Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University · Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Master of Science in Electrical Engineering (Online, Thesis and Non-Thesis)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Master'sMS

Overview

An online Master of Science in Electrical Engineering with a 30-hour non-thesis option (final project report from a graded course) and a 32-hour thesis option with at least 5 research hours and a final thesis defense. The detailed program page lists three focus areas: analog and mixed signals, energy and power, and information science and learning systems.

Official program name
Master of Science in Electrical Engineering (Online, Thesis and Non-Thesis)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Electrical Engineering
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
College Station, TXWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Published specializations
Analog and Mixed Signals · Energy and Power · Information Science and Learning Systems
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Thesis / non-thesis
Thesis · Non-thesis
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
30 hours (non-thesis); 32 hours (thesis)
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online MS in Electrical Engineering (thesis and non-thesis) from the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Online scope not verified
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verifiedRequired in person: dissertation defense
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: catalog.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Dissertation defense Required

    Thesis option: final defense of thesis required; location not stated.

    Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Capstone

Thesis

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose / personal statement
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — At least two recommendations for distance program applicants
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Required$65 — Texas A&M application fee $65 (domestic) / $90 (international) plus EngineeringCAS fee $58
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Optional
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    July 15 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    December 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this online program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Other published fees

Graduate Engineering Program Fee (Remote)
Amount not statedMandatory
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.tamu.edu/graduate/colleges-schools-interdisciplinary/engineering/electrical-computer/electri — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. distance.tamu.edu/authorization.html — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. engineering.tamu.edu/electrical/academics/degrees/graduate/distance-learning/online-ms-elen.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. engineering.tamu.edu/electrical/admissions-and-aid/graduate-admissions/index.html — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Texas first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Houston logo

University of Houston

Online MS in Electrical Engineering (UH Extend)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Master'sMSEE Fully online
Location: Houston, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: $745 per credit · All students · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Kansas State University logo

Kansas State University

Electrical and Computer Engineering Master's Degree (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Manhattan, KSSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: campus visit
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $11,142 per academic year · All students — Graduate Online Annual Estimate 2026-2027, Manhattan Online: estimated tuition and mandatory fees for an academic year (calculated at 18 credit hours per year) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Iowa State University logo

Iowa State University

Electrical Engineering - Master's (Online Master of Engineering)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Electrical Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Master'sM.Engr. Fully online
Location: Ames, IASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 1.5 years+ · 30 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $27,000 (30 credits × $900 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Texas A&M University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.