Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University · Interdisciplinary Engineering Program

Doctor of Philosophy in Interdisciplinary Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Interdisciplinary Engineering

General Engineering

PhDFunding not verified

Overview

An online PhD in Interdisciplinary Engineering for students already doing research in their employment (for example at a national laboratory or an industry research center). Research scope, resources and committee chair are agreed before admission; students must make at least one annual visit to campus, which may be met by visiting College Station or attending a conference or workshop.

Official program name
Doctor of Philosophy in Interdisciplinary Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Doctor of Philosophy in Interdisciplinary Engineering
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
PhD — doctor of philosophy (phd)
Engineering major
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
College Station, TXWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Dissertation
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
64 hours with a master's degree; 96 hours beyond the bachelor's degree
Source: catalog.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online PhD in Interdisciplinary Engineering (maps to general); research must be conducted remotely in the student's employment setting, with at least one annual campus visit.

Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Online scope not verified
Physical attendance
Limited campus visits requiredRequired in person: campus visit
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: catalog.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Campus visit Required

    At least one annual visit to interact with other students; may be met by visiting College Station or by attending a conference/workshop where other students present or attend.

    at least once a year

    Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Residency Not required

    No residence requirement for the distance education modality.

    Source: catalog.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Research, labs and practical requirements

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Workplace research setting
Only for students already immersed in research through employment, e.g. a national laboratory or industry research and development center.
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Research location
Students must be in an environment that enables them to conduct research remotely.
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Advisor
Research scope, resources and faculty committee chair are agreed before admission; one recommendation letter must come from Texas A&M faculty committing to advise.
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other research requirement
Advising by the faculty chair/co-chair through face-to-face meetings, email and web conferences.
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Residency
No residence requirement for the distance education modality.
Source: catalog.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering PhD attendance requirements

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Distance students take the same classes, faculty, coursework and exams as on campus.
    Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's or master's degree in an engineering discipline; leveling courses for non-ABET engineering bachelor's
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum GPA 3.0 for bachelor's degree and at the graduate level
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement on the multidisciplinary program of study and career path
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters; one from Texas A&M faculty committing to advise the research
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume/CV
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts from all previous institutions
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredApplicants must first engage Texas A&M faculty to set the program of study and research focus
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    June 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    October 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this online program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Other published fees

Remote engineering fees (each semester)
Amount not stated per semesterMandatory
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Other
The page encourages applicants to seek scholarships from Texas A&M and outside providers; no funding is stated for distance students.
Source: engineering.tamu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.tamu.edu/graduate/colleges-schools-interdisciplinary/engineering/multidisciplinary/interdisc — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. distance.tamu.edu/authorization.html — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. engineering.tamu.edu/itde/academics/degrees/graduate/phd-itde/application-requirements.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. engineering.tamu.edu/itde/academics/degrees/graduate/phd-itde/online-phd-itde.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. engineering.tamu.edu/itde/admissions-and-aid/graduate-dates-and-deadlines.html — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Texas A&M University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.