Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
University of Wisconsin–Madison campus — BascomHill
BascomHill. Campus photograph of University of Wisconsin–Madison. · Photo: Unknown author · Public domain · source
University of Wisconsin–Madison logo

University of Wisconsin–Madison

Madison, WIPublic HLCOfficial website

UW–Madison's College of Engineering offers online master's degrees through the university's Professional Degrees & Certificates portal, including a fully online Master of Engineering in Civil & Environmental Engineering (Environmental Engineering named option), an online MS in Electrical and Computer Engineering (Power Engineering named option) and an online Master of Engineering in Engineering with named options including Polymer Engineering. Published per-credit tuition ranges from $1,100 to $1,600.

Online engineering programs at University of Wisconsin–Madison

3 eligible programs verified (3 master's); formats: online coursework. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Online Engineering Master's Degrees

University of Wisconsin–Madison logo

University of Wisconsin–Madison

Master of Engineering in Civil and Environmental Engineering: Environmental Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Civil & Environmental Engineering

Environmental Engineering · Civil Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online
Location: Madison, WISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 2–3 years · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,100 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $33,000 (30 credits × $1,100 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 15, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Wisconsin–Madison logo

University of Wisconsin–Madison

Master of Engineering in Engineering (Online; named options incl. Polymer Engineering)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Engineering

General engineering · concentration: Polymer Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration Fully online
Location: Madison, WISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 2-4 years · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,100 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $33,000 (30 credits × $1,100 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Wisconsin–Madison logo

University of Wisconsin–Madison

Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering: Power Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering

Electrical Engineering · Computer Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Madison, WISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: 2–4 years · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,600 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $48,000 (30 credits × $1,600 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program

Accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since January 1, 1913 · next review 08/31/2029

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists online engineering bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 majors. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (campus-only degrees, certificates, engineering management or systems engineering, professional doctorates…). Not listing a campus degree says nothing about its quality.
  • Master of Science in Engineering Management (online) (Master of Science in Engineering Management)discipline outside the 22 directory majorsSource: pdc.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • Master of Science in Manufacturing Systems Engineering (online) (Master of Science in Manufacturing Systems Engineering)discipline outside the 22 directory majorsSource: pdc.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • MS Mechanical Engineering (accelerated program) (Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering)Campus-only: listed as face-to-face, on-campus in-person courses.Source: pdc.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
  • MS Electrical and Computer Engineering: Professional / Machine Learning and Signal Processing (Master of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering)Campus-only named options: listed as face-to-face, on-campus in-person courses.Source: pdc.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Institution

Official name
University of Wisconsin–Madison
Control
Public
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Main location
500 Lincoln Dr, Madison, WI 53706-1380
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026
Engineering degrees awarded, all formats (IPEDS CIP 14 engineering codes, first major)
959 bachelor's, 422 master's, 122 doctoral (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 12, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. guide.wisc.edu/graduate/civil-environmental-engineering/civil-environmental-engineering-meng/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), engineering CIP codes (14.xx) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  5. pdc.wisc.edu/degrees/civil-and-environmental-engineering-meng/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  6. pdc.wisc.edu/degrees/electrical-and-computer-eng-professional-ms/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  7. pdc.wisc.edu/degrees/engineering-management-ms/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  8. pdc.wisc.edu/degrees/engineering-polymer-engineering-meng/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  9. pdc.wisc.edu/degrees/manufacturing-systems-engineering-ms/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  10. pdc.wisc.edu/degrees/mechanical-engineering-accelerated-program-ms/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile

University of Wisconsin–Madison Online Engineering Degrees (Master's)