Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
University of Alabama logo

University of Alabama · Department of Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, Primarily Online

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics

Aerospace Engineering · Engineering Science

PhDFunding not verified

Overview

A 60-credit primarily online PhD designed for engineering professionals with five or more years of experience. Lectures are online and exams are proctored off campus; the dissertation proposal and defense take place in person in Tuscaloosa.

Official program name
Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, Primarily Online
Awarded degree
Doctor of Philosophy in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
PhD — doctor of philosophy (phd)
Engineering major
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Tuscaloosa, ALWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Dissertation
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
60 Credit Hours
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Primarily online PhD in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics; proposal and defense in person.

Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Part of the degree requires on-campus study
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
Limited campus visits requiredRequired in person: dissertation defense, proctored exams, campus visit
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Part-time or Full-time
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • Dissertation defense Required

    Dissertation proposal and dissertation defense in person in Tuscaloosa.

    Tuscaloosa, AL

    Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Proctored exams Required

    Exams are taken off campus with approved live proctors.

    off campus, approved live proctors

    Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Campus visit Required

    Applicants are told to contact faculty and arrange an on-campus visit prior to applying.

    Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Research, labs and practical requirements

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Advisor
Students work directly with a faculty advisor; faculty interest and support is essential in application review.
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Research proposal
Dissertation proposal in person in Tuscaloosa.
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering PhD attendance requirements

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited university; applicants without an MS in aerospace, mechanical or civil engineering or physics should first consider the MSAEM
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — 3.0 on a 4.0 scale or 3.0 for the last 60 hours
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Work experience
RecommendedDesigned for engineering professionals with five or more years of experience
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose, transcripts and letters of recommendation
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
RequiredOpen to US students and international students residing in the US with the appropriate visas
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Optional
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    April 30 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$480per creditEstimated tuition$28,800 = 60 credits × $480 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $28,800 (60 credits × $480 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. online.ua.edu/about-us/state-authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. online.ua.edu/degrees/phd-in-aerospace-engineering-and-mechanics/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Alabama first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Florida logo

University of Florida

Doctor of Philosophy in Aerospace Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Aerospace Engineering

Aerospace Engineering

PhD Fully onlineFunding not verified
Location: Gainesville, FLSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 90 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Capitol Technology University

PhD in Astronautical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Astronautical Engineering

Aerospace Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Laurel, MDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $980 per credit · All students — Doctoral Students, Fall 2026–Summer 2027 · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $58,800 (60 credits × $980 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Alabama. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.