredRequired in person: dissertation defense
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Qualifying exam Not verified

    Qualifying exam in the first year; students may be required to take it on campus.

    Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Dissertation defense Required

    Final examination (final defense) scheduled via ARCS; location not stated.

    Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Research, labs and practical requirements

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Qualifying exam
Departmental qualifying exam within the first year
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Research proposal
Dissertation proposal submitted at the preliminary examination
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Advisor
Committee chair selected before the second semester; at least 4 committee members
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering PhD attendance requirements

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredMaster of Science with thesis
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Interview
OptionalMay be required to interview with the Director of Distance Learning
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
RequiredVerbal and quantitative sections only.
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this online program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. distance.tamu.edu/authorization.html — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. engineering.tamu.edu/petroleum/academics/degrees/graduate/online-grad/online-phdpete.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. engineering.tamu.edu/petroleum/academics/degrees/graduate/online-grad/prospective-students/index.htm — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Texas first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of North Dakota

PhD in Petroleum Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Petroleum Engineering

Petroleum Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Partly on campus · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: campus visit, residency, dissertation defense
Duration: 4 years · 90 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Texas A&M University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.