Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Michigan Technological University logo

Michigan Technological University

Online Master of Engineering

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General Engineering

Master'sMEng

Overview

A 30-credit online Master of Engineering with no required courses; at least 15 credits must be in engineering and students plan coursework with an advisor.

Official program name
Online Master of Engineering
Awarded degree
Master of Engineering
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Houghton, MIWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Coursework only
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
30 credits
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online Master of Engineering with no discipline (general).

Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Online scope not verified
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether campus visits, lab sessions, proctored exams at a center or other in-person requirements apply. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Other

  • One graduate tuition rate regardless of residence.
    Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Curriculum

  • No required courses; at least 15 credits in engineering; minimum 16 credits at 5000 level or higher.
    Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBS in Engineering; degrees in mathematics or science may qualify
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee
Not requiredGraduate application is free; international applicants pay a $10 processing fee.
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
RequiredInternational students; Michigan Tech minimum 4.5 overall (new scale) or IELTS 6.5
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — 2026–27 Estimated Graduate Expenses, graduate tuitionFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,448per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$43,440 = 30 credits × $1,448 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $43,440 (30 credits × $1,448 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — 2026–27 Estimated Graduate Expenses, graduate tuition, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Online course fee
$38 per creditMandatory
Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Participates in NC-SARA; state status shown by state selector; online programs accept international applications only from Canada and Australia. Official pageSource: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

  • Online programs accept international applications only from Canada and Australia.Source: mtu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  2. mtu.edu/cege/graduate/civil/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. mtu.edu/globalcampus/about/authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. mtu.edu/globalcampus/financial/cost/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. mtu.edu/globalcampus/programs/degrees/master-of-engineering/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. mtu.edu/gradschool/financial/cost/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Michigan first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Engineering (Interdisciplinary) (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online
Location: Auburn, ALSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: as little as two years or as long as six years (depending on the course load taken) · 30 credits
Tuition: $949 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,470 (30 credits × $949 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Liberty University logo

Liberty University

Master of Engineering (MEng) Online

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering (MEng)

General Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online
Location: Lynchburg, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $600 per credit · All students — Graduate Full Time · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $18,000 (30 credits × $600 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Mississippi State University logo

Mississippi State University

Master of Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentration: General Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration
Location: Mississippi State, MSSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $602.50 per credit · All students — Online tuition per credit hour (in-state rate for all online students) · year not statedEst. total tuition $18,075 (30 credits × $602.50 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Michigan Technological University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.