Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
University of Wisconsin–Madison logo

University of Wisconsin–Madison · Interdisciplinary Professional Programs

Master of Engineering in Engineering (Online; named options incl. Polymer Engineering)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Engineering

General engineering · concentration: Polymer Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration Fully online

Overview

A 30-credit online Master of Engineering in Engineering awarded through a required named option: Polymer Engineering, Engineering Data Analytics or Sustainable Systems Engineering. The Polymer Engineering option is described as fully online, charges $1,100 per credit with an automatic $100 per-credit Wisconsin Resident Scholarship, and does not require the GRE.

Official program name
Master of Engineering in Engineering (Online; named options incl. Polymer Engineering)
Awarded degree
Master of Engineering in Engineering
Source: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Concentration within a broad engineering degreeThe degree awarded is the broad engineering degree shown above; the concentration is a formally named option within it, not a separately awarded discipline degree.
Source: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: pdc.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Madison, WIWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Formal concentrations
Polymer Engineering · Engineering Data Analytics · Sustainable Systems Engineering
Source: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Thesis / non-thesis
Not verified
Required credits
30 graduate-level credits
Source: pdc.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
2-4 years
Source: pdc.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: pdc.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online Master of Engineering in Engineering with formally named options; the Polymer Engineering named option maps to materials. Facts below are taken from the Polymer Engineering named option unless stated.

Source: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
No required physical attendance (stated by the institution)
Source: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Polymer Engineering required technical courses include polymer chemistry, polymer physics, characterization, recycling and sustainability, rheology and processing.
    Source: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Comprehensive examination

  • No formal examination is required (Polymer Engineering named option).
    Source: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Other

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBS in engineering from an ABET-approved program; applicants with BS degrees in related fields should contact the program.
Source: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum 3.00 GPA on the last 60 semester hours, or a master's degree with a 3.00 cumulative GPA.
Source: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose of 1,000 words or less.
Source: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation.
Source: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume or curriculum vitae.
Source: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredApplicants who have taken the test are encouraged to submit scores.
Source: pdc.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    November 1, 2026 · for Spring 2027

    Source: pdc.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    May 1, 2027 · for Summer 2027

    Source: pdc.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    July 1, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: pdc.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$1,100per creditEstimated tuition$33,000 = 30 credits × $1,100 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: pdc.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $33,000 (30 credits × $1,100 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

  • Wisconsin Resident Scholarship Tuition discountStated for all eligible studentsOpen to distance students (stated)

    $100 per credit, automatic

    Eligibility: Wisconsin residents

    Source: pdc.wisc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the school's state authorization page before applying from outside Wisconsin.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. guide.wisc.edu/graduate/engineering-college-wide/engineering-meng/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. guide.wisc.edu/graduate/engineering-college-wide/engineering-meng/engineering-polymer-engineering-me — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  4. pdc.wisc.edu/degrees/engineering-polymer-engineering-meng/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in Wisconsin first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Wisconsin–Platteville logo

University of Wisconsin–Platteville

Master of Science in Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Engineering

General engineering (broad degree)

Master'sMSENGRConcentration Fully online
Location: Platteville, WISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: as little as 18 months · 31 credits
Tuition: $804.06 per credit · Online students — Online delivery, Master of Science in Engineering · year not statedEst. total tuition $24,925.86 (31 credits × $804.06 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Auburn University logo

Auburn University

Master of Engineering (Interdisciplinary) (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering

General Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online
Location: Auburn, ALSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: as little as two years or as long as six years (depending on the course load taken) · 30 credits
Tuition: $949 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $28,470 (30 credits × $949 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Liberty University logo

Liberty University

Master of Engineering (MEng) Online

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering (MEng)

General Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online
Location: Lynchburg, VASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Full-time or part-time
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $600 per credit · All students — Graduate Full Time · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $18,000 (30 credits × $600 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Wisconsin–Madison. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.