Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
Columbia University logo

Columbia University · Materials Science and Engineering Program

MS in Materials Science and Engineering (Online, CVN)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering

Materials Engineering

Master'sMS

Overview

A 30-point MS in Materials Science and Engineering delivered online through the Columbia Video Network, with 18 points in MSAE courses and an advisor-approved plan of study.

Official program name
MS in Materials Science and Engineering (Online, CVN)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Materials Science and Engineering
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Columbia University — Materials Science and Engineering Program
Location
New York, NYWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Not verified
Required credits
30 points
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
anywhere from one-and-a-half years to five years, depending on how many courses you take each semester (depends on course load)
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

MS in Materials Science and Engineering listed by CVN with fully online delivery.

Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Part-time
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • Proctored exams Not verified

    New students are directed to an Exam Proctoring Guide; format not stated on public pages.

    Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Campus visit Optional

    One-time in-person visits related to an enrolled course require written permission from the professor.

    Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredStudents admitted to the program must possess an undergraduate degree in engineering, science, mathematics, or other related field
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum GPA 3.0
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RequiredElements of Materials Science (MSAE E3103) required, without degree credit, for students who have not covered the material.
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal/professional statement
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
Required250-1,000 word personal/professional statement
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three recommendation letters
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume required
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Optional
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 100For applicants whose degree is from a country not on the exempt list
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 7Alternative to TOEFL
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
PTE Academic
Required — minimum 69Alternative to TOEFL
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duolingo English Test
Required — minimum 120Alternative to TOEFL
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — CVN Credit TuitionFrom the university's online tuition table$2,822per creditEstimated tuition$84,660 = 30 credits × $2,822 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
All students — Estimated total cost of MS (ten courses)From the university's online tuition table$88,715entire programIncludes feesSource: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $88,715 (published program total)

Comparison basis: All students — Estimated total cost of MS (ten courses), academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

CVN Fee
$395 per courseMandatory
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcript Fee
$105 entire programMandatory
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Graduate Admission Application Fee
$85 entire programMandatory
Source: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Columbia operates under NC-SARA; distance-education complaints follow the institution's procedures, then may be appealed to the SARA Portal Entity. Official pageSource: cvn.columbia.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. cvn.columbia.edu/content/admissions-faqs — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. cvn.columbia.edu/content/application-process — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. cvn.columbia.edu/content/coming-campus — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. cvn.columbia.edu/content/distance-learning-student-complaints — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. cvn.columbia.edu/content/materials-science-and-engineering-masters-degree — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. cvn.columbia.edu/content/new-students-welcome-packet — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. cvn.columbia.edu/content/tuition-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. cvn.columbia.edu/content/useful-links-faqs — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in New York first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

Master of Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aerospace Engineering, Chemical Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, Nuclear Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration
Location: Raleigh, NCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: must be completed within six years (maximum time limit) · 30 credits
Tuition: $585.39 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate - Engineering Online, Engineering Education, Residents of North Carolina, 1 credit hour · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $54,123.30 (30 credits × $1,804.11 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Wisconsin–Madison logo

University of Wisconsin–Madison

Master of Engineering in Engineering (Online; named options incl. Polymer Engineering)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Engineering

General engineering · concentration: Polymer Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration Fully online
Location: Madison, WISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 2-4 years · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,100 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $33,000 (30 credits × $1,100 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Colorado State University logo

Colorado State University

Master of Materials Engineering, Plan C (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Materials Engineering

Materials Engineering

Master'sMME
Location: Fort Collins, COSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verifiedRemote / kit / virtual labs published
Duration: 18 months or more · 30 credits
Tuition: $760 per credit · Online students — Program Details box · year not statedEst. total tuition $22,800 (30 credits × $760 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with Columbia University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.