Skip to content
Online EngineeringSchools.net
North Carolina State University logo

North Carolina State University · Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Master of Biological and Agricultural Engineering (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Agricultural Engineering

Master'sMBAE

Overview

A 30-credit non-thesis online Master of Biological and Agricultural Engineering intended for working professionals, currently focused on environmental engineering with bioprocess engineering interests accommodated. Applicants need a B.S. from an accredited engineering program; non-engineers can be admitted provisionally after remedial engineering courses.

Official program name
Master of Biological and Agricultural Engineering (Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Biological and Agricultural Engineering
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Engineering major
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Program type
Dedicated degree
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
School
North Carolina State University — Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Location
Raleigh, NCWhere the school is located. This is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Published specializations
Environmental engineering focus
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Thesis / non-thesis
Non-thesis
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Required credits
30 credit hours
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Duration
as little as three semesters (one and a half years) (self-supported students taking up to 12 credit hours per semester)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online Master of Biological and Agricultural Engineering (College of Agriculture and Life Sciences), listed by NC State Online and Distance Education.

Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We list bachelor's, master's and PhD degrees in 22 engineering majors that the school offers online, and — separately labelled — Engineering Technology and hybrid programs. Campus-only degrees, certificates, generic computer science and engineering management are excluded. Eligibility rules

Format and physical attendance

How coursework is delivered, how much of the degree the online pathway covers, and what you must attend in person. “Fully online” appears only when the school states that no physical attendance is required.
Coursework delivery
Online courseworkCoursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Online scope
Online scope not verified
Physical attendance
Physical attendance requirements not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether campus visits, lab sessions, proctored exams at a center or other in-person requirements apply. Ask the school before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Labs, projects and practical training

Laboratory arrangements, capstones, internships and research requirements, as the school publishes them.

Laboratory and practical-training arrangements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Online engineering labs explained

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredB.S. from an accredited undergraduate engineering program
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.8 — 2.8 overall and 3.0 major GPA
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Bridge / leveling courses
RequiredNon-engineers must complete remedial engineering courses (statics, dynamics, solid mechanics, fluids or thermodynamics).
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of interest
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026
Recommendation letters
RequiredLetters of reference
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
RequiredRequired for applicants without a degree from an accredited engineering program.
Source: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this online program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the school publishes them. Competitive scholarships and assistantships are not guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Campus assistantships are not assumed to be open to distance students. Online engineering tuition and scholarships

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Institutional accreditation covers the whole school; ABET accreditation covers only the program, degree and campuses or delivery its record lists. Enrollment restrictions for online students are a separate question.

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 12, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No current ABET accreditation is matched to this program in ABET's database. ABET rarely accredits graduate programs; this is normal and not a mark against the program. Institutional accreditation does not imply program accreditation, and another program at the same school being accredited does not cover this one.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • NC State's Online and Distance Education programs are authorized or exempt from authorization in all 50 states, DC and U.S. territories; NC State participates in SARA. Official pageSource: online-distance.ncsu.edu · verified October 12, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Licensure and professional disclosures

What the school publishes about professional licensure or certification. Meeting a state's educational requirements is only one part of licensure: examinations, post-degree supervised experience, background checks and a board application follow. This directory does not decide whether you qualify.

A professional licensure disclosure for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Professional Engineer licensure is decided by the board of the state where you apply — not by the school's state — and usually involves education, the FE exam, experience and the PE exam. A degree listed here is not a licensure guarantee. Engineering licensure and online degrees · Engineering vs engineering technology

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 12, 2026.
  1. online-distance.ncsu.edu/program/master-of-biological-and-agricultural-engineering/ — Official program page, verified October 12, 2026
  2. online-distance.ncsu.edu/program/master-of-biological-and-agricultural-engineering/how-to-apply/ — Official admissions page, verified October 12, 2026
  3. online-distance.ncsu.edu/state-authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 12, 2026
  4. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-12) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 12, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level, major and format, schools in North Carolina first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University

Master of Engineering in Biological and Agricultural Engineering (Online, Food Engineering emphasis)

Awarded degree: Master of Engineering in Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Agricultural Engineering

Master'sMEng Fully online
Location: College Station, TXSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: all degree requirements within seven years (maximum time limit) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Florida logo

University of Florida

Master of Science in Agricultural and Biological Engineering (Online, Non-Thesis)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Agricultural and Biological Engineering

Agricultural Engineering

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Gainesville, FLSchool location — not an enrollment restriction
Delivery: Fully online (stated)Coursework is delivered online. Physical attendance requirements (labs, visits, exams, research) are listed separately.Whole degree online · Study intensity not published
Physical attendance: Fully online (stated)
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: $448.73 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Online (Florida Resident), tuition - graduate rate per credit hour · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

OnlineEngineeringSchools.net is independent and not affiliated with North Carolina State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs, deadlines and attendance with the school, and licensure questions with your state engineering board.