Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net

University of North Dakota

PhD in Civil Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

PhDFunding not verified

Overview

PhD in Civil Engineering, 90 credits beyond the bachelor's, offered on campus or online with asynchronous courses. Online candidates must be accepted by a research faculty advisor and complete research work in person, possibly at a facility at their own location; the advisor decides how much can be completed online.

Official program name
PhD in Civil Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Doctor of Philosophy in Civil Engineering
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
PhD — doctor of philosophy (phd)
Engineering major
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Grand Forks, NDWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Dissertation
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
90 credits beyond the baccalaureate
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
4 - 5 years
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

PhD in Civil Engineering listed as on campus or online; online students must complete research in person.

Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Part of the degree requires on-campus study
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
In-person research requiredRequired in person: in-person research
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Proctored exams Required

    All exams must be proctored unless the instructor states otherwise (ProctorU Live+, an in-person testing center, or Honorlock depending on the course).

    Source: engineering.und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • In-person research Required

    Research work completed in person; the facility could be at the student's own location depending on project and topic

    Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Research, labs and practical requirements

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Advisor
Must be selected by a research faculty member to join a research group or act as advisor
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Research location
Research facility could be at the student's own location depending on the project and thesis topic
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Qualifying exam
Qualifying examination taken no later than the end of the second year
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Research proposal
Detailed written doctoral research proposal submitted to the advisory committee
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Dissertation
Dissertation defended at the final examination; at least one first-author journal article and one first-author conference paper submitted
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering PhD attendance requirements

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • At least 30 credits of doctoral research and dissertation; minimum 39 credits of coursework
    Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's in engineering (GPA 3.3) or MS in engineering (GPA 3.0)
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Optional
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadlineDomestic applicants

    Aug. 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadlineDomestic applicants

    Dec. 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadlineDomestic applicants

    May 1 · for Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this online program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Other published fees

UND Student Fee (below 12 credits; capped at $955.08 per semester)
$79.59 per creditMandatory
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Other
Most Civil Engineering PhD students are funded by GRA/GTA with tuition waivers; distance eligibility not stated
Source: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • UND participates in NC-SARA; it does not have state authorization for all programs in all states. Official pageSource: und.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. engineering.und.edu/current-students/exam-proctoring-tech.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. und.edu/about/student-disclosure-information/licensure.html — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. und.edu/admissions/cost-and-aid/cost-details.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. und.edu/programs/civil-engineering-phd/index.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. und.edu/programs/civil-engineering-phd/requirements.html — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in North Dakota first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of South Carolina logo

University of South Carolina

Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Civil Engineering (APOGEE)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Columbia, SCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: $572.25 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Resident (part-time, per credit hour) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Michigan Technological University logo

Michigan Technological University

Online PhD in Civil Engineering

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

PhDFunding not verified
Location: Houghton, MISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: dissertation defense
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,448 per credit · All students — 2026–27 Estimated Graduate Expenses, graduate tuition · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $43,440 (30 credits × $1,448 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of North Dakota. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.