Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Columbia University campus — Morningside Heights, Manhattan, NYC
Morningside Heights, Manhattan, NYC. Campus photograph of Columbia University. · Photo: Ajay Suresh from New York, NY, USA · CC BY 2.0 · source
Columbia University logo

Columbia University

New York, NYPrivate nonprofit MSCHEOfficial website

Columbia Engineering delivers online master's degrees through the Columbia Video Network (CVN). CVN lists fully online 30-point MS programs in biomedical, chemical, civil, earth and environmental, electrical, materials science and mechanical engineering, plus an industrial engineering program focused on systems engineering, at a published rate per credit point.

Online engineering programs at Columbia University

7 eligible programs verified (7 master's); formats: online coursework. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Online Engineering Master's Degrees

Columbia University logo

Columbia University

MS in Biomedical Engineering (Online, CVN)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering

Biomedical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: New York, NYSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: anywhere from one-and-a-half years to five years, depending on how many courses you take each semester (depends on course load) · 30 credits
Tuition: $2,822 per credit · All students — CVN Credit Tuition · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Columbia University logo

Columbia University

MS in Chemical Engineering (Online, CVN)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Chemical Engineering

Chemical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: New York, NYSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: anywhere from one-and-a-half years to five years, depending on how many courses you take each semester (depends on course load) · 30 credits
Tuition: $2,822 per credit · All students — CVN Credit Tuition · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Columbia University logo

Columbia University

MS in Civil Engineering (Online, CVN)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Civil Engineering

Civil Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: New York, NYSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: anywhere from one-and-a-half years to five years, depending on how many courses you take each semester (depends on course load) · 30 credits
Tuition: $2,822 per credit · All students — CVN Credit Tuition · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Columbia University logo

Columbia University

MS in Earth and Environmental Engineering (Online, CVN)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Earth and Environmental Engineering

Environmental Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: New York, NYSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: anywhere from one-and-a-half years to five years, depending on how many courses you take each semester (depends on course load) · 30 credits
Tuition: $2,822 per credit · All students — CVN Credit Tuition · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Columbia University logo

Columbia University

MS in Electrical Engineering (Online, CVN)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical Engineering

Electrical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: New York, NYSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: anywhere from one-and-a-half years to five years, depending on how many courses you take each semester (depends on course load) · 30 credits
Tuition: $2,822 per credit · All students — CVN Credit Tuition · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Columbia University logo

Columbia University

MS in Materials Science and Engineering (Online, CVN)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering

Materials Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: New York, NYSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: anywhere from one-and-a-half years to five years, depending on how many courses you take each semester (depends on course load) · 30 credits
Tuition: $2,822 per credit · All students — CVN Credit Tuition · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Columbia University logo

Columbia University

MS in Mechanical Engineering (Online, CVN)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: New York, NYSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: anywhere from one-and-a-half years to five years, depending on how many courses you take each semester (depends on course load) · 30 credits
Tuition: $2,822 per credit · All students — CVN Credit Tuition · year not stated
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program

Accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since July 1, 1921 · next review 01/01/2034

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.
  • Department of Biomedical Engineering
  • Department of Chemical Engineering
  • Department of Civil Engineering and Engineering Mechanics
  • Department of Earth and Environmental Engineering
  • Department of Electrical Engineering
  • Department of Industrial Engineering and Operations Research
  • Materials Science and Engineering Program
  • Mechanical Engineering Department
  • Columbia Video Network (CVN)Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Published enrollment restrictions

State authorization rules decide whether the university can enroll you in an online program from your state. The university's location never decides it.

State authorization

  • Columbia operates under NC-SARA; distance-education complaints follow the institution's procedures, then may be appealed to the SARA Portal Entity.
    Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists online engineering bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 majors. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (campus-only degrees, certificates, engineering management or systems engineering, professional doctorates…). Not listing a campus degree says nothing about its quality.
  • MS in Computer Science (online)generic computer science degreeSource: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • MS in Operations Research: Methods in Finance (online)discipline outside the 22 directory majorsSource: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Electrical Engineering Doctorate Degree (DES) (Doctor of Engineering Science (Eng.Sc.D.))professional doctorate or out-of-scope doctorate, outside the PhD directory (DES, partially online with on-campus research)Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Mechanical Engineering Doctorate Degree (DES) (Doctor of Engineering Science (Eng.Sc.D.))professional doctorate or out-of-scope doctorate, outside the PhD directorySource: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • MS in Operations Research (online)discipline outside the 22 directory majorsSource: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • MS in Applied Mathematics / MS in Applied Physics (online)not an engineering degree in the 22 directory majorsSource: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • MS in Artificial Intelligence (online)generic computing degree outside the 22 directory majorsSource: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • CVN graduate certificates (e.g. Civil Engineering: Construction Management, Telecommunications, Materials Science)certificates are out of scopeSource: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
Columbia University
Control
Private nonprofit
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
West 116 St and Broadway, New York, NY 10027
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Engineering degrees awarded, all formats (IPEDS CIP 14 engineering codes, first major)
302 bachelor's, 1316 master's, 84 doctoral (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. cvn.columbia.edu/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. cvn.columbia.edu/content/contacts — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. cvn.columbia.edu/content/distance-learning-student-complaints — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. cvn.columbia.edu/content/electrical-engineering-doctorate-degree-des — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. cvn.columbia.edu/content/field-study-applied-physics-and-applied-mathematics — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. cvn.columbia.edu/content/field-study-civil-engineering-and-engineering-mechanics — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. cvn.columbia.edu/content/field-study-industrial-engineering-and-operations-research — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. cvn.columbia.edu/content/mechanical-engineering-doctorate-degree-des — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. cvn.columbia.edu/content/operations-research-masters-degree — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  10. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  11. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), engineering CIP codes (14.xx) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  12. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile