Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Michigan Technological University logo

Michigan Technological University · Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geospatial Engineering

Online PhD in Civil Engineering

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

PhDFunding not verified

Overview

An online PhD option in Civil Engineering in which students pursue research under a faculty advisor; milestones include qualifying and proposal examinations, a dissertation and a final oral defense.

Official program name
Online PhD in Civil Engineering
Awarded degree
Doctor of Philosophy in Civil Engineering
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
PhD — doctor of philosophy (phd)
Engineering major
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Houghton, MIWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Dissertation
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
MS-PhD minimum 30 credits; BS-PhD minimum 60 credits
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Department states an online PhD option in Civil Engineering.

Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Online scope not verified
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verifiedRequired in person: dissertation defense
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Dissertation defense Required

    Final oral defense required; location not stated.

    Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Research, labs and practical requirements

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Advisor
Research under the guidance of a faculty advisor.
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Research areas
Faculty-guided research in one of six areas of specialization, pursued remotely.
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Qualifying exam
Qualifying examination and research proposal examination.
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Residency
Research credits must be taken through Michigan Tech and supervised by Michigan Tech graduate faculty (Graduate School policy).
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering PhD attendance requirements

Curriculum

Other

  • One graduate tuition rate regardless of residence.
    Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 3 — Admitted applicants typically have 3.0 or higher
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Not required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation not required for online students
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Not requiredGraduate application is free; international applicants pay a $10 processing fee.
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredMichigan Tech minimum 4.5 overall (new TOEFL scale) or IELTS 6.5
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 6.5International applicants
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    January 15 (for full financial consideration) · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — 2026–27 Estimated Graduate Expenses, graduate tuitionFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,448per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$43,440 = 30 credits × $1,448 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Doctoral candidates, nine research creditsFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$477per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$14,310 = 30 credits × $477 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $43,440 (30 credits × $1,448 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — 2026–27 Estimated Graduate Expenses, graduate tuition, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Online course fee
$38 per creditMandatory
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Participates in NC-SARA; state status shown by state selector; online programs accept international applications only from Canada and Australia. Official pageSource: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

  • Online programs accept international applications only from Canada and Australia.Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. mtu.edu/cege/graduate/civil/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. mtu.edu/cege/graduate/online/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. mtu.edu/globalcampus/about/authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. mtu.edu/globalcampus/financial/cost/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. mtu.edu/gradschool/financial/cost/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. mtu.edu/gradschool/policies-procedures/requirements/phd/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Michigan first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of South Carolina logo

University of South Carolina

Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Civil Engineering (APOGEE)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Columbia, SCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: $572.25 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Resident (part-time, per credit hour) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

University of North Dakota

PhD in Civil Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Grand Forks, NDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Partly on campus · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: in-person research
Duration: 4 - 5 years · 90 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Michigan Technological University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.