Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University

Master of Materials Science and Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Materials Science and Engineering

Materials Engineering

Master'sMMSE

Overview

A 30-credit non-thesis distance-track Master of Materials Science and Engineering with at least 18 credit hours of MSE courses. GRE scores must be submitted, no on-campus residency is required, and in-class exams are proctored.

Official program name
Master of Materials Science and Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Materials Science and Engineering
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Location
Raleigh, NCWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Non-thesis
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
30 credit hours
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Distance-track Master of Materials Science and Engineering delivered through Engineering Online.

Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
The entire degree can be completed through the online pathway (stated)
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Physical attendance
Other physical attendance requiredRequired in person: proctored exams
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's in MSE, another engineering field, chemistry or physics
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — 3.0 overall GPA
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Required
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duolingo English Test
Optional — minimum 110Accepted in place of TOEFL/IELTS.
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadlineDomestic applicants

    On or before June 25th (US) · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: catalog.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadlineDomestic applicants

    On or before November 25th (US) · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: catalog.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Graduate - Engineering Online, Engineering Education, Residents of North Carolina, 1 credit hourFrom the university's online tuition table$585.39per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$17,561.70 = 30 credits × $585.39 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate - Engineering Online, Engineering Education, Nonresidents of North Carolina, 1 credit hourFrom the university's online tuition table$1,804.11per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$54,123.30 = 30 credits × $1,804.11 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $54,123.30 (30 credits × $1,804.11 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate - Engineering Online, Engineering Education, Nonresidents of North Carolina, 1 credit hour, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Required fees (1 credit hour row; tuition and fees capped at 9 hours)
$28.50 per creditMandatory
Source: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
COE Program Enhancement Fee (1 credit hour row)
$83.33 per creditMandatory
Source: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee (master's, US citizens; $95 international)
$85 entire programMandatory
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • NC State's Online and Distance Education programs are authorized or exempt from authorization in all 50 states, DC and U.S. territories; NC State participates in SARA. Official pageSource: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.ncsu.edu/graduate/engineering/materials-science-engineering/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. engineeringonline.ncsu.edu/graduate/master-of-materials-science-and-engineering/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. engineeringonline.ncsu.edu/tuition-and-fees/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. online-distance.ncsu.edu/state-authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  6. studentservices.ncsu.edu/your-money/tuition-and-fees/distance-education/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in North Carolina first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Wisconsin–Madison logo

University of Wisconsin–Madison

Master of Engineering in Engineering (Online; named options incl. Polymer Engineering)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Engineering

General engineering · concentration: Polymer Engineering

Master'sMEngConcentration Fully online
Location: Madison, WISchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 2-4 years · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,100 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $33,000 (30 credits × $1,100 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Colorado State University logo

Colorado State University

Master of Materials Engineering, Plan C (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Materials Engineering

Materials Engineering

Master'sMME
Location: Fort Collins, COSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verifiedRemote / kit / virtual labs published
Duration: 18 months or more · 30 credits
Tuition: $760 per credit · Online students — Program Details box · year not statedEst. total tuition $22,800 (30 credits × $760 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Purdue University logo

Purdue University

Master of Science / Master of Science in Engineering in Interdisciplinary Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science (MS) or Master of Science in Engineering (MSE), major Interdisciplinary Engineering

General engineering · concentrations: Aeronautics and Astronautics, Biomedical Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Materials Engineering, Nuclear Engineering

Master'sMS/MSEConcentration
Location: West Lafayette, INSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,139 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Resident of Indiana · year not statedEst. total tuition $43,770 (30 credits × $1,459 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with North Carolina State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.