Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Michigan Technological University logo

Michigan Technological University · Department of Civil, Environmental, and Geospatial Engineering

Online MS in Civil Engineering

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

Master'sMS

Overview

A 30-credit online MS in Civil Engineering with structural, water resources and geospatial engineering focus areas; applicants need an ABET-accredited bachelor's degree and the GRE is not required.

Official program name
Online MS in Civil Engineering
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Civil Engineering
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Houghton, MIWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Published specializations
Structural Engineering · Water Resources Engineering · Geospatial Engineering
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Thesis / non-thesis
Thesis · Project · Coursework only
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
30 credits
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
as little as five semesters (structural focus); as little as 2 semesters (water resources focus) (depends on focus area)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online MS in Civil Engineering offered by the CEGE department.

Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Online scope not verified
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether campus visits, lab sessions, proctored exams at a center or other in-person requirements apply. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Other

  • One graduate tuition rate regardless of residence.
    Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Thesis

  • Department lists thesis, report and coursework options for the MS (not stated separately for the online pathway).
    Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredABET-accredited bachelor's degree
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 3 — Admitted applicants typically have 3.0 or higher
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement and statement of purpose
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Not required2 letters — Letters not required for online students
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume/CV
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Not requiredGraduate application is free; international applicants pay a $10 processing fee.
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — 2026–27 Estimated Graduate Expenses, graduate tuitionFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,448per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$43,440 = 30 credits × $1,448 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $43,440 (30 credits × $1,448 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — 2026–27 Estimated Graduate Expenses, graduate tuition, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Online course fee
$38 per creditMandatory
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Participates in NC-SARA; state status shown by state selector; online programs accept international applications only from Canada and Australia. Official pageSource: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

  • Online programs accept international applications only from Canada and Australia.Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. mtu.edu/cege/graduate/civil/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. mtu.edu/cege/graduate/online/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. mtu.edu/globalcampus/about/authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. mtu.edu/globalcampus/financial/cost/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. mtu.edu/globalcampus/programs/degrees/civil-engineering/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. mtu.edu/gradschool/financial/cost/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Michigan first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Iowa State University logo

Iowa State University

Civil Engineering - Master's (Online M.Engr. or M.S.)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering or Master of Science in Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

Master'sM.Engr./M.S. Fully online
Location: Ames, IASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 1 year+ · 30 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $27,000 (30 credits × $900 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Kansas State University logo

Kansas State University

Civil Engineering Master's Degree (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Manhattan, KSSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: campus visit
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $11,142 per academic year · All students — Graduate Online Annual Estimate 2026-2027, Manhattan Online: estimated tuition and mandatory fees for an academic year (calculated at 18 credit hours per year) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Idaho logo

University of Idaho

Civil Engineering, M.Engr. (online through Engineering Outreach)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

Master'sM.Engr.
Location: Moscow, IDSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: proctored exams
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $655 per credit · Online students — Graduate, registered for all online courses only, part-time (1-8 credits), Idaho residents and out-of-state · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $19,650 (30 credits × $655 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Michigan Technological University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.