Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
North Dakota State University campus — Building on the campus of NDSU in Fargo, North Dakota
Building on the campus of NDSU in Fargo, North Dakota. Campus photograph of North Dakota State University. · Photo: Unimatic1140 · Public domain · source
North Dakota State University logo

North Dakota State University

Fargo, NDPublic HLCOfficial website

North Dakota State University lists online options for its bachelor's majors in Electrical, Computer and Software Engineering and for graduate programs in Biomedical Engineering (M.S. and Ph.D., joint with the University of North Dakota), Mechanical Engineering (Master of Engineering), Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering and Software Engineering. Dedicated online programs may be billed at the North Dakota resident rate.

Online engineering programs at North Dakota State University

6 eligible programs verified (3 bachelor's, 3 master's); formats: online coursework. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Online Engineering Bachelor's Degrees

North Dakota State University logo

North Dakota State University

Computer Engineering Major (B.S.Cpr.E), online option

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering

Computer Engineering

Bachelor'sBSCprE ABET EAC
Location: Fargo, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 126 credits
Tuition: $473.64 per credit · Online students — Online Programs, Engineering Tuition C (part-time per-credit rate; ND resident rate may be charged to students in dedicated online majors) · year not statedEst. total tuition $59,678.64 (126 credits × $473.64 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Dakota State University logo

North Dakota State University

Electrical Engineering Major (B.S.E.E.), online option

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Bachelor'sBSEE ABET EAC
Location: Fargo, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 126 credits
Tuition: $473.64 per credit · Online students — Online Programs, Engineering Tuition C (part-time per-credit rate; ND resident rate may be charged to students in dedicated online majors) · year not statedEst. total tuition $59,678.64 (126 credits × $473.64 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Dakota State University logo

North Dakota State University

Software Engineering Major (B.S.), online option

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Bachelor'sBSABET: not matched
Location: Fargo, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Online Engineering Master's Degrees

North Dakota State University logo

North Dakota State University

Biomedical Engineering Master's (M.S.), online option

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Fargo, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $521.06 per credit · Online students — Online Masters, Graduate Certificates per-credit rate, Engineering Tuition C · year not statedEst. total tuition $15,631.80 (30 credits × $521.06 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Dakota State University logo

North Dakota State University

Master of Software Engineering (M.S.E.), online option

Awarded degree: Master of Software Engineering

Software Engineering

Master'sMSE
Location: Fargo, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
North Dakota State University logo

North Dakota State University

Online Professional Master's in Mechanical Engineering (Master of Engineering)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering (Mechanical Engineering)

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online
Location: Fargo, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $521.06 per credit · Online students — Online Masters, Graduate Certificates per-credit rate, Engineering Tuition C · year not statedEst. total tuition $15,631.80 (30 credits × $521.06 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since January 1, 1915 · next review 08/31/2036

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists online engineering bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 majors. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (campus-only degrees, certificates, engineering management or systems engineering, professional doctorates…). Not listing a campus degree says nothing about its quality.
  • Master of Construction Management (online)discipline outside the 22 directory majorsSource: ndsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Project Management Master's (online)discipline outside the 22 directory majorsSource: ndsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Software Engineering graduate certificates (online)certificateSource: ndsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
North Dakota State University
Control
Public
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
1301 12th Avenue North, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Engineering degrees awarded, all formats (IPEDS CIP 14 engineering codes, first major)
280 bachelor's, 48 master's, 24 doctoral (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. catalog.ndsu.edu/curriculum/graduate/industrial-and-manufacturing-engineering-masters/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. catalog.ndsu.edu/curriculum/graduate/mechanical-engineering-masters/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  3. catalog.ndsu.edu/curriculum/graduate/software-engineering-masters/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  4. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  5. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), engineering CIP codes (14.xx) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  6. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  7. ndsu.edu/electrical-computer-engineering — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. ndsu.edu/programs?program_level%5B0%5D=5007&program_format=5009 — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. ndsu.edu/programs/graduate/software-engineering — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile