Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
University of Alabama logo

University of Alabama · Department of Mechanical Engineering

Bachelor of Science (BS) in Mechanical Engineering, Primarily Online

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Bachelor'sBSME ABET EAC · online not listedTransfer entryFirst-year entry

Overview

A 130-credit primarily online BSME delivered through online and video courses. Three lab courses require a total of six weekend visits to Tuscaloosa, exams require live in-person proctoring, and chemistry and calculus-based physics must be completed at another institution.

Official program name
Bachelor of Science (BS) in Mechanical Engineering, Primarily Online
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Engineering major
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Tuscaloosa, ALWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Not verified
Required credits
130 credit hours
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

How students enter this degree

  • Transfer entry. Applicants with 24 or more transferable semester hours need a minimum 2.0 overall college GPA.24 prior credits stated · associate degree not requiredSource: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • First-year entry. Applicants with fewer transferable credits must also meet freshman admission requirements.associate degree not requiredSource: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Completed elsewhere: CH 101 General Chemistry and PH 105/106 General Physics with Calculus are not offered by UA Distance; equivalents must be completed at another institution and transferred. Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Why this program is listed

Primarily online BS in Mechanical Engineering; three lab courses require visits to Tuscaloosa.

Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Part of the degree requires on-campus study
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
In-person laboratory sessions requiredRequired in person: on-campus lab session, proctored exams, in-person laboratory
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • On-campus lab session Required

    Three lab courses require a total of 6 visits to Tuscaloosa, completed on weekends.

    6 visits in total · Tuscaloosa, AL

    Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Proctored exams Required

    Live, in-person proctoring is required to complete exams; proctored testing within the US.

    within the US or testing centers on US military installations

    Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
In-person laboratory
RequiredAEM 251 (3 visits), ME 360 (2 visits) and ME 460 (1 visit) in Tuscaloosa.
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Capstone
RequiredME 489 and ME 490 Mechanical Engineering Design I and II
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Other

  • Identical to the degree earned by campus students.
    Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Accreditation statement on the program's page: The BSME program is accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET.
    Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2 — Minimum 2.0 overall college GPA for transfer students
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredTranscripts from all colleges attended; high school transcript if fewer than 24 semester hours
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
International applicants
RequiredOpen to US students and international students residing in the US with appropriate visas
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

SAT / ACT
Not requiredNot required through the Fall 2026 entry term
Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    July 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Priority deadline

    Nov. 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$399per creditEstimated tuition$51,870 = 130 credits × $399 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.ua.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $51,870 (130 credits × $399 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • ABET (Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology) (ABET)Status: Accredited · Commission: EAC · Program: Mechanical Engineering · Degree: B S in Mechanical EngineeringAccredited since April 1, 1989 · next review 2032–2033 (next comprehensive review) · ABET lists: Main Campus · distance delivery per ABET: Half or more content, but not allABET's record does not list the online pathway — ask the school whether the online version is covered.Source: amspub.abet.org · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. ABET accredited program search (data downloaded 2026-10-12) — Accreditor directory, verified October 12, 2026
  2. online.ua.edu/about-us/state-authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. online.ua.edu/degrees/bs-in-mechanical-engineering/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. online.ua.edu/degrees/phd-in-mechanical-engineering/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Alabama first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Arizona State University logo

Arizona State University

Bachelor of Science in Engineering in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Engineering in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Bachelor'sBSE ABET EACFirst-year entryTransfer entry
Location: Scottsdale, AZSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: $580 per credit · Online students — ASU Online undergraduate rate for most programs, plus program fees · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $69,600 (120 credits × $580 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of North Dakota

Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC · online not listedFirst-year entryTransfer entry
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Partly on campus · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: summer lab sessionRemote / kit / virtual labs published
Duration: 4+ years · 128 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Worldwide logo

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Worldwide

Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Worldwide & Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Bachelor'sBSME ABET EAC · online not listed
Location: Daytona Beach, FLSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: 20 terms, or approximately four years (full-time enrollment and continuous progress) · 130 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Alabama. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.