Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University · J. Mike Walker '66 Department of Mechanical Engineering

Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMEng

Overview

A 30-hour non-thesis Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering offered online, with one required mathematics course (MEEN 602) and nine technical electives chosen from a published list of distance learning courses. GRE scores are optional.

Official program name
Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Engineering in Mechanical Engineering
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
College Station, TXWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Non-thesis
Source: catalog.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
Total Hours: 30
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online non-thesis MEng in Mechanical Engineering; same degree as on campus.

Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Online scope not verified
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: catalog.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether campus visits, lab sessions, proctored exams at a center or other in-person requirements apply. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Internship
OptionalCourse credit may be earned for full-time employment or an internship.
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • MEEN 602 (3 hours) plus 9 technical elective courses (27 hours); credit possible for full-time employment or internship.
    Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose (1-1.5 pages)
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — At least 3 recommenders
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume or CV
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts for review
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Optional
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    June 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    October 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this online program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Other published fees

Engineering Program Fee (Remote)
Amount not statedMandatory
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.tamu.edu/graduate/colleges-schools-interdisciplinary/engineering/mechanical/meng/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. distance.tamu.edu/authorization.html — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. engineering.tamu.edu/mechanical/academics/degrees/graduate/online-meng.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. engineering.tamu.edu/mechanical/admissions-and-aid/graduate-admissions/index.html — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Texas first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Houston logo

University of Houston

Online Master of Mechanical Engineering (MME, UH Extend)

Awarded degree: Master of Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMME Fully online
Location: Houston, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: ~1.5–2.5 years at two courses per term; ~2.5–3.5 years at one course per term (sample pacing plans) · 30 credits
Tuition: $745 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $22,350 (30 credits × $745 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas Tech University logo

Texas Tech University

Online Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Lubbock, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: approximately 2 years · 30 credits
Tuition: $2,500 per course · All students — Estimate per three-credit online graduate engineering course · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Houston logo

University of Houston

Online MS in Mechanical Engineering (UH Extend)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMSME Fully online
Location: Houston, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $745 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $22,350 (30 credits × $745 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Texas A&M University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.