Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
University of Houston campus — The Ezekiel W. Cullen building across from the Cullen Family Plaza Fountain at the University of Houston
The Ezekiel W. Cullen building across from the Cullen Family Plaza Fountain at the University of Houston. Campus photograph of University of Houston. · Photo: Brian Reading · CC BY-SA 4.0 · source
University of Houston logo

University of Houston

Houston, TXPublic SACSCOCOfficial website

The University of Houston's Cullen College of Engineering offers online master's degrees through Online Programs — UH Extend, including petroleum, biomedical, chemical, civil, electrical, computer and systems, industrial and mechanical engineering. Department pages state UH Extend programs are designed to be completed fully online at a flat per-credit tuition; online students earn the same degree as campus students.

Online engineering programs at University of Houston

9 eligible programs verified (9 master's); formats: online coursework. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Online Engineering Master's Degrees

University of Houston logo

University of Houston

Online Master of Chemical Engineering (UH Extend)

Awarded degree: Master of Chemical Engineering

Chemical Engineering

Master'sMChE Fully online
Location: Houston, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $745 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $22,350 (30 credits × $745 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Houston logo

University of Houston

Online Master of Computer and Systems Engineering (UH Extend)

Awarded degree: Master of Computer and Systems Engineering

Computer Engineering

Master'sMCSE
Location: Houston, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $745 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $22,350 (30 credits × $745 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Houston logo

University of Houston

Online Master of Mechanical Engineering (MME, UH Extend)

Awarded degree: Master of Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMME Fully online
Location: Houston, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: ~1.5–2.5 years at two courses per term; ~2.5–3.5 years at one course per term (sample pacing plans) · 30 credits
Tuition: $745 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $22,350 (30 credits × $745 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Houston logo

University of Houston

Online Master of Petroleum Engineering (UH Extend)

Awarded degree: Master of Petroleum Engineering

Petroleum Engineering

Master'sMPetE Fully online
Location: Houston, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $745 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $22,350 (30 credits × $745 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Houston logo

University of Houston

Online Master's Degree Program in Industrial Engineering (MIE)

Awarded degree: Master of Industrial Engineering

Industrial Engineering

Master'sMIE
Location: Houston, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Houston logo

University of Houston

Online MS in Biomedical Engineering (UH Extend)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Houston, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $745 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $22,350 (30 credits × $745 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Houston logo

University of Houston

Online MS in Civil Engineering (UH Extend)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

Master'sMSCE
Location: Houston, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: $745 per credit · All students · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Houston logo

University of Houston

Online MS in Electrical Engineering (UH Extend)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Master'sMSEE Fully online
Location: Houston, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: $745 per credit · All students · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Houston logo

University of Houston

Online MS in Mechanical Engineering (UH Extend)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMSME Fully online
Location: Houston, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $745 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $22,350 (30 credits × $745 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since January 1, 1954 · next review 12/01/2028

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Published enrollment restrictions

State authorization rules decide whether the university can enroll you in an online program from your state. The university's location never decides it.

State authorization

  • NC-SARA membership allows UH to conduct limited activities in member states.
    Source: uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists online engineering bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 majors. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (campus-only degrees, certificates, engineering management or systems engineering, professional doctorates…). Not listing a campus degree says nothing about its quality.
  • Online MS in Engineering Management / Master of Engineering Managementdiscipline outside the 22 directory majorsSource: uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Online MS in Engineering Data Sciencediscipline outside the 22 directory majors (data science)Source: uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Online MS in Construction Managementdiscipline outside the 22 directory majorsSource: uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Online MS in Cybersecuritygeneric computing/IT degree, outside scopeSource: uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Online MS in Engineering Technology (Biotechnology, Computational Health Informatics, Network Communications tracks) (Master of Science in Engineering Technology)engineering technology tracks outside the 22 directory majors (the Mechanical Engineering Technology track is listed in notResearched)Source: uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Online graduate certificates (Engineering Data Science, Carbon Capture, Fundamentals of Petroleum Engineering, Unconventional Energy Sources)certificatesSource: uh.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
University of Houston
Control
Public
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
4302 University Drive, Room 212, Houston, TX 77204-2018
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Engineering degrees awarded, all formats (IPEDS CIP 14 engineering codes, first major)
549 bachelor's, 433 master's, 82 doctoral (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. me.egr.uh.edu/graduate/uh-extend-mechanical-engineering-graduate-programs — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), engineering CIP codes (14.xx) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. onlinelearning.egr.uh.edu/about — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. onlinelearning.egr.uh.edu/programs/masters-degrees/biomedical-engineering — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. onlinelearning.egr.uh.edu/programs/masters-degrees/chemical-engineering — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. onlinelearning.egr.uh.edu/programs/masters-degrees/computer-and-systems-engineering — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. onlinelearning.egr.uh.edu/programs/masters-degrees/industrial-engineering-ms — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. onlinelearning.egr.uh.edu/programs/masters-degrees/petroleum-engineering-mpete — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  10. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  11. cive.uh.edu/programs/civil-graduate/uh-extend-civil-online-masters-program — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  12. et.uh.edu/programs/graduate/mechanical-engineering-technology — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  13. uh.edu/online/about/state-authorization.php — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  14. uh.edu/uh-extend/colleges/engineering/index.php — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  15. uh.edu/uh-extend/programs/engineering/online-graduate-degrees-and-certificates/index.php — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile