Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Arizona State University logo

Arizona State University

Bachelor of Science in Engineering in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Engineering in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Bachelor'sBSE ABET EACFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Overview

Bachelor of Science in Engineering in mechanical engineering offered through ASU Online (also on campus), 120 credit hours in 7.5-week classes, with a two-semester capstone.

Official program name
Bachelor of Science in Engineering in Mechanical Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Engineering in Mechanical Engineering
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Engineering major
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Scottsdale, AZWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Not verified
Required credits
120 credit hours
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

How students enter this degree

  • First-year entry. First-year applicants meet Fulton Schools additional requirementsassociate degree not requiredSource: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Transfer entry. Transfer admission with GPA criteria by number of transfer hoursassociate degree not requiredSource: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Why this program is listed

Online BSE in Mechanical Engineering offered through ASU Online.

Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Online scope not verified
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether campus visits, lab sessions, proctored exams at a center or other in-person requirements apply. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Capstone
RequiredTwo-semester capstone: design, prototype and test
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Academic calendar

Other

  • Accreditation statement on the program's page: Described as an ABET-accredited online mechanical engineering program
    Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — First year: 1210 SAT, 24 ACT, 3.00 ABOR GPA or top 25% of class (one of these)
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

SAT / ACT
OptionalOne of: SAT 1210, ACT 24, 3.00 ABOR GPA, or top 25% class rank
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — ASU Online undergraduate rate for most programs, plus program feesFrom the university's online tuition table$580per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$69,600 = 120 credits × $580 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $69,600 (120 credits × $580 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students — ASU Online undergraduate rate for most programs, plus program fees, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • ABET (Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology) (ABET)Status: Accredited · Commission: EAC · Program: Mechanical Engineering · Degree: BSEnext review 2028–2029 (next comprehensive review) · ABET lists: Tempe Campus · distance delivery per ABET: All contentABET's record lists the online pathway.Source: amspub.abet.org · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.
  • LicensureASU's academic programs that prepare you for professional licensure or certification are designed to meet Arizona's requirements. Completing an ASU program may not fulfill educational requirements for licensure or certification in other states. Official disclosureSource: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. ABET accredited program search (data downloaded 2026-10-12) — Accreditor directory, verified October 12, 2026
  2. asuonline.asu.edu/about-us/accreditation/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. asuonline.asu.edu/online-degree-programs/undergraduate/bachelor-mechanical-engineering/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. asuonline.asu.edu/what-it-costs/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Arizona first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Alabama logo

University of Alabama

Bachelor of Science (BS) in Mechanical Engineering, Primarily Online

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Bachelor'sBSME ABET EAC · online not listedTransfer entryFirst-year entry
Location: Tuscaloosa, ALSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Partly on campus · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: on-campus lab session, proctored exams, in-person laboratory
Duration: Length not published · 130 credits
Tuition: $399 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $51,870 (130 credits × $399 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of North Dakota

Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Bachelor'sBS ABET EAC · online not listedFirst-year entryTransfer entry
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Partly on campus · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: summer lab sessionRemote / kit / virtual labs published
Duration: 4+ years · 128 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Worldwide logo

Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Worldwide

Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering (Worldwide & Online)

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Bachelor'sBSME ABET EAC · online not listed
Location: Daytona Beach, FLSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: 20 terms, or approximately four years (full-time enrollment and continuous progress) · 130 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Arizona State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.