Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
University of Southern California logo

University of Southern California · Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering

Master of Science in Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering (Dynamics and Control) (DEN@Viterbi online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering (Dynamics and Control)

Aerospace Engineering · Mechanical Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online

Overview

A 27-unit Master of Science in Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering (Dynamics and Control) delivered online through DEN@Viterbi; USC Online lists it as completely online, a thesis option may be requested after the first semester, and on-campus and online students pay the same tuition.

Official program name
Master of Science in Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering (Dynamics and Control) (DEN@Viterbi online)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering (Dynamics and Control)
Source: online.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: online.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: online.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: online.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Los Angeles, CAWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Published specializations
Dynamics and Control
Source: viterbigradadmission.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Thesis / non-thesis
Non-thesis · Thesis
Source: viterbigradadmission.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
27 units of coursework
Source: viterbigradadmission.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
1 1⁄2 – 2 years (full-time); 2 1⁄2 – 3 years (part-time) (full-time enrollment)
Source: online.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: viterbigradadmission.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

MS in Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering (Dynamics and Control) offered online through DEN@Viterbi.

Source: online.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: online.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: online.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
No required physical attendance (stated by the institution)
Source: online.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: online.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

In-person requirements as published

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Practicum
RequiredENGR 595 Practicum (0 units) is a new course requirement.
Source: viterbigradadmission.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • DEN@Viterbi plan: one applied math course (4 units), 20 units of core coursework, remaining units approved 400/500-level electives.
    Source: viterbigradadmission.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree (or in progress), usually in engineering or a closely related field
Source: viterbigradadmission.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RecommendedApplicants without a directly related degree may be considered with coursework in computer engineering, linear systems, programming
Source: viterbigradadmission.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement
Source: viterbigradadmission.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
OptionalLetter of recommendation optional
Source: viterbigradadmission.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume/CV
Source: viterbigradadmission.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredTranscripts, resume/CV and personal statement required
Source: viterbigradadmission.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: viterbigradadmission.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Viterbi graduate tuition per unit (same for on-campus and online)$2,742per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$74,034 = 27 credits × $2,742 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: viterbigradadmission.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $74,034 (27 credits × $2,742 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Viterbi graduate tuition per unit (same for on-campus and online), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Graduate Student Programming Fee (DEN@Viterbi students)
$20 per semesterMandatory
Source: viterbigradadmission.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Traditional proctor center (Honorlock virtual proctoring is free)
$40 per course
Source: viterbigradadmission.usc.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. online.usc.edu/programs/dynamics-control-ms/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. DAPIP — WSCUC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  3. viterbigradadmission.usc.edu/denviterbi/stateauthorizations/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. viterbigradadmission.usc.edu/programs/masters/msprograms/aerospace-mechanical-engineering/ms-ame-dyn — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. viterbigradadmission.usc.edu/programs/masters/tuition-funding/tuition-funding-masters/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in California first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Iowa State University logo

Iowa State University

Aerospace Engineering - Master's (Online Master of Engineering)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Aerospace Engineering

Aerospace Engineering

Master'sM.Engr. Fully online
Location: Ames, IASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 1 year+ · 30 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $27,000 (30 credits × $900 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Washington logo

University of Washington

Master of Aerospace Engineering (MAE)

Awarded degree: Master of Aerospace Engineering

Aerospace Engineering

Master'sMAE
Location: Seattle, WASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Part-time
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: three years (continuous enrollment (autumn, winter, spring) and satisfactory performance) · 45 credits
Tuition: $1,239 per credit · All students · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $55,755 (45 credits × $1,239 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: April 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
University of South Carolina logo

University of South Carolina

Master of Engineering (M.E.) in Aerospace Engineering (APOGEE)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Aerospace Engineering

Aerospace Engineering

Master'sM.E.
Location: Columbia, SCSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $572.25 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate, Resident (part-time, per credit hour) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $37,200 (30 credits × $1,240 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with University of Southern California. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.