Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net

University of North Dakota

PhD in Petroleum Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Petroleum Engineering

Petroleum Engineering

PhDFunding not verified

Overview

PhD in Petroleum Engineering offered on campus or online with asynchronous courses. The online program requires a campus visit of at least two days each semester, and the page states two consecutive semesters in residence during the first two years; a minimum of 90 credits.

Official program name
PhD in Petroleum Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Doctor of Philosophy in Petroleum Engineering
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
PhD — doctor of philosophy (phd)
Engineering major
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Grand Forks, NDWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Dissertation
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
A minimum of 90 semester credits, including acceptable master’s degree work and credits granted for the dissertation
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
4 years
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

PhD in Petroleum Engineering listed by UND as on campus or online.

Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Part of the degree requires on-campus study
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
Residency requiredRequired in person: campus visit, residency, dissertation defense
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Proctored exams Required

    All exams must be proctored unless the instructor states otherwise (ProctorU Live+, an in-person testing center, or Honorlock depending on the course).

    Source: engineering.und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Campus visit Required

    Minimum two-day campus visit each semester to present research

    each semester

    Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Residency Required

    Two consecutive semesters in residence during the first two years

    Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Dissertation defense Required

    Defend a dissertation (location not stated)

    Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Research, labs and practical requirements

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Residency
Two consecutive semesters in residence during the first two years
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Qualifying exam
Qualifying exam that includes a research proposal; candidacy examination at least one semester before the defense
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other research requirement
At least two first-author ISI journal papers and two first-author conference papers submitted before the defense (waivable by the adviser)
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Research areas
Hydraulic fracturing geomechanics, re-fracturing, data-driven modeling, shale petrophysics, reservoir geophysics
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering PhD attendance requirements

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.75 — Overall undergraduate GPA 2.75 or 3.00 for the last two years
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
RequiredLetters of recommendation considered in holistic review
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
RequiredOnly for applicants with undergraduate degrees from non-ABET-accredited programs
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadlineDomestic applicants

    Aug. 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadlineDomestic applicants

    Dec. 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadlineDomestic applicants

    May 1 · for Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this online program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Other published fees

UND Student Fee (below 12 credits; capped at $955.08 per semester)
$79.59 per creditMandatory
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • UND participates in NC-SARA; it does not have state authorization for all programs in all states. Official pageSource: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. engineering.und.edu/current-students/exam-proctoring-tech.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. und.edu/about/student-disclosure-information/licensure.html — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. und.edu/admissions/cost-and-aid/cost-details.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. und.edu/programs/petroleum-engineering-phd/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. und.edu/programs/petroleum-engineering-phd/requirements.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in North Dakota first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University

Doctor of Philosophy in Petroleum Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Petroleum Engineering

Petroleum Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: College Station, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: dissertation defense
Duration: within 10 years (maximum time limit) · 64 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of North Dakota. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.