Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
North Dakota State University logo

North Dakota State University

Biomedical Engineering Master's (M.S.), online option

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMS

Overview

An M.S. in Biomedical Engineering offered jointly with the University of North Dakota, listed by NDSU with an online option. Students choose a Plan A thesis or Plan B master's paper (30 credits) and complete a practicum in an industrial, clinical or research lab setting.

Official program name
Biomedical Engineering Master's (M.S.), online option
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering
Source: ndsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: ndsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: ndsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Fargo, NDWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Thesis · Project
Source: catalog.ndsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
30 credits (Plan A thesis or Plan B master's paper)
Source: catalog.ndsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

NDSU lists the Biomedical Engineering master's (joint program with the University of North Dakota) as available on campus and online.

Source: ndsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: ndsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Online scope not verified
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether campus visits, lab sessions, proctored exams at a center or other in-person requirements apply. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Practicum
RequiredBME 794 Practicum (industrial, clinical, or research lab), 1-3 credits
Source: catalog.ndsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Other

  • Joint program with the University of North Dakota
    Source: ndsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredB.S. from an ABET-accredited engineering program; other B.S. holders may be admitted with an obligation to acquire background engineering knowledge
Source: catalog.ndsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 71English proficiency for international applicants; IELTS and Duolingo also accepted.
Source: catalog.ndsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    February 15 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: catalog.ndsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    September 15 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: catalog.ndsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — Online Masters, Graduate Certificates per-credit rate, Engineering Tuition CFrom the university's online tuition table$521.06per creditEstimated tuition$15,631.80 = 30 credits × $521.06 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ndsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $15,631.80 (30 credits × $521.06 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students — Online Masters, Graduate Certificates per-credit rate, Engineering Tuition C, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside North Dakota.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.ndsu.edu/curriculum/graduate/biomedical-engineering-masters/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. ndsu.edu/onestop/account/tuition/graduate — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. ndsu.edu/programs/graduate/biomedical-engineering — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in North Dakota first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of North Dakota

Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verifiedRemote / kit / virtual labs published
Duration: 2 years · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Engineering in Bioengineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Bioengineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: Champaign, ILSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: as little as one year, or one course at a time · 32 credits
Tuition: $1,195 per credit · All students — Online students, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027 · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $38,240 (32 credits × $1,195 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University of Maryland logo

University of Maryland

Master of Engineering in Bioengineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Bioengineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMEng
Location: College Park, MDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,567 per credit · Online students — MAGE online courses, Fall 2026 - Summer 2027 · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $47,010 (30 credits × $1,567 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 15, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with North Dakota State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.