Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
University of Alabama logo

University of Alabama

Tuscaloosa, ALPublic SACSCOCOfficial website

Through UA Online, The University of Alabama offers a primarily online BS in Mechanical Engineering with weekend lab visits to Tuscaloosa, online MS degrees in Mechanical Engineering and in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, and online or primarily online PhDs in the same two fields. Exams require live, in-person proctoring.

Online engineering programs at University of Alabama

5 eligible programs verified (1 bachelor's, 2 master's, 2 phd); formats: online coursework. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Online Engineering Bachelor's Degrees

University of Alabama logo

University of Alabama

Bachelor of Science (BS) in Mechanical Engineering, Primarily Online

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Bachelor'sBSME ABET EAC · online not listedTransfer entryFirst-year entry
Location: Tuscaloosa, ALSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Partly on campus · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: on-campus lab session, proctored exams, in-person laboratory
Duration: Length not published · 130 credits
Tuition: $399 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $51,870 (130 credits × $399 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Online Engineering Master's Degrees

University of Alabama logo

University of Alabama

Master of Science (MS) in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics

Aerospace Engineering · Engineering Science

Master'sMSAEM
Location: Tuscaloosa, ALSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: proctored exams
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $480 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $14,400 (30 credits × $480 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Alabama logo

University of Alabama

Master of Science (MS) in Mechanical Engineering Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMSME
Location: Tuscaloosa, ALSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: proctored exams
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $480 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $14,400 (30 credits × $480 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Online Engineering PhD Programs

University of Alabama logo

University of Alabama

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, Primarily Online

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics

Aerospace Engineering · Engineering Science

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Tuscaloosa, ALSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Partly on campus · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: dissertation defense, proctored exams, campus visit
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $480 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,800 (60 credits × $480 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Alabama logo

University of Alabama

Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Mechanical Engineering Online

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Tuscaloosa, ALSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: proctored exams, qualifying exam
Duration: Length not published · 60 credits
Tuition: $480 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,800 (60 credits × $480 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since January 1, 1897 · next review 06/01/2031

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Published enrollment restrictions

State authorization rules decide whether the university can enroll you in an online program from your state. The university's location never decides it.

State authorization

  • The state of Alabama is a member of NC-SARA and the University is an approved NC-SARA institution.
    Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists online engineering bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 majors. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (campus-only degrees, certificates, engineering management or systems engineering, professional doctorates…). Not listing a campus degree says nothing about its quality.
  • BS in Manufacturing Systems Engineering (primarily online)discipline outside the 22 directory majorsSource: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
University of Alabama
Control
Public
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
739 University Blvd, Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0100
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Engineering degrees awarded, all formats (IPEDS CIP 14 engineering codes, first major)
662 bachelor's, 122 master's, 43 doctoral (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), engineering CIP codes (14.xx) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. online.ua.edu/about-us/state-authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. online.ua.edu/degrees/bs-in-manufacturing-systems-engineering/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. online.ua.edu/degrees/bs-in-mechanical-engineering/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. online.ua.edu/degrees/phd-in-aerospace-engineering-and-mechanics/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. online.ua.edu/degrees/phd-in-mechanical-engineering/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile