Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University · Edward P. Fitts Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering

Master of Industrial Engineering (Online, Distance Track)

Awarded degree: Master of Industrial Engineering

Industrial Engineering

Master'sMIE

Overview

A 31-credit coursework-based distance-track Master of Industrial Engineering with breadth requirements across industrial and systems engineering and optional project work; GRE scores are required. Courses use captured on-campus lectures and in-class exams are proctored.

Official program name
Master of Industrial Engineering (Online, Distance Track)
Awarded degree
Master of Industrial Engineering
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Raleigh, NCWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Thesis / non-thesis
Non-thesis · Coursework only · Project
Source: catalog.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
31 credit hours
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Distance-track Master of Industrial Engineering delivered through Engineering Online.

Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Online scope not verified
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verifiedRequired in person: proctored exams
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Proctored exams Required

    All in-class exams must be proctored; enrollment depends on testing and proctoring arrangements for each course.

    Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.
Design project
OptionalOptional project work from ISE 637, ISE 639 or ISE 677.
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Breadth: one course from four of five ISE groups plus one from computer science, mathematics or statistics (15 credits); one ISE 601 seminar.
    Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Academic calendar

  • On-campus lectures are captured and posted online; distance students follow the on-campus schedule for homework and exams.
    Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree in engineering or a related discipline with a strong engineering/mathematical curriculum
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Overall undergraduate GPA of at least 3.0
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Mathematics prerequisites
RequiredPrerequisites in calculus and linear algebra, computer science, and statistics
Source: catalog.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Required
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredTOEFL or IELTS for international applicants unless one year of full-time US study with GPA 3.0+
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duolingo English Test
Optional — minimum 110Duolingo accepted; minimum 110
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadlineDomestic applicants

    June 25 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: catalog.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadlineInternational applicants

    March 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: catalog.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadlineDomestic applicants

    November 25 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: catalog.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadlineInternational applicants

    July 15 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: catalog.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadlineDomestic applicants

    March 25 · for Summer 1

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: catalog.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadlineDomestic applicants

    May 10 · for Summer 2

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: catalog.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Graduate - Engineering Online, Engineering Education, Residents of North Carolina, 1 credit hourFrom the university's online tuition table$585.39per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$18,147.09 = 31 credits × $585.39 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate - Engineering Online, Engineering Education, Nonresidents of North Carolina, 1 credit hourFrom the university's online tuition table$1,804.11per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$55,927.41 = 31 credits × $1,804.11 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $55,927.41 (31 credits × $1,804.11 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate - Engineering Online, Engineering Education, Nonresidents of North Carolina, 1 credit hour, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Required fees (1 credit hour row; tuition and fees capped at 9 hours)
$28.50 per creditMandatory
Source: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
COE Program Enhancement Fee (1 credit hour row)
$83.33 per creditMandatory
Source: studentservices.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Application fee (master's, US citizens; $95 international)
$85 entire programMandatory
Source: engineeringonline.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • NC State's Online and Distance Education programs are authorized or exempt from authorization in all 50 states, DC and U.S. territories; NC State participates in SARA. Official pageSource: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. catalog.ncsu.edu/graduate/engineering/industrial-engineering/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 12, 2026
  2. engineeringonline.ncsu.edu/graduate/master-of-industrial-engineering/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. engineeringonline.ncsu.edu/tuition-and-fees/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. online-distance.ncsu.edu/state-authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  5. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026
  6. studentservices.ncsu.edu/your-money/tuition-and-fees/distance-education/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in North Carolina first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Iowa State University logo

Iowa State University

Industrial Engineering - Master's (Online Master of Engineering)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Industrial Engineering

Industrial Engineering

Master'sM.Engr. Fully online
Location: Ames, IASchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: 1.5 years+ · 30 credits
Tuition: $900 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $27,000 (30 credits × $900 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Oklahoma State University

Industrial Engineering and Management, MS - Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Industrial Engineering and Management

Industrial Engineering

Master'sMSIEM
Location: Stillwater, OKSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; physical attendance not verified
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $512 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate in-state online (tuition and fees) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $16,650 (30 credits × $555 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Kansas State University logo

Kansas State University

Industrial Engineering Master's Degree (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Industrial Engineering

Industrial Engineering

Master'sMS
Location: Manhattan, KSSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Online coursework; required in person: campus visit
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $11,142 per academic year · All students — Graduate Online Annual Estimate 2026-2027, Manhattan Online: estimated tuition and mandatory fees for an academic year (calculated at 18 credit hours per year) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with North Carolina State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.